Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

Literature in English

Browse library materials for the study of literature in English

Scavenger Hunt Fall 2021

This Scavenger Hunt was designed for Fall 2021. Please note that Moffitt Library is temporarily closed during Spring 2022 for seismic upgrades.

Make sure to bring:

  • A phone, tablet, or some other device that connects to the internet.
  • A mask.
  • Your Cal ID card (you will need this in order to enter the Main Stacks and the Moffitt Library).

Instructions

  • Meet your class at the South entrance to the Doe Library (across from Wheeler Hall). If weather permits, meet outside the entrance; otherwise, meet inside the lobby (near the bathrooms).
  • Go through the library and fulfill each "challenge" according to the instructions.
  • Take photos/selfies to document completing each challenge.
  • Work in pairs or groups of three.
  • Your mentor will tell you which challenge to start with. (Good starting points have an *asterisk mark.)
  • After completing the scavenger hunt, email your mentor a link to a bDrive folder with your photos. The title of the bDrive folder should include the names of all teammates: "Library Scavenger Hunt-Names of Group Members"

Note

  • This scavenger hunt will ask you to take selfies. If you would prefer not to appear in the photos, that's 100% okay. Simply take a picture of the resource or locations as instructed.

1. Find the Bancroft Library (Archives)*

About

  • Bancroft Library is an internationally renowned archive.
  • If Bancroft happens to have archival material related to one of your research topics, take advantage of the opportunity to view the material in person.
  • Visiting an archive usually requires making requests for materials in advance, booking an appointment, storing most of your belongings in a locker, and going through a security checkpoint on the way in and out. It can feel intimidating, but once you know what to expect, it'll be a breeze.

Challenge

  • Locate the entrance to Bancroft and take a picture there. 

2. Look at Print Journals in the Heyns Reading Room*

About

  • The Heyns Reading Room houses the library's collection of recent journals (and magazines).
  • Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles are first published in journals. We often read them online now, but many are still first made available in print.
  • Recent issues can be viewed in the Heyns Reading Room. They cannot be checked out of the library.
  • Older issues are bound together and look like books. They are stored in the Main Stacks. They can be checked out of the library.

Challenge

  • Go to the Heyns Reading Room on the 2nd floor of Doe Library.
  • Look for the print ("unbound") version of a recent issue of PMLA: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America. (Call number: PB6.M64) Flip through the pages. How does it look difference from popular magazines?
  • Take a picture of the journal.
  • Hint: If you're having trouble finding the journal, try looking along one of the walls.

3. Find Reference Materials

About

  • Some reference materials are available in print form only.
  • We keep such materials on the second floor of the Doe Library in the Reference Hall.
  • Materials here can be used only in the library in order to ensure that they are available for everyone.
  • The MLA Handbook is the official guide to the citation format MLA style, a citation style often used in literature courses.

Challenge

  • Go to the Reference Hall on the 2nd floor of Doe Library.
  • Find a copy of The MLA Handbook (Call number: LB2369 .G53 2016) and take a selfie of yourself with the book. 
  • Put it back exactly where you found it!!

(Note: a portion of the Reference collection is housed in the North Reading Room, one of the most iconic places in the Doe Library. It's an excellent place to study and is known for its grandeur and silence. Be sure to take a peek while you are visiting the Reference collection, but keep in mind that talking and photography are not allowed.)
 

4. Using Scanners

About

Challenge

  • Go to the Reference Hall on the 2nd floor of Doe Library.
  • Choose any book from the Reference collection and scan page 23.
  • Email the scan to yourself. You will include it later in your team's bDrive folder. 

5. Find a Book in the Catalog*

About

  • Use UC Library Search to search all of the books in the Library's collection. (You can search on your phone or device or on any computer available in the library. Computers are available in the Reference Hall, inside the Main Stacks, and in Moffitt, among other locations.) 
  • You can also use it to find journal articles, magazine articles, audiobooks, and much more.
  • UC Library Search will also show you the books held by other UC Libraries.

Instructions

  • In UC Library Search, find a book by or about a writer of your choice (ex: Toni Morrison, Chang-rae Lee).
  • Check to make sure the book's status is Available and it is located in the Doe Library Main (Gardner) Stacks. If it's not available in the Doe Library Main (Gardner) Stacks, choose another book.
  • Take a picture of the call number (will likely start with the letters "PR" or "PS"). The call number will help you locate the book on the shelf. 

6. Locate a Book in the Gardner Main Stacks (Book Collection)

About

  • The Gardner Main Stacks, located between the Doe Library and The Moffitt Library, houses over 5 million books.
  • Literature books can be found on Level D, the lowest level.
  • Going to the stacks in person can be a magical experience, allowing you to browse the shelves for many books that may be of interest to your projects.
  • Be prepared to show your Cal ID card before entering.
  • Food and drinks are not allowed.
  • If you'd like to borrow books. all you need is your Cal ID card.

Challenge

  • Time to visit the Main Stacks! You can enter the Main Stacks either from the Doe Library main level near the Circulation Desk or the third floor of the Moffitt Library by going through the "secret passage" that will bring you to the Gardner Main Stacks Level C.
  • Use the book's call number to find the book on the shelf and then take a selfie with it. 

7. Find a Group Study Room at the Moffitt Library*

About

  • The Moffitt Library has many places to work and collaborate.
  • You can enter the building either through its main doors or through the "secret passage" from the Gardner Main Stacks Level C. You need a Cal ID card in order to enter. 
  • The 4th floor is meant to be a collaborative space where talking is allowed. The 5th floor is a quiet space for individual work.
  • You can reserve group study rooms on the 4th and 5th floor.
  • Note: The building is currently undergoing construction, and some of the levels are closed. In the spring semester, all of Moffitt Library will be closed. For now, you can visit the upper levels.

Challenge

  • Find one group study room on the 4th or 5th floor and take a picture in front of it.

When You're Done: Share Your Photos

  • Put all of the pictures you took today AND the scan you made of the reference book page into one bDrive folder.
  • Title the folder "Library Scavenger Hunt-Names of Group Members"
  • Email the link to the folder to your mentor.
  • Be sure to include the names of the other people on your team.