Library Guides: OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 212 Foundations of Global Health: Major Initiatives (GBD, SDGs, etc.) &amp; Toolkits

Global Burden of Disease

WHO Global Burden of Disease
The WHO global burden of disease (GBD) measures burden of disease using the disability-adjusted-life-year (DALY). This time-based measure combines years of life lost due to premature mortality and years of life lost due to time lived in states of less than full health. The DALY metric was developed in the original GBD 1990 study to assess the burden of disease consistently across diseases, risk factors and regions.
WHO Global Burden of Disease Publications
The 1990 Global Burden of Disease study was the first publication using Burden of Disease methods. These estimates were updated in subsequent publications by WHO listed here. Journal articles and monographs that have been referenced or provide additional information are also provided here, in chronological order.
WHO: Global Health Risks
Global health risks is a comprehensive assessment of leading risks to global health. It provides detailed global and regional estimates of premature mortality, disability and loss of health attributable to 24 global risk factors.
Global Burden of Disease Study 2016 Data Resources
Links to data visualizations, data, publications, country profiles, and other resources from the 2016 GBD. From the Global Health Data Exchange. Older GBD data, and other data resources, are here.
Global Burden of Disease: Mental Disorders and Illicit Drug Use Expert Group
From the National Drug & Alcohol Research Centre (Australia). Aim is to produce estimates of the burden of disease associated with mental health disorders and illicit drug use and dependence.
Global Burden of Disease PubMed Search
Link opens a PubMed search for articles using or mentioning the Global Burden of Disease. You can add additional terms (ie, AND cancer), or filters (ie, age groups) to refine the search.
The Lancet: Global Burden of Disease
Journal articles, data visualizations, commentaries, audio, and more on the 2010, 2013, 2015, and 2016 GBD.

Global Health 2035

Global Health 2035,Lancet Commission on Investing in Health
"A roadmap to achieve dramatic health gains within one generation." Information on Sustainable Development Goal for health; Donor investments in global health; & Domestic health investments. Tools, models, publications, and more.
PLoS: Grand Convergence: Aligning Technologies & Realities in Global Health
"In this PLOS Collection, global health leaders chart the path to a dramatic reduction in the global burden of disease by 2035. This ambitious convergence in global health will require strategic investments in research and development as well as an aggressive scale-up of health-care delivery systems to ensure that existing health tools and services reach those who need them."

Disease Control Priorities Network

Disease Control Priorities Network
DCPN consists of two components to promote and support the use of economic evaluation for priority setting at both global and national levels:
Disease Control Priorities, 3rd edition, provides the most up to date evidence on intervention efficacy and program effectiveness for the leading causes of global disease burden; and
Strengthening the capacity of evidence based decision-making.
DCP3 Volumes (Disease Control Priorities Network)
Includes:
- Essential Surgery
- Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn, and Child Health
- Cancer
- Mental, Neurological, and Substance Use Disorders
- Cardiovascular, Respiratory, and Related Disorders
- Major Infectious Diseases
- Injury Prevention and Environmental Health
- Child and Adolescent Health and Development
- Disease Control Priorities
DCP3 Dissemination Resources
Essential messages, PowerPoint templates, postcards, reports, and more.

Sustainable Development Goals

Sustainable Development Goals (UNDP)
SDGs are a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure that all people enjoy peace and prosperity. These 17 Goals build on the successes of the Millennium Development Goals, while including new areas such as climate change, economic inequality, innovation, sustainable consumption, peace and justice, among other priorities. UNDP works to help implement the Goals in some 170 countries and territories.
World Health Statistics (WHO)
WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States. The 2016 and 2017 compilations report on progress toward SDG targets.
Sustainable Development Goals Research Guides
Links to books, articles, UN documents, and more, for each of the SDGs. From the United Nations Library and Archives.
Sustainable Development Goals (World Bank)
Dashboards that present data from the World Development Indicators that help to monitor the SDGs (may not always be the official indicators for SDG monitoring). Choose Explore to explore all the Goals and Targets, or Selected Indicators to compare two economies side-by-side for a selection of indicators.
Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals 2020 (World Bank)
The Atlas is built around World Development Indicators 2017 - World Bank's compilation of statistics from over 200 economies about global development and the quality of people's lives. For each of the SDGs, selected indicators have been identified and visualized to analyze trends and challenges, and to stimulate discussion on measurement issues.
SDG Industry Matrix (UN Global Compact)
Showcases industry-specific examples and ideas for corporate action related to the SDGs. Presented in a series of publications, each matrix highlights bold pursuits and decisions made by diverse companies for each SDG. Includes healthcare & life sciences, climate, transportation, and more.
SDG Index and Dashboards Report
Provides a report card for country performance on the historic Agenda 2030 and the SDGs. The annual report shows how leaders can deliver on their promise and it urges countries not to lose the momentum for important reforms.
EVALSDGs
EVALSDGs was established in response to the need to embed effective monitoring and evaluation in the SDGs. EVALSDGs seeks to promote evaluation activities around the SDGs; and orient and support the review and follow-up process on the SDG Agenda2030 by adding value through evaluation. Insights present information to strengthen evaluation capacity on issues related to t SDGs.
SDG Search Queries (Scopus)
The Scopus database has a SDG search; scroll all the way down after clicking the link above. Details and information here.

