The world's largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the U.S. yearly since 1984. Prevelance Trends, GIS data, Chronic Disease Indicators, as well as the survey data and methodology are available.
Provides access to a wide array of public health information including data on mortality, diseases, environmental and occupational health, and health practice and prevention.
Provides access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and about 40 text-based and numeric databases. Numeric information includes census data, mortality data, and natality data as well as surveillance information.
Evidence from anthropologists and other social scientists around the world to provide guides, field notes, toolkits, and more, to inform epidemic response efforts. Categories include:
-Emergence and origins
-Transmission and spread
-Identifying cases and surveillance
-Reducing spread
-Engagement and communication
-Local health care
-Recovery
-Clinical research
FluNet is a global tool for influenza virological surveillance. The virological data entered into FluNet, e.g. number of influenza viruses detected by subtype, are critical for tracking the movement of viruses globally and interpreting the epidemiological data. Data download: csv, xml, xls, and more.
Provides national and regional data on community hospital utilization, access, charges, quality and outcomes from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP).
Provides data that can be used for research on hospital utilization, access, charges, quality and outcomes. HCUP data can be used to describe patters of care, to analyze hospital procedures and to study the care of population sub-groups and do identify, track, analyze and compare hospital statistics at the national and regional level.
CDC’S National HIV Surveillance System monitors HIV trends in the US. Health departments report de-identified data so that information can be analyzed to determine who is being affected and why.
Interactive tool from CDC that contains antibiotic resistance data from bacteria isolated from humans as part of the National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System (NARMS)
NNDSS is a multifaceted program that includes the surveillance system for collection, analysis, and sharing of health data. It also includes policies, laws, electronic messaging standards, people, partners, information systems, processes, and resources at the local, state, territorial, and national levels.
WHO’s Communicable Disease Global Atlas brings together for analysis and comparison standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels. Includes maps.
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
International index including over 2,000 journals not in Medline, as well as conference abstracts. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research, including economic evaluations and healthcare policy & management.
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Indexes journals, books, reports, and more on the topics such as environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, and zoonoses. NOTE: UC Berkeley's access to Global Health will end in 2024.
Limited free full text is available for some hard-to-find journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and research articles from smaller, society and non-English publishers. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications covering all areas of environmental science.
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
CINAHL is the primary database for nursing and allied health including topics such as addiction, aging, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, mental health, psychology, and more. NOTE: UC Berkeley's access to CINAHL will end in 2024.
CINAHL Complete includes articles, books, audiovisuals, standards of care, and more. Indexing over 5,000 journals from 1937 forward, it features PreCINAHL citations and cited references starting with 1985. Over 730 journals are available full text.
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
