Advocacy for Public Health Policy Change: An Urgent Imperative by
Improving laws and policies starts with advocacy and now more than ever this new book, Advocacy for Public Health Policy Change: An Urgent Imperative will be instrumental in training public health practitioners and students to turn their expertise into sound policies and laws. It will help these readers in these six key areas: Address the growing need to turn knowledge into better health policy. Offer a step-by-step planning and implementation framework for public health advocacy campaigns from start to finish. Improve Health Equity Expand professional development and satisfaction opportunities for the field. Improve service delivery. Improve health outcomes.
Advocacy Strategies for Health and Mental Health Professionals by
I]t is becoming much more common for mental health providers to become community mental health advocates, and given the complexities and nuances associated with tasks such as getting involved with legislative issues or fund raising, a work like this serves an important and useful purpose. It is concise, yet revealing, and explains concepts in clear and practical language. Most importantly, it delivers on its promise to transform its readers into more savvy participants in the process of advocating for their mental health patients."--Doody's Medical Reviews This book provides a valuable introduction to the discerning mental health practitioner who wants to apply their advocacy skills into their everyday work place."--ACAMH, The Association for Child and Adolescent Mental Health Great book Learning to be an effective advocate in multiple arenas is essential for all health professionals, particularly physicians. This text utilizes a broad definition of advocacy and provides information that can be used by multiple types of providers to learn effective strategies to educate and inform others. It is readable with fascinating case examples and practical tips that can be utilized flexibly across a range of issues, formats and audiences. It is a great addition to the libraries of anyone practicing in the health care field, regardless of specialty or years of practice." Arden D Dingle, MD Program Director, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Emory University School of Medicine A wealth of advocacy tools for health and mental health professionals at all levels of training and practice are included in this clear and comprehensive volume. Written by medical, legal, and policy experts, it fills a void in the literature by addressing multiple topics in advocacy in the health field as a whole. The text addresses the legislative process, provides step-by-step approaches for using the media, and discusses when to seek an attorney, when to litigate, working with family and community, and funding strategies. It also covers such seldom-addressed topics as leveraging research findings for advocacy purposes. Two outstanding features of the text are a discussion of the rationale for advocacy and a call for readers to examine their own motivations for this work, and a chapter by health educators who provide guidance about advances in learning theory that will help readers assimilate the material. The volume will serve as both a resource for advocacy coursework and as a guide for the independent practitioner of advocacy. Key Features: Provides a wealth of advocacy tools for health professionals at all levels of training and practice Written in a clear, straightforward manner for easy access Includes a unique metacognitive theory that will help readers to thoroughly integrate the information and provides tools for self-analysis Highlights main teaching points with summaries, case studies, and reflection questions
Community Health Advocacy by
This text provides a foundation for the initiation of advocacy efforts and for the evaluation of their success and includes topics such as: specific strategies, grassroots advocacy efforts, formation and development of coalitions, advocacy efforts in legislatures, administrative agencies, court, and the media. It is of interest to public and urban health workers, social workers, community organizers, and legislators.
Health Care Advocacy: a guide for busy clinicians by
Interest in policy influences on health care is high, and will remain high as long as health care costs continue to rise and health care reform remains a hot topic in the news. There are inevitable and frequent points of interface between health care public policy and the health professions; in their daily work, clinicians see the problems with the health care system but often feel powerless and unsure how to advocate for system changes. Clinicians and Health Care Advocacy is written by clinicians for clinicians and focuses on how policy works and what individual professionals can do to affect policy. It looks at the facts and processes in an accessible way that employs case-based examples of clinician adavocacy to illustrate its points. The book is nonpartisan and will stay neutral on preferences for one public policy solution versus another (single payer vs. market reform, for example). Instead, it encourages a model of clinicians as responsible for healing not only the individual patient but also the larger health care system in which they work.
Healthy Voices, Unhealthy Silence: advocacy and health policy for the poor by
Public silence in policymaking can be deafening. When advocates for a disadvantaged group decline to speak up, not only are their concerns not recorded or acted upon, but also the collective strength of the unspoken argument is lessened-a situation that undermines the workings of deliberative democracy by reflecting only the concerns of more powerful interests. But why do so many advocates remain silent on key issues they care about and how does that silence contribute to narrowly defined policies? What can individuals and organizations do to amplify their privately expressed concerns for policy change? In Healthy Voices, Unhealthy Silence, Colleen M. Grogan and Michael K. Gusmano address these questions through the lens of state-level health care advocacy for the poor. They examine how representatives for the poor participate in an advisory board process by tying together existing studies; extensive interviews with key players; and an in-depth, first-hand look at the Connecticut Medicaid advisory board's deliberations during the managed care debate. Drawing on the concepts of deliberative democracy, agenda setting, and nonprofit advocacy, Grogan and Gusmano reveal the reasons behind advocates' often unexpected silence on major issues, assess how capable nonprofits are at affecting policy debates, and provide prescriptive advice for creating a participatory process that adequately addresses the health care concerns of the poor and dispossessed. Though exploring specifically state-level health care advocacy for the poor, the lessons Grogan and Gusmano offer here are transferable across issue areas and levels of government. Public policy scholars, advocacy organizations, government workers, and students of government administration will be well-served by this significant study.