It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Coordinates women's health efforts across HHS and addresses critical women's health issues by informing and advancing policies, educating health care professionals and consumers, and supporting model programs.
A database on the extent, nature and consequences of violence against women, and on the impact and effectiveness of policies & programmes for eliminating such violence. Includes data on violence against women, as well as analysis of such data.
A comprehensive review of the gender-related policies of more than 140 major organisations working in and/or influencing the field of global health. The Report provides a benchmark across the sector to catalyse shifts in organisational and management culture and practice, the adoption of gender-responsive policies, and ensuring adequate resources for programmes focusing on the gendered dynamics of global health.
Focuses on making women in developing countries an integral part of alleviating global poverty. Identifies women’s contributions as well as the obstacles that prevent them from being economically strong and able to fully participate in society. Offers publications, tool kits, policy briefs and position papers.
Around the Globe for Women's Health: a practical guide for the health care providerIn the increasingly globalized twenty-first century, cross-cultural communication and knowledge of culturally informed health practices are critical skills for women's health providers. Around the Globe for Women's Health is a concise, culturally sensitive, and clinically relevant guide that aims to increase health equity through prevention and improved clinical care for women around the world. Case-based chapters highlight clinical issues (such as obstetric fistula, malaria, and postpartum hemorrhage) and barriers to care (the unmet need for family planning, or limited radiotherapy in low-resource countries, for example). Around the Globe for Women's Health is a must-have resource not just for physicians considering working in another country, but all providers seeking to provide better care for diverse populations of women within the United States.
Publication Date: 2013
Epidemiology of Women's HealthWith contributions from leading authorities in the field, this one-of-a-kind text explores the major health challenges and conditions specifically affecting women. Epidemiology of Women's Health covers chronic, infectious, autoimmune and psychological conditions as well as the health disparities and differences in health behaviors to give the reader a comprehensive understanding of the major female-specific needs that may be useful in developing effective public health programs. The text concludes with a review of the ethical aspects of gender-specific research studies.Divided into 10 sections, the book covers the following topic areas: Introduction to Epidemiology of Women's Health; Personal and Community-Based Health Promotion and Morbidity Prevention; Sexual Health Across the Life Span; Sexually Transmitted Infections; Chronic Psychological and Psychosocial Conditions; Endocrine & Autoimmune Conditions; Malignancies; Chronic Conditions; Aging; and Impact of Research: Lessons from the Past, Challenges of the Future.
Call Number: RA564.85 .E65 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Studies on Women's HealthThis volume covers data describing the role of free radicals and antioxidants that deal with clinical and pre-clinical trials, as well as basic research in the area of women's health. There is increasing evidence that oxidative stress is a causative, or at least a supporting factor in female pathology and infertility. During advancing gestational age, oxidative stress biomakers rise. Oxidative stress plays a regulatory role in transcription, signal transduction, gene expression and membrane trafficking. A search on Pub Med shows 449 papers have been published to date related to women's health disorders and use of antioxidants in a variety of disease that are prevalent in women, such as hypertension and cardiovascular disease, osteoporosis, obesity and restless leg syndrome.
Publication Date: 2013
Women's Health and Wellness Across the LifespanWomen's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan provides a fresh and comprehensive approach to women's healthcare. Combining traditional and complementary medicine, this crucial text offers evidence-based insight on women's health and wellness. Update and enlighten your practice with relevant case histories, the latest research, and the insight of nursing experts on numerous wellness topics. This invaluable text offers the insights you need to respond to patients' individual concern and problems more effectively, promoting optimal wellness at every stage of your patients' lives. Developed for Clinicians in primary care and community settings, RNs, advanced practice students and faculty working in women's health, OB/GYN, family medicine, and adult/gerontology, and for nurse midwives, this vital reference includes: * Comprehensive, evidence-based content, crucial for promoting women's wellness and preventative care * Combines traditional medicine with alternative approaches for balanced, effective responses that answer the concerns of today's educated patient * Emphasizes the importance of incorporating social context, age and life experiences into health assessments * Tables and charts clarify different forms of care and their purpose Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan is dvidied into three sections and covers o Introduction to women's wellness care - The holistic, lifespan approach to women's wellness; 21st century women's health care; evolution of the science and clinical specialty of women's health o Specific wellness issues for women across the lifespan - Issues from puberty through early adulthood, midlife, and healthy aging o Aids clinicians in promoting women's lifelong wellness - Special populations; body composition: exercise and nutrition; oral health; resilience; self-care: complementary therapies; herbal medicine; pharmacologic approaches to wellness and disease prevention; Pilates; healing environments; healing relationships; healthy sleep; peaceful dying
Call Number: ONLINE and RA778 .W75423 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Undivided rights : women of color organize for reproductive justiceUndivided Rights captures the evolving and largely unknown activist history of women of color organizing for reproductive justice--on their own behalf. Undivided Rights presents a textured understanding of the reproductive rights movement by placing the experiences, priorities, and activism of women of color in the foreground. Using historical research, original organizational case studies, and personal interviews, the authors illuminate how women of color have led the fight to control their own bodies and reproductive destinies. Undivided Rights shows how women of color---starting within their own Latina, African American, Native American, and Asian American communities--have resisted coercion of their reproductive abilities. Projected against the backdrop of the mainstream pro-choice movement and radical right agendas, these dynamic case studies feature the groundbreaking work being done by health and reproductive rights organizations led by women-of-color. The book details how and why these women have defined and implemented expansive reproductive health agendas that reject legalistic remedies and seek instead to address the wider needs of their communities. It stresses the urgency for innovative strategies that push beyond the traditional base and goals of the mainstream pro-choice movement--strategies that are broadly inclusive while being specific, strategies that speak to all women by speaking to each woman. While the authors raise tough questions about inclusion, identity politics, and the future of women's organizing, they also offer a way out of the limiting focus on "choice." Undivided Rights articulates a holistic vision for reproductive freedom. It refuses to allow our human rights to be divvied up and parceled out into isolated boxes that people are then forced to pick and choose among.