This Archive comprises archival and printed material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India.
"The Archives of the Church in North India Online comprises archival and printed material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India. The Monograph collection includes:
- Monographs printed by the Irish Presbyterian Mission Press in Surat, India.
- Monographs printed by other mission presses in India.
- Monographs printed outside India and relevant for research purposes. "
The philosophical, theological, and folk traditions of Hinduism, in a historical and contemporary context, are covered in original essays written by scholars.
The interaction of Hinduism with other religions and its spread the last two hundred years to all the continents is covered. Illustrations of maps and photographs are included. Also available in print (6 volumes).
Brill’s Encyclopedia of Sikhism aims to make available in-depth critical scholarship on all the main aspects of the Sikh traditions in a number of original essays written by the world's foremost scholars on Sikhs and Sikh traditions.
A digital platform for culturally and historically significant literary material produced from within - and about - the Indian subcontinent. [1700-1953]
The South Asia Archive provides digital access to rare and out of print materials ranging from the mid-18th to mid-20th century in a mix of English and vernacular languages. Search across multiple document types, including government acts, books, calendars, catalogs, censuses, directories, gazette, journals, film pamphlets, legal documents, magazines, manuals, maps, proceedings, reports, and statistics. The material included is interdisciplinary, covering art history, economics, law, science, education, literature, and more.
The Archives of the Church in North India comprises archival and printed material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India.
The Archives of the Church in North India comprises archival and printed material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India. The archives have been divided into two sections: the archival collection, consisting of meetings, correspondence and reports, and the monograph collection of early printed monographs from mission presses.
This is a digital archive of the India Office Records on the East India Company from its inception until it dissolution. [1600-1947]
The East India Company Archive is a collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Consisting of royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and all other areas the Company was active in from 1600 to 1947.
Includes multiple archival collections relating to the politics and history of Britain and its colonized territories.
These documents include East India Company records, the records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, Parliamentary Labour Party papers, the Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation, the records of the Communist Party of Great Britain, and The British Union of Fascists' newspapers and secret files. Collections can be browsed or searched individually or collectively.
British Government files on South Asia for the period between 1947 and 1980.
Sourced from the British Foreign Office files, this resource covers the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan in this period with additional content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions. Other files look at the impact on United Kingdom, US and European trade, industrial policy, education and the media. Includes variety of material: diplomatic dispatches, telegrams, newspaper cuttings and transcripts, maps, photographs, political and economic reports, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, leaflets, letters, and other ephemera.
Statistical data from Indian government and private sources
Statistical data from Indian government and private sources: finance, agriculture, health, housing, transportation, and many other areas. Data is derived from documents, reports and policies from the states and national government of India. Information is classified into 30 major sections and includes census data. Note: userid and password required. Please inquire at any Library Reference Desk for assistance.
First-hand accounts from journals and diaries document the foundation of the East India Company and the independence of India.
The resource consists of the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland relating to South Asian history between 1615 and 1947 and cover material on India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Malaysia, and Singapore. Types of resources include diaries, journals, private as well as official papers, letters, sketches, paintings, and other original documents related to Indian history and literature. Sources include the East India Company, government documents, and papers of British military officers and civil servants in India.
Find Books, Journal Titles, and More
Use OskiCat or Melvyl to find books or journal titles (not articles) by checking if UCB or UC has the journal. If UCB does not have it, you can request the book/article though the request feature in Melvyl. You can also search for journals by title.
What's NOT included
Start your Search does notinclude everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly.
Content that is not included in Start your Search:
Non-UCB Melvyl results aren't included. Use the Find More through Melvyl link in your search results to continue your search in Melvyl.
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:
Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.