Millennium Development Goals

WHO Millennium Development Goals
The United Nations Millennium Declaration, signed in September 2000 commits world leaders to combat poverty, hunger, disease, illiteracy, environmental degradation, and discrimination against women. The MDGs are derived from this Declaration, and all have specific targets and indicators. Web page includes technical information and publications.
Millennium Development Goals Indicators (unstats)
Official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the MDGs. The data and analyses are the product of the work of the Inter-agency and Expert Group (IAEG) on MDG Indicators, coordinated by the United Nations Statistics Division. You will also find the official progress reports and documents produced by IAEG.
MDG Progress Status (World Bank)
Data on MDG indicator trends are curated in the World Development Indicators database. Each year the World Bank uses these data to assess the progress made towards the MDGs. The interactive dashboards here provide an opportunity to explore the trends of MDG indicators and assess progress. (These dashboards are no longer being updated and maintained.)

Global Health Toolkits

DRIVERS for Health Equity (EU)
DRIVERS (2012-15) was a three-year research project funded by the EU's 7th Framework Programme. It aimed to find solutions to improve health equity through policy and practice in early childhood, fair employment, and income & social protection. Site includes reports, recommendations, and the advocacy for health equity toolkit.
Gapminder
Gapminder produces free teaching resources making the world understandable based on reliable statistics, promoting a fact-based worldview everyone can understand. Site includes video, graphics, and other tools.
Health COMpass
A curated database of how-to resources, program examples, and tools - all relating to health communication. Includes social and behavior change communication capacity strengthening tools, and project examples.
K4Health Toolkits
Topics include HIV/AIDS, gender, family planning, service integration, youth, and more. From Knowledge for Health.
MEASURE Evaluation Tools
Tools to strengthen health information systems and improve decision making in the health sector. Content areas include:
Data Demand and Use
Evaluation
Family Planning & Reproductive Health
Gender
Geographic Information Systems
Health Information Systems
HIV and AIDS
Infectious Diseases
Monitoring & Evaluation
Orphans and Vulnerable Children
Population, Health & Environment
Poverty
The Registry of Methods and Tools
A searchable, online collection of methods (processes) and tools (instruments) for knowledge translation, economic evaluation, and more, in public health. From National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (Canada)
TDR Implementation Research Toolkit
Will help you conduct an implementation research project through a standard process so that you have high quality results that are reliable. Can download entire site for offline use. From the Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (UNICEF, etc.)
TREAD (The Research Ethics Application Database)
TREAD’s goal is to facilitate sound ethical practice by providing examples of how researchers have described the pathways used to protect their research subjects from harm. TREAD provides the opportunity to follow the step-by-step logic used by experienced researchers when negotiating their research design within vulnerable populations.

Other Major Initiatives

Malaria Elimination Initiative (UCSF)
Evidence-based solutions for countries and regions to eliminate malaria. Includes the Malaria Elimination Toolkit, resources & publications, and more.
NCD Alliance
Leader on NCD (non-communicable diseases) policy and practice, a convener of the civil society movement, a partner to governments and UN agencies, and an advocate for people at risk of or living with NCDs. Site includes resources, multimedia, policy statements, publications, and more.
PREDICT (USAID, UC Davis)
PREDICT builds platforms for disease surveillance and for identifying and monitoring pathogens that can be shared between animals and people. Information on capacity strengthening, modelling, behavioral risk, and more.
Declaration of Alma Ata
The Alma-Ata Declaration of 1978 emerged as a major milestone of the twentieth century in the field of public health, and it identified primary health care as the key to the attainment of the goal of Health for All. WHO called to return to the Declaration of Alma-Ata.

SDG Book Series

SDG1 - No Poverty For many decades the international community has endeavoured to eliminate extreme poverty; however, it is estimated that around 800 million people still live below the international poverty line of $1.90 a day. This book looks this global problem and presents applicable solutions to show that we can eliminate poverty today and meet the challenge of the UN Sustainable Development Goal 1.  The first part of the book discusses what poverty and development are and asks whether the right to development is an international commitment to eradicate poverty. The second part looks at the strategy of the Sustainable Development Goals, and the concept of happiness for all people in the world. It examines the proposition of SDG1, evaluates the first actions taken in this area, and presents the best practice of recent SDG implementation. The final part considers several proposals and presents suggestions on how to make global action more effective.  Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals comprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2018
SDG2 - Zero Hunger SDG2 links food security, nutrition and a sustainable but climate resilient agriculture. This multi-dimensional goal encompasses several specific targets and indicators, aimed at ending hunger, improving nutrition and achieving food security through sustainable and resilient agriculture and income increase. This book assesses the implications of SDG2 for the economic, social and environmental domains of communities and countries. Three case study countries (Nigeria, Ghana, and The Gambia) were used to record values of their SDG2 indicators to demonstrate the operationalization of keeping track and measuring progress. This research shows that many of the datasets for the three countries are not available in the Global SDG Indicators Database compiled through the United Nations system. This book supports the database update process by United Nation Statistics Division since it enhances the process of proper accounting in reporting progress. Furthermore, the book supports the enhancement of the adaptive capacity and resilience of small-scale farmers since it is critical to reverse the trend in the rise in hunger. Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goalscomprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2021
SDG3 - Good Health and Wellbeing Sustainable Development Goal 3 (SDG3) supplements the 2030 UN Agenda by inspiring ideologies and implementation concerning global health and wellbeing.   This book offers insider-view analysis and unique access points into SDG3 implications, community-based responses and innovative proposals, including considerations of Earth as a key stakeholder in sustainability conversations. Written by leading experts in the field, the book presents essays and case studies on sustainability frameworks of Canadian First Nations, cultural groundworks of Aboriginal Australians, HIV/AIDS in Ethiopia, IT-health data analytics in Hong Kong, health-promoting schools in Scotland, Laos, Hong Kong, Australia, and WHO projects in Europe and the Pacific.  The book serves as a representative and provocative resource for those wishing to further explore the scope of research, developments, bottom-up interventions and far-reaching visions relating to SDG3.
Publication Date: 2019
SDG4 - Quality Education Sustainable Development Goal 4 seeks to 'Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education for all and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all.' It acknowledges that quality education is a foundational necessity for sustainable development and an enhanced quality of life.  SDG4 - Quality Education: Inclusivity, Equity and Lifelong Learning For Allexplores the multifaceted and complex nature of the concepts of inclusivity and quality education. Drawing examples from two different country contexts (Latvia and Jamaica), the book explores how and why inclusive and quality education is critical to sustainable development. It considers the indicators of inclusive and quality education, how the concept of education for sustainable development is evolving, and the ways in which these indicators are being pursued. The book pays specific attention to the roles of teachers, teacher educators, and the curriculum in the attainment of inclusive and quality education and 21st Century skills for a sustainable society.  Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goalscomprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2018
SDG5 - Gender Equality and Empowerment of Women and Girls Conventional development planning lacks sensitivity to the female experience. Tackling gendered discrimination and the exclusion of women, SDG5 aims to 'achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.' This book considers the current state of play and identifies the trends, drivers and impact of gender equality.  Taking a comprehensive and global approach, the book addresses the multifaceted concerns of women within the overall paradigm of the post-2015 development agenda. The authors analyse the patterns of gender inequality in different socioeconomic regions across developing, middle income and developed countries. The book will examine how the gap between policy and implementation might be tackled and contemplate how effective policy action might provide a solution. Offering best practice and posing key challenges for achieving the goal, this is the only book which comprehensively deals with all the key aspects of SDG5 based on the latest credible research.  Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goalscomprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2019
