Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 241 Intermediate Biostatistics for Public Health: Writing + Citing in the Sciences

Introduction

As part of a 3-year pilot, the Library licensed three products that make collaborative writing and citing much easier: Mendeley, Overleaf, and ShareLaTeX. Overleaf and ShareLaTeX have since merged into Overleaf v2 - see the launch announcement for more information.

Sign up with a UC Berkeley email address (or verify your UC Berkeley email address in an existing account) to get access to the premium features of Mendeley or Overleaf.

If you have any comments or questions about any of these tools, please contact your librarian.

Mendeley

Mendeley logo

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that allows you to organize your references across multiple devices, automatically generate bibliographies, and share references with collaborators online. A free account offers 2GB of storage space and the ability to create 1 private group with up to 3 members.

The Library has licensed Mendeley Institutional Edition for campus as a 3-year pilot to provide access to premium features. Access Mendeley via a UCB IP address to take advantage of the benefits of Mendeley Institutional Edition: 100GB personal library space, 100GB shared library space, 100 collaborators in private groups, and unlimited private groups.

Visit the Mendeley guide for more information.

Overleaf + ShareLaTeX

Overleaf + ShareLaTeX logo350

Overleaf and ShareLaTeX have merged into one platform: Overleaf v2. Read the launch announcement for more information. Overleaf is a free online collaborative LaTeX editor with integrated real-time preview. It offers hundreds of templates for arXiv, journal publishers, presentations, exams, dissertations, and more. A free account includes unlimited private projects, up to 1 collaborator, and direct submission to selected publishers.

The Library has licensed Overleaf for campus as part of a 3-year pilot to provide access to premium features. Sign up with your Berkeley email address to get access to a professional account, which provides unlimited collaborators, real-time track changes, full document history, Mendeley integration and sync, GitHub integration and sync, and the ability to save to Dropbox.

If you would like to stay informed about upcoming features and integrations, please visit the Overleaf blog.

Other Collaborative Writing Tools

Authorea is a free online collaborative editor for writing in Markdown, LaTeX, or Richtext. A free account includes 3 private articles, unlimited public articles, and up to 100MB data storage. Premium accounts start at $10/month and include unlimited private articles, DOI minting, and up to 1GB data storage.

bDrive is the UC Berkeley version of Google Drive. Your account allows you to collaborate with others on documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and forms with unlimited storage. 

Citation Management Tools

Citation management software helps you to collect and organize papers, cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.

Popular citation management tools in the sciences and engineering include:

  • Zotero is a free and easy-to-use tool for collecting, managing, and citing the sources you find during your research. It can be integrated with Google Docs, Overleaf, and Word for easily formatting citations while writing.
  • Mendeley is a freely available reference manager and academic social network that can be used to organize your research, create bibliographies, collaborate with others, and discover current developments. It can be integrated with Overleaf and Word for easily formatting citations while writing.
  • BibTeX is a tool and format for simply organizing citations in a .bib text file. It can be used in LaTeX to format citations and bibliographies in a variety of styles. Overleaf offers extensive guidance on how to use .bib files with bibtex and biblatex, a newer package that is actively being developed.
    • JabRef is a free tool for more effectively organizing and viewing your .bib libraries and formatting references and bibliographies.
  • EndNote is bibliographic management software that you install on your computer. It offers sophisticated, flexible tools for organizing references and creating bibliographies. EndNote works with Word to format citations and create bibliographies in a comprehensive variety of styles. Get the student price by purchasing online with proof of student status.
  • RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management service licensed by the Library for use by current UCB faculty, staff, and students. It can be used to organize references, format citations, and create bibliographies in Google Docs and Word. To start using RefWorks, create an account using your @berkeley.edu email address.
  • Papers is low-cost software that allows you to search, retrieve, organize, and annotate article PDFs. It can be integrated with Google Docs and Word for easily formatting citations.
  • Paperpile is a low-cost web tool for collecting and organizing papers and easily formatting citations and bibliographies in Google Docs.

English as a Second Language

Are you looking to improve your technical and scientific communication skills in English? These resources may help: