It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
Is it true I can borrow real art from the library?
It is called the Graphic Arts Loan Collection.
Information is here. You can reserve a print online, but you must pick it up and return it in person. Note: This service is suspended until library buildings reopen. Please check back later.
I'm getting tires of watching Star Trek reruns on Netflix. Can the Library help?
Of course. We subscribe to Kanopy Streaming - an on-demand streaming video service which provides access to more than 26,000 films, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more!
Another place to check out is Docuseek2, a streaming video service featuring social issue and documentary films from several independent distributors.
And for your ears, the library provides you with several music databases, such as:
Audio files of compositions of classical music, folk music, opera, jazz, country music, early rhythm and blues, musical theater, experimental music, electronic music, early rock and Native American music from the United States. Complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.
Contains audio files of over 1200 CDs, featuring 7500 compositions of classical music, folk music, opera, jazz, country music, early rhythm and blues, musical theater, experimental music, electronic music, early rock and Native American music from the United States. This broad spectrum of American music is derived from recordings available on the New World Records label, and works of contemporary classical American music from labels such as CRI, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening, and Mutable. QuickTime 6.5.2 or later required.
Provides an expanding, mixed selection of streamed recordings by artists from jazz legends to contemporary jazz on hundreds of labels, including Blue Note Records, Warner, EMI, and Fantasy. (Naxos Fantasy Jazz)
Offers close to 20,000 tracks of jazz from 1,900 albums. Over 500 jazz artist are represented.
Collection of Western classical music including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Includes notes and biographical information on composers and artists.
A collection of Western classical music including the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogs of over 170,000 tracks. Includes classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Includes notes and biographical information on composers and artists.
You also have access to UC Berkeley OverDrive, a platform for user-friendly access to digital audiobooks and popular ebooks.