The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. (Seventeenth to Eighteenth Century)
Newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Covers more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.
Indexes over 125,000 volumes of early works printed in England or in English. These works constitute a significant portion of items included in the English Short Title Catalogue. It contains most of the works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Items published in Great Britain and its colonies during the 18th century. (18th Century Collections Online - 18th Century Collection Online - Eighteenth Century Collection Online) [1700-1800]
Contains over 180,000 items published in Great Britain and its colonies, including those in North America, during the 18th Century. This database complements the materials found in Early English Books Online (EEBO), which covers 1475-1700. The resource is thus a rich source of information about the American and French Revolutions and the Age of Reason, scientific and medical advances, literature, law, religion, industry, and all aspects of 18th Century life in Britain and its colonies.
Digitized collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913, and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts between 1676 and 1772. Includes images and contemporary maps. Full text and open access. Published by the Digital Humanities Institute at the University of Sheffield.
This collection allows access to over 197,000 trials and biographical details of approximately 2,500 men and women executed at Tyburn, free of charge for non-commercial use.
In addition to the text, accessible through both keyword and structured searching, this website provides digital images of all 190,000 original pages of the Proceedings, 4,000 pages of Ordinary's Accounts, advice on methods of searching this resource, information on the historical and legal background to the Old Bailey court and its Proceedings, and descriptions of published and manuscript materials relating to the trials covered. Contemporary maps, and images have also been provided.
Use this when you have a topic that you want to begin to research. When you're done, you'll have found at least 2 books and at least 2 journal articles. Info about the books and articles you found will be emailed to you automatically.
- “What Is the MLA International Bibliography? (on EBSCO)”
- “Keyword Search vs. Subject Search in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO”
- “Names as Subjects in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO”
- “Search Tips for the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO”
- “Peer Review in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO”