Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Southeast Asia Studies


Introduction


Below are short descriptions about various types of scholarly sources and general recommendations for finding them. For more specific information about how to find Southeast Asia scholarly sources, select the appropriate page tabs or contact the subject librarian listed, both found on the left side of this page.

 


Academic Journals and Articles

page and text


Academic journals primarily contain peer-reviewed scholarly articles, which can also appear in article databases. Find them at The Library's Start Your Search portal and Google Scholar.

 


Archives, Special Collections, and Digital Libraries

Revenue Stamp of one of the Princely States of India


Archives include historical recordsdocuments, and artifacts. Special collections are archives grouped by topic or provenance. Digital libraries house digital archives, special collections, galleries, and exhibits. Find all of them at the UC Berkeley Library Digital Collections website, The Bancroft Library, and The South/Southeast Asia Library.

 


Books and eBooks

book and journal spines


Find books and ebooks at The Library's Start Your Search portal, OskiCat (UC Berkeley's online catalog), WorldCat (Library of Congress online catalog) (free version), and HathiTrust.

 


Dissertations

notebook and pen


Dissertations are works of original academic research written by doctoral students to earn their PhD. Find them at ProQuest Dissertations and Theses at UCB and WorldCat Dissertations and Theses.

 


Government Publications and Statistics

data visualization


Government publications and statistics include all governmental and non-governmental statistical sources. Find them at A-Z Databases (use subject and database type filters to perform specific searches), United Nations organization websites, and WorldBank.

 


Images, Galleries, and Exhibits

old black and white photo of people posing


Images, galleries, and exhibits are usually part of an archive or special collection. Find them at The UC Berkeley online exhibits webpage, the UC Berkeley Library Digital Collections website, The Bancroft Library, and The South/Southeast Asia.Library.

 


Maps and Atlases


Find maps and atlases at the Earth Sciences and Map Library, OskiCat, and WorldCat.

 


Media


Media includes audiovideo, and film. Find media at the Media Resources Center, The Library's Start Your Search portal (includes several online tools), OskiCat, and WorldCat.

 


Newspapers and Microforms

newspaper and text


Newspapers are often archived in microforms (microfilm, microfiche, or microcard), which can also be used to preserve other types of sources. Find all of these at The Newspapers & Microforms Library, OskiCat, the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), and WorldCat.

 


Other Source Types

bookshelf vector image


Find: