Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Comparative Literature R1B: Simulation and Simulacra: Articles

Jacob Malone

Find Articles in General Databases

Find Background Information

Find Subject Databases

If you're not finding relevant results for your topic in the databases listed above, try searching databases by Subject Specialty. The Berkeley Libraries subscribe to hundreds of article databases organized by Subject and Format. Here are a few examples:

Google Scholar Preferences

Google Scholar is an easy way to do interdisciplinary research, and with some settings changes can become even more useful.  You need a bMail or Google account to use some of these features.  To make Google display links to full text of articles that Berkeley subscribes to: Open Scholar and click on Settings. Under Library Links, enter the word "Berkeley" and click search (if you are connected to the internet via the campus, Google Scholar will have the correct boxes selected for you).  In the list of options that appears, check the boxes for anything University of California, Berkeley.

Google Scholar Preferences

What is Start Your Search?

Start Your Search brings back results from the library catalog OskiCat, articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers indexed through databases (some but not all), and online encyclopedias and dictionaries like Oxford University Press.

How can you filter through the results? Here is an illustrated example:

 

What are Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed articles?

How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? Video from NCSU Libraries

Identify Search Terms

Use Keywords to Get Results

Use Keyword Searches to find Subject Terms

What is the difference between Keywords/Search Terms and Subject Terms/Headings? As you start your research process, generate Keywords by doing a "Brain Dump" to write down everything you already know about your topic including:

  • Names of people, organizations, companies, time period you are interested in, places of interest [countries, regions, cities], conceptual terms (Watch a YouTube video from the UC Libraries here: Identify Search Terms)

Use these nouns as Keywords to get results, chose a few relevant articles, and browse the database results under Subject or Topics. Searching by Subject Terms/Headings is the most precise way to search article databases. Click on the comparison chart from MIT Libraries for more information: 

Teach Yourself: Understanding Scholarly Sources

Understanding Scholarly Sources (from NCSU Libraries)

Connect from off-campus

UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff may access online materials from off-campus using:

  • EZproxy (Guide)
    A browser bookmarklet for EZproxy allows you to access licensed journals, databases and articles when you are off-campus. When you are off-campus and you land on a licensed library resource, click on your EZproxy bookmarklet. You will be prompted to authenticate via CalNet or PIN / Cal 1 card number. You will then be redirected to the EZproxied version of the site’s url.

  • VPN (Virtual Private Network)
    Download the campus VPN client to access licensed article databases, eBooks and eJournals.