SDG6 - Clean Water and Sanitation Providing safe and clean water for all without damaging the environment is one of the biggest challenges of the SDGs. SDG6 is an ambitious goal which seeks to establish the framework through which environmentally responsible water resource management, sanitation and security can be achieved.  Bridging academic discussion and real-world case studies, this book considers the challenge of balancing the provision of the basic human right of access to water whilst not eroding our capacity to live sustainably in a rapidly changing world. It considers the impact of climate change on the water cycle and discusses how this will increase the vulnerability of communities, including those in regions that already experience acute water challenges. The book also highlights the need for more urgent action on increasing the resilience and quality of freshwater ecosystems and how this links to sanitation practices. The book concludes with a discussion of some of the key challenges and possible solutions to meeting SDG6.  Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goalscomprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2019
SDG7 - Ensure Access to Affordable, Reliable, Sustainable, and Modern Energy SDG7 aims to 'ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all.' Meeting the demands of the 2030 agenda will be a unique challenge. National priorities and policy action need to be strengthened in order to fulfil the ambitious energy targets which SDG7 envisions. This book examines SDG7 and its implications for how energy operates as a driver of change for jobs, security, climate change, food production and increasing incomes. It provides a succinct overview of how SDG7 visualizes a world in which energy is universally accessible, increasingly efficient and renewable in order to create sustainable, inclusive and resilient communities. The key challenges such as public and private investment, regulatory frameworks and evolving business models are also considered so that a path forward towards the achievement of the goal and the transformation of global energy systems might become clear.Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals comprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2020
SDG8 - Sustainable Economic Growth and Decent Work for All A growth-oriented economy challenges the inclusion of sustainability parameters, as the very elements that promote sustainability can appear incongruous with economic growth.SDG8 - Sustainable Economic Growth and Decent Work for All addresses how sustainability can be included within the present economic framework and surfaces the significance of behavioural change in the attainment of sustainability. The book highlights that successful implementation of SDG8 will rely on culturally sensitive economic policy to ensure that developing countries retain the ability to develop economic systems that align to both the SDGs and cultural norms.  SDG8 - Sustainable Economic Growth and Decent Work for Alldefines the concept of economic growth and decent work, and ultimately, provides the reader with the opportunity to develop a critical analytical perspective with respect to the objectives and attainment of SDG8. Concise Guides to the UnitedNations Sustainable Development Goalscomprises 17 short books, eachexamining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides anintegrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmentaland cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2019
SDG9 - Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure As one of the few of the 17 SDGs applicable in industrial settings, SDG9 seeks to find new steps towards achieving sustainable industrialization. This book explores the fascinating and cross-cutting aspects that jeopardize achieving SDG9 - Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure. Understanding that the UN's insistence on fostering sustainable industrialization has not rendered the expected results, and that the COVID-19 pandemic has exacerbated conditions in almost all sectors, Luis Velazquez explores the factors that have complicated the road towards achieving SDG9. Investigating the good practices around implementing SDG9, the author addresses fundamental concepts such as sustainability reporting, resilient infrastructure, sustainable connectivity, sustainable innovation, and more. Presenting information in a simple, clear and logical style, this book is must-have reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students, professors, and any supporter of SDG9 and Agenda 2030. Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals comprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2022
SDG10 - Reduce Inequality Within and among Countries Rising inequalities are a defining challenge of our times and a crucial obstacle to the realization of the SDGs. The need to accelerate steps towards the reduction of growing disparities within and among countries is well realised.  Responding to that need, this book aims to understand the types, drivers, consequences and impact of inequalities in broad contexts across groups and individuals, as well as societies and states. Defining inequality as the social, economic and political challenges of our time, the authors examine SDG10 to look ahead at how policy action might engage multiple stakeholders, involve diverse sectors and address gaps between policy and implementation to tackle inequalities and facilitate the advancement of the SDG agenda.
Publication Date: 2020
SDG11 - Sustainable Cities and Communities Sustainable Development Goal 11, one of 17 Global Goals that make up the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, recognizes the need to make cities and human settlements 'inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable.' This book uses empirical analysis to address challenges associated with the implementation of SDG11. It considers policies, strategies and success stories from various regions, countries and cities, including actions to improve natural resources management, reduce GHG emissions, and develop urban adaptation and resilience strategies and disaster risk management to help decision-makers, planners and practitioners in achieving the 2030 agenda.  Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals comprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2019
SDG12 - Sustainable Consumption and Production This book takes a wide-ranging and non-dogmatic view of SDG12, tackling various approaches as to how production and consumption can provide for human well-being while minimizing destructive effects on the biophysical environment. With chapters focusing on circular economies, product accounting systems, and sustainable procurement, this volume presents technical information in an accessible way and provides a much-needed overview of activity and approaches to achieving the development goal. The authors provide a thorough understanding of the history and effectiveness of SDG 12 by juxtaposing competing theories of sustainable production and consumption, from critics who advocate a "degrowth" agenda to explicitly neo- liberal approaches. They also examine the underlying contradictions in these theories and the degree to which these competing approaches can complement one another.
Publication Date: 2021
SDG13 - Climate Action SDG 13 aims to 'take urgent action to combat climate change and its impact'. This book demonstrates the potential for innovation in implementing SDG13 despite its associated challenges. The book features global success stories and uses empirical and science-based analysis to explore a wide range of practical implementation mechanisms, enabling conditions, and monitoring and reporting tools.  Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals comprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2020
SDG14 - Life below Water SDG14 - Life Below Water: Towards Sustainable Management of Our Oceansdescribes the dependence of human beings on shore and marine resources and highlights how oceanic life sustains the livelihoods of people living in coastal areas, affects global economy and plays a significant role for making earth habitable. Chapters give accounts of human interventions on oceanic life and demonstrate the various ways in which the sustainability of the oceanic system is threatened. Looking to sustainable management and protection of marine and coastal ecosystems, chapters investigate best practices initiated in different countries, address issues such as overfishing and the legal framework for conservation and sustainable use of oceans and their resources. Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goalscomprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2021
SDG15 - Life on Land This book, the first of its kind, seeks to demonstrate how 'SDG15 - Life on Land' can be implemented through effective biodiversity management, mainstreaming strategies and proposing solutions to achieve and consolidate the goals. The book will be of great interest to natural resource policy makers, scholars and students of natural resources, development studies and sustainable development, as well as those engaged in international climate change discourse and non-government organisations. Drawing on experienced faculty scientists who are experts in natural resource governance issues in a wide variety of fields ranging from forestry, biodiversity conservation policy to climate change, this work proposes solutions to achieve and consolidate SDG15. Delving into SDG15 targets and indicators, drawing on examples from across the regions to give a truly global policy perspective, and understanding the significance of the forest ecosystem as the foundation for sustainable development, the authors demonstrate how SDG15 can and will be an appropriate tool for mainstreaming biodiversity across the policy sectors of governance. Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goalscomprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives
Publication Date: 2021
SDG16 - Peace and Justice SDG16 recognises the need to respond to challenges to build a peaceful and just world. In the context of a transforming global community that is increasingly faced with conflict, the threat of terrorism and political instability, this goal has become more important than ever.  Peace and justice are recognized as important drivers in creating a sustainable society by bridging the Global North/South divide, the gap between rich and poor, the gap between developed and developing countries, and erasing the increased possibility of isolating marginalized groups such as migrants, woman, and disabled people. This book details how interested parties can, must and are getting ahead of the curve to promote peace, provide access to justice and build accountable institutions for all. It envisions a hopeful future in which the impacts of SDG16 are likely to be far more positive and transformational, and visible much more quickly, than we might have imagined.
Publication Date: 2019
SDG17 - Partnerships for the Goals Partnerships are often implemented in various ways, often without considering the impact, process or systemic performance and governance level of the partnership itself. The current bank of knowledge also offers little about complex partnership performance logics and multi-level governance across sectors. Partnership concerns can often be predominately focused on opportunistic business goals and benefits rather than the systemic partnering process itself. But partnerships do not operate in a vacuum.  This book leads with the idea that partnerships can drive change. It argues that current partnership practices may impede sustainable business benefits and increase risk through a disregard for excellence, the ethics of care, and consideration for how partnership performance can directly affect corporate value and public value. The book utilizes comprehensive critical analyses and collaborative strategies to help readers learn how to formulate, integrate, implement, and monitor partnership performance. The book concludes that business and global development concerns are not independent of partnership concerns.  Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goalscomprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Publication Date: 2019

Secondary menu

OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 212 Foundations of Global Health: Major Initiatives (GBD, SDGs, etc.) & Toolkits

Global Burden of Disease

Global Health 2035

Disease Control Priorities Network

Sustainable Development Goals

Millennium Development Goals

Global Health Toolkits

Other Major Initiatives

SDG Book Series