It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Easily search across all ProQuest databases that UC Berkeley subscribes to. Content ranges from historical newspapers, ebooks from the Ebook Central collection, to subject specific databases in the sciences, arts, and humanities.
To limit your search to a specific set of databases, select from the "Databases" tab in the top menu.
Google Scholar Preferences
Google Scholaris an easy way to do interdisciplinary research, and with some settings changes can become even more useful. You need a bMail or Google account to use some of these features. To make Google display links to full text of articles that Berkeley subscribes to: Open Scholar and click on Settings. Under Library Links, enter the word "Berkeley" and click search (if you are connected to the internet via the campus, Google Scholar will have the correct boxes selected for you). In the list of options that appears, check the boxes for anything University of California, Berkeley.
Connect from off-campus
UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff may access online materials from off-campus using:
A browser bookmarklet for EZproxy allows you to access licensed journals, databases and articles when you are off-campus. When you are off-campus and you land on a licensed library resource, click on your EZproxy bookmarklet. You will be prompted to authenticate via CalNet or PIN / Cal 1 card number. You will then be redirected to the EZproxied version of the site’s url.