Searching PubMed or other databases is generally the best way to find journal articles on public health preparedness. Below, however, are listed some journals that focus on this topic
American Journal of Disaster Medicine (Abstracts only are available)
Disaster Prevention and Management: An International Journal (Not all issues available)
Disasters, Published on behalf of the Overseas Development Institute
Journal of Emergency Management (Abstracts only are available)
Prehospital and Disaster Medicine, an official publication of the World Association for Disaster and Emergency Medicine
EM-DAT: The International Disaster Database: EM-DAT provides an objective basis for vulnerability assessment and rational decision-making in disaster situations. For example, it helps policymakers identify disaster types that are most common in a given country and have had significant historical impacts on specific human populations. In addition to providing information on the human impact of disasters, EM-DAT provides disaster-related economic damage estimates and disaster-specific international aid contributions.
Homeland Security Digital Library: A collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Sources include, but are not limited to: Federal, state and local governments, international governments and institutions, nonprofit organizations and private sector entities, and think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities.
TRACIE Technical Resources: Includes the Resource Library and the Topic Collections. Categories of documents include: Emergency management foundations; Healthcare coalition development and organization; Disaster operations; Communications; and more. The Technical Resources, Assistance Center, and Information Exchange (TRACIE) was created to meet the information and technical assistance needs of regional ASPR staff, healthcare coalitions, healthcare entities, healthcare providers, emergency managers, public health practitioners, and others working in disaster medicine, healthcare system preparedness, and public health emergency preparedness.
HazLib: The Natural Hazards Center Library's online catalog of their collection of hazards resources that focus on how society copes with natural hazards and catastrophic events. Our library houses a wide spectrum of information for both researchers and practitioners. The online catalog provides bibliographic access to the collection and direct access to hundreds of titles. In addition to this online service, for a fee, Library staff is available to conduct custom searches of the collection and answer other hazards-related questions. We are happy to guide your research or put you in touch with people or institutions that may have the answers you need.
Public Health Surveillance during a Disaster (US CDC): information on mortality and morbidity surveillance, examples of CDC activities, and more.
Dual Disaster Handbook: The American Flood Coalition and American Public Health Association Dual Disaster Handbook is a comprehensive resource to help local officials and emergency managers address the dual disaster scenario of flooding during the COVID-19 pandemic. This Handbook draws on case studies and best practices from emergency management professionals to equip officials with six actionable recommendations for planning a proactive response as communities face multiple threats.
Translation, Dissemination, and Implementation of Public Health Preparedness Research and Training, Nov. 2018 special supplement to the American Journal of Public Health updates the 2014 research in the link below, reviewing programs developed by the Preparedness Emergency Response Research Centers and provides analysis, evaluation, and recommendations.
Public Health Systems Research to Strengthen Preparedness and Response, Oct. 2014 special supplement to Public Health Reports presenting the research generated by the PERRCs (Preparedness and Emergency Response Research Centers) demonstrating the value of public health research that collectively advances our thinking and understanding of how to improve our public health system’s preparedness for and response to disasters.
Verification Handbook: a resource for journalists and aid providers. It provides the tools, techniques and step-by-step guidelines for how to deal with user-generated content (eg, social media) during emergencies. The handbook provides actionable advice to facilitate disaster preparedness in newsrooms, and best practices for how to verify and use information, photos and videos provided by the crowd.