It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Streaming performances of 37 Shakespeare plays originally adapted for broadcast between 1978 and 1985 in the United Kingdom. Searchable transcripts appear alongside the videos.
"Access to this resource was made possible with help from English department faculty Ida Mae and William J. Eggers Chair in English, Professor Jeffrey Knapp and James D. Hart Chair in English, Professor James Turner."
The Golden Age of Mexican cinema is illuminated in this collection of popular movie periodicals. It includes magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965), Cine Mundial (1951-1955), and El Cine Gráfico. From the Archives of the Filmoteca of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Mexican cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its Golden Age (1930s to 1960), was consistently the largest and most important of all the Spanish-speaking countries.
Note: Please access via CalVisitor, the Library Proxy, or the Library VPN
"Online play texts, audio and video, and secondary sources for the study and performance of drama. Includes material from Arden Shakespeare, Nick Hern, BBC Drama Films, Shakespeare's Globe On Screen, and L.A. Theatre Works."
Collections include playtexts from Methuen Drama, Faber and Faber, Arden Shakespeare, and Nick Hern Shakespeare’s Globe On Screen, L.A. Theatre Works audio collection, BBC Drama Films, the Hollow Crown series, early modern drama titles staged and filmed specifically for educational use. The platform has a web-based e-reader with page and line numbers that correspond to the print edition, download options, full text search, visualization tools including a Words and Speeches Graph and a Character Grid for each play, the ability to view lines for one specific character, genre, period, title, or playwright browsing, and annotation tools.
A full-text searchable database of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, sciences, medicine, geography, travel, history, and literature. It includes books of European/Arabic translations. [1475-1900]
"The databases consists of three modules: Module 1) Religion and Law. Module 2) Sciences, History, and Geography. Module 3) Periodicals, Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues and General Works." Search in Arabic or Roman scripts.
We have long subscribed to EEBO, and this year we added a second set of full-text transcriptions (TCP II) to make more of the collection machine-readable.
Indexes over 125,000 volumes of early works printed in England or in English. These works constitute a significant portion of items included in the English Short Title Catalogue. It contains most of the works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Full-color, high-resolution facsimile scans of rare texts in European languages from the early modern period (1450s-1701), with strong representation in Danish, Dutch, French, Italian, and Latin texts.
Contents are drawn from rare book collections from the Danish Royal Library, the National Central Library in Florence, the National Library of France, the National Library of the Netherlands, the Wellcome Library in London, and others. Search by country of publication, language, page features (illustration, musical notation), and source library, and you can include historical and linguistic variants in your search. Books can be browsed in an online Flash-based viewer or downloaded as JPEGs or PDFs. The scans are of the entire physical object and pages, including marginalia and binding.
Correspondence between 18th century thinkers, writers and their friends and families.
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.
Digital collection with full-text comics, graphic novels, and related scholarship from pre-Comics Code era works to modern sequential releases from the US, Canada, France, Italy, Spain, England, Sweden, Norway, Australia, Korea, Japan, and more.
600 entries on key figures, texts, critical debates, methodologies, cultural and historical contexts, and related terminology in the literatures of the British Isles from the fifth to the sixteenth centuries.
Represents all the literatures of the British Isles including Old and Middle English, Early Scots, Anglo-Norman, the Norse, Latin and French of Britain, and the Celtic Literatures of Wales, Ireland, Scotland and Cornwall.
EiR continues the tradition of its predecessor Prism(s) in encouraging contributions within an interdisciplinary and comparative framework. More broadly, we welcome submissions on any aspect of Romanticism, and especially work using emergent or innovative perspectives and approaches.
The Irish University Review is a peer-reviewed journal founded in 1970 at University College Dublin as a journal of Irish literary criticism. It is affiliated with the International Association for the Study of Irish Literatures (IASIL).
In its early years, the journal published short literary works (poetry, short stories, one-act plays) as well as literary critical essays. Increasingly, however, the journal specialised in defining and expanding the scope of Irish literary studies. It welcomes submissions on all aspects of Irish literature in the English language, particularly submissions which expand the range of authors and texts to receive critical treatment, and which challenge the prevailing trends and assumptions of the field.