Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Southeast Asia Studies


 

Media

 


 

Recommended Tools and Sources

Media includes audio, video, and film. Recommendations for finding media include:

  1. Media Resources Center
  2. The Library's Start Your Search portal (includes several online tools)
  3. OskiCat
  4. WorldCat (Library of Congress online catalog)

Two shelves of DVDsThe Media Resources Center (MRC) is the UC Berkeley Library's primary collection of materials in audio and visual formats. Formats include videocassettes, DVDs, compact audio discs, audiocassettes, and online (streamed) audio and video.

 

 

OskiCat logo

OskiCat is UC Berkeley's catalog. Melvyl is the University of California system catalog. To access them:

  1. Find the "Start Your Search" box on The Library homepage.
  2. Select OskiCat or Melvyl in the Search tab.

To find images and media in UC Berkeley's collection, open OskiCat and perform either a Quick Search or an Advanced Keyword Search.

Quick Search

Select the Quick Search tab and Films/Videos/Slides or Pictures/Graphics from the dropdown menu that appears under Entire Collection.

Quick Search tab in OskiCat

 

Quick search menu with Films/Videos/Slides selected

 

 

 

 

Advanced Keyword Search

Select the Advanced Keyword Search tab and scroll down to select Books.

Advanced Keyword Search icon

 

 

OskiCat Material Types list with Films/Videos/Slides selected

A to Z Databases tutorial about finding "South Asia" images and mediaWhen not on this page, the easiest way to access A-Z Databases is from the Start Your Search box on The Library homepage. Just select "Databases" and "Browse All Databases".

In A-Z Databases, find South Asia Studies images and media by:

  1. Selecting "South Asian Studies" in the Subject dropdown.
  2. Selecting "Images", "Sound/Audio", or "Videos" in the Database dropdown.