Skip to main content

Southeast Asia Studies: Collections

Header

Hoi An, Vietnam. [Courtesy of Wikitravel.org]

What's New?

International Directory of Southeast Asia Library Collections

Berkeley Southeast Asia Collection

Larger Image

Materials in Southeast Asian vernacular languages are most commonly collected in:

  • Burmese
  • Chinese
  • Hmong
  • Indonesian
  • Khmer
  • Lao
  • Malay
  • Tagalog
  • Tamil
  • Tetum
  • Thai
  • Vietnamese

 

(Photo above right courtesy of the Finding Aid to Vietnam: Journey of the Heart, 1985-2000 gallery)

Special Collection Highlight: The Swift Family Collection of Palm Leaf Manuscripts

thumbnailThe Swift Family Collection of Palm Leaf Manuscripts was donated to The Library by Lloyd Wesley Swift, a 1930 Berkeley graduate. Simply known as the Swift Family Collection, it includes several Buddhist palm leaf manuscripts from mainland Southeast Asia. These manuscripts were featured in The Written Word Remains, an exhibition of manuscripts and rare printed books from South and Southeast Asia, and subsequently stored in Berkeley's South/Southeast Asia Library. Later, select manuscripts from the collection were displayed in the 1997 exhibition A Hundred Harvests: The History of Asian Studies at Berkeley. In 2002, the process of identifying, inventorying, and cataloging each manuscript began.

To learn more about the Swift Family Collection, visit its Online Archive of California (OAC) finding aid.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.