Library Guides: OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 223 Strategy in Health Care Organizations: Home

Strategic Planning Resources

Developing a Strategic Plan and Organizational Structure (Community Tool Box)
"The Community Tool Box is a free, online resource for those working to build healthier communities and bring about social change.": This section includes information on Developing a Strategic Plan; Developing an Organizational Structure for the Initiative; Developing Vision and Mission Statements; and more.
Ten Keys to Successful Strategic Planning for Nonprofit and Foundation Leaders (PDF)
Article from the TCC group about strategic planning, emphasizing the importance of a sound SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats) analysis, the participation of board, staff and other stakeholders, and connecting strategic to operational plans.
Health Systems Evidence
Continuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems, and about implementation strategies that can support change in health systems. Health Systems Evidence also contains economic evaluations in these same domains, descriptions of health system reforms (with links to syntheses and economic evaluations when possible), and descriptions of health systems.

Useful Websites

California Health Care Foundation
CHCF is dedicated to advancing meaningful, measurable improvements in the way the health care delivery system provides care to the people of California, particularly those with low incomes and those whose needs are not well served by the status quo. Publications, statistics, & more are available.
The Commonwealth Fund
The Commonwealth Fund is a private foundation that aims to promote a high performing health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency, particularly for society's most vulnerable. The Fund carries out this mandate by supporting independent research on health care issues and making grants to improve health care practice and policy. An international program in health policy is designed to stimulate innovative policies and practices in the United States and other industrialized countries. Data, publications, surveys are available on their site.
Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
A non-profit organization focused on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations. We serve as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.

Online Books

Strategy and business process management: techniques for improving execution, adaptability, and consistency by Lehmann
Publication Date: 2012
Health Services Evaluation by Boris Sobolev; Adrian Levy; Sarah Goring; et al. (Editors) The Handbook of Health Services Research is a reference for all aspects of the field of health services and outcomes research. It addresses the increasing need for comprehensive, yet balanced, information in a field that welcomes various disciplines: medicine, public health, statistics, economics, management, policy, and information technology. This well-organized reference is an indispensable source of information for everyone who seeks to develop understanding of health systems and to learn about historical, political, and socioeconomic factors that influence health policies at the global, national, regional and local level. Specifically, the Handbook helps readers: Recognize core concepts of health services and outcomes research, such as, need, access, equity, quality and safety; Become familiar with social, political, organizational, behavioral and economic theories that have influenced health systems designs; Learn about frameworks developed for evaluating the organization, financing, delivery, utilization and outcomes of health services; Get an introduction to methods of comparative effectiveness research, program evaluation, health technology assessment and health economics; Identify types and sources of data appropriate for generating valid and reliable information about the delivery of health services; Learn about strengths and weaknesses of various research designs used to study health services and policy issues. The online version of the Handbook of Health Services Research is in the format of a dynamically updated knowledge base, offering search tools, cross-referencing across chapters and linking to supplement data, other major reference works and external articles. The Handbook of Health Services Research is accessible at the level of graduate students even if it is not their focus area. This includes students with various backgrounds: medicine, public health, statistics, economics, management or information technology.
Publication Date: 2019
Foundations of Health Care Management by Healey; Marchese; Kuehn
Publication Date: 2012
A Leadership Journey in Health Care: Virginia Mason's Story by Kenney
Publication Date: 2015
Organizational and Process Reengineering: approaches for health care transformation by Larson
Publication Date: 2015
Project Management for Healthcare by Shirley
Publication Date: 2011
Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations: a practical guide for dynamic times by Allison; Kaye
Publication Date: 2015
Making Strategy Count in the Health and Human Services Sectors: lessons learned from 20 organizations and chief strategy officers by Hansen-Turton
Publication Date: 2013
Strategic Management of Healthcare Organizations: a stakeholder management approach by Jeffrey S. Harrison; Stephen M. Thompson
Publication Date: 2015
Switch: how to change things when change is hard by Chip Heath; Dan Heath
Publication Date: 2010

Find Strategic Planning Articles from Selected Journals

Public Health & Optometry Librarian.

Michael Sholinbeck

Contact:

msholinb@berkeley.edu;
Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library (in VLSB)

Subjects: Health and Medical Sciences, Optometry, Optometry and Vision Science, Public Health, Vision Science

Company & Industry Research Databases

Business Plans Handbook This link opens in a new window
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Coverage: v.28 (2013) - v.57(2023).
Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting. [1965 - present]
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.

To find case studies in Business Source Complete, from the Advanced Search screen, scroll down and select Case Study under Document Type. Scroll back up and perform your search.

Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers major journals in mass media, journalism, advertising, and other communication-related fields. (Comm Abs) [1977 - present]
Indexes 160 sources, with over 44,000 records reflecting articles, reports, papers and books covering communication literature in subjects such as mass media, journalism, advertising, marketing, public opinion, interpersonal communication and organizational communication.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Text mining of this database is prohibited. Access limited to 49 simultaneous users Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
Industry research reports and profiles for hundreds of United States industries.
Also includes reports on global industries as well as industries in China. Data include market size, market share, major players, and industry trend analysis.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international, national and local newspapers and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Also includes Company Profiles, Market and Industry Reports, Dossiers, and more.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Corporate financial database that provides information on U.S. and international public companies
Provides financial information on U.S.and international companies. The database consists of the following components: U.S. and International Company Data, Archives, Annual Reports, Factsheets Plus, Factsheets Express, Institutional Holdings, Insider Trades, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Equity Portraits, and Corporate Bond Portraits.

Secondary menu

OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 223 Strategy in Health Care Organizations: Home

Strategic Planning Resources

Useful Websites

Online Books

Find Strategic Planning Articles from Selected Journals

Public Health & Optometry Librarian.

Company & Industry Research Databases