Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

UC Berkeley COVID-19 Free e-Resources: Home

Contains information on trials avilable to the UCB community during the shelter in place order.

How to Access Online Resources

There are three ways to connect to library resources from off-campus.

  1. Go to OskiCatDatabases A-Z list, eJournals (UC eLinks) list, and other library websites to look up licensed (subscribed) resources. Links listed on these sites prompt users to login with CalNet.
  2. To access licensed (subscribed) library resources found via non-UCB sites such as Google, Google Scholar, email links, Twitter, etc, you can add the EZproxy bookmarklet to your browser's toolbar. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, click on the EZproxy bookmarklet to enable authentication.
  3. You can also download the campus VPN (Virtual Private Network) client to access licensed resources. 

Ask a Librarian 24/7 Chat

Library News (All)

The latest news from the UC Berkeley Libraries.

Loading ...

COVID-19 Trials

Below is the alphabetical list of free, temporary resources that have been activated by the UC Berkeley Library during the COVID-19 shelter in place order.  Many of these resources will require Proxy/VPN access and are not accessible by the public, and not all will be found in Oskicat or UC e-Links. If you are a member of the public, please see our guide on free public resources.  

Library Guides and Blogs with Trial Information


Al-Manhal Database

What is it: Access thousands of ebooks, journals, theses, and reports from publishers in the Middle East, Africa, and Asia.

How long do we have access: July 31, 2020

How do I access: https://libproxy.berkeley.edu/login?qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fplatform.almanhal.com

Additional information (if any):


Annual Reviews

What is it: Annual Reviews publishes dozens of journals in several subject areas that capture the current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported and what is controversial

How long do we have access: May 15

How do I access: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/az.php?q=annual+reviews

Additional information (if any): The Library had access to selected content previously. During the shelter in place order, Annual Reviews opened up all their content.

 

BabelScores

What is it: Online library of contemporary music scores and recording

How long do we have access: rolling 30 days.  

How do I access: https://www.babelscores.com/ Click main subscribers.  Search or browse the catalog to access the scores.

Additional information (if any):

 

Bloomsbury

What is it: Collection of ebooks covering the humanities and social sciences.  

How long do we have access: June 30

How to I access: https://www.bloomsbury.com/dr/digital-resources/products/ Links to resources appear on the left.  

Additional information: The Library had access to some of this content prior to the closure. 

 

British History Online

What is it: A digital collection of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a special focus on the period 1300 to 1800.

How long do we have access: Through July 31, 2020

How do I access: https://www.british-history.ac.uk/

Additional information (if any): See this blog post for additional information

 

Cairn

What is it: French Language Vendor that focuses on the social sciences.  Opened up over 10,000 ebook titles 

How long do we have access: June 1, 2020

How do I access: http://libproxy.berkeley.edu/login?qurl=http://www.cairn.info

Additional information (if any): The Library subscribed to some of these ebooks.  Through this trial we have access to all.

 

Cambridge University Press
What is it: Cambridge turned on access to their e-textbooks and reference collections
How long do we have access: June 29, 2020
Additional information if any: This complimentary access includes over 700 e-textbooks and the Cambridge Elements collection. We already had access to Cambridge Histories Online and Cambridge Companions Online reference collections.

 

Ebsco and Harvard University Press

What is it: Free unlimited user access to the Harvard Business Review E-Book Subscription Collection

How long do we have access: May 30, 2020

How do I access: https://libproxy.berkeley.edu/login?qurl=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=nlebk&authtype=ip&custid=s1226370

Additional information (if any): The Library subscribed to some of these ebooks. Through this trial we have access to all via ebsco.

 

Elsevier

What is it: Elsevier turned on a number of their ebooks and etextbooks in ScienceDirect eBooks.

How long do we have access: Dates vary by product.  

How do I access: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/az.php?q=sciencedirect%20ebooks

Additional information (if any): ScienceDirect Textbooks: The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers (including those journals customers who do not currently have books) for a period of 90 days. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed.  Access the title list here (expected to be updated by end of day Wednesday, March 18). VitalSource has been joined by publishers and partners to offer free access to ebooks to students whose classes have moved online from March 16 through May 25, 2020. Students will be able to access the expansive catalog of ebooks from participating publishers through the VitalSource Bookshelf app effective immediately. (See the announcement). ‘RedShelf Responds’, RedShelf is collaborating with its publishing partners to offer free access to ebooks for the remainder of the semester for currently enrolled students impacted by recent campus closings. Semester-calendar schools of authorized programs will be allowed free access to ebooks from March 16 through May 25, 2020. (See the announcement)

 

Gale

What is it: Free access to a number of Gale products, including some reference works.

How long do we have access: May 30, 2020

How do I access:  Go to https://www.gale.com/covid19support and fill out the webform with your berkeley.edu email address to access content.

Additional Information if any:

 

HathiTrust 

What is it: Digitized library collections from around the world.  We have access to Berkeley-owned books.  

How long do we have access: TBD

How do I access:  Instructions on how to access the full text of digitized books in HathiTrust can be found here

Additional Information if any: HathiTrust has opened its Emergency Temporary Access Service for UCB.  Instructions on how to access the full text of digitized books in HathiTrust can be found here

 

IEEE
What is it: IEEE turned on access to their eLearning Library
How long do we have access:  May 31, 2020
Additional information: Nearly 500 online course offerings cover a range of topics related to electronics, electrical engineering, and computing including Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain, 5G, Autonomous Vehicles, IoT, Cyber Security, and much more.  

 

JoVE

What is it: Collection of science education videos.

How long do we have access: June 30

How do I access: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/az.php?q=jove

Additional Information if any: UCB subscribed to several JoVE collections prior to COVID-19.  This expands the collection to include Science education videos.

 

MGG Online (Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart)

What is it: Encyclopedia of music containing over 19,000 articles covering every aspect of music 

How long do we have access: May 31, 2020

How do I access: https://libproxy.berkeley.edu/login?qurl=https://www.mgg-online.com/

Additional Information if any: 

 

MIT Press

What is it: Access to over 2,770 MIT Press ebooks.

How long do we have access: May 31, 2020

How do I access: https://libproxy.berkeley.edu/login?qurl=http://direct.mit.edu/books

Additional Information if any: The Library previously had access to some of these ebooks.  During this trial, we have access to all.

 

Ohio State University Press 

What is it: Ohio State University Press monographs and the linguistics textbook language files.  

How long do we have access:TBD

How do I access: OSU Libraries Institutional Repository, aka The Knowledge Bank https://kb.osu.edu/.

Additional Information if any:

 

OpenEdition

What is it: Nearly 10,000 ebooks in pdf and ePub.

How long do we have access: TBD

How do I access: https://www.openedition.org/

Additional Information if any: . UCB already had full-format access to the 175 freemium journals but the additional formats for the remaining ebooks is new access.

 

Project Muse

What is it: Several publishers in Project Muse are making their content open and free.  

How long do we have access: May 30, 2020

How do I access: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/az.php?q=project%20muse

Additional Information if any: Full list of publishers offering free access to content.

 

ProQuest History Vault

What is it: Over 20 additional History Vault collections.  

How long do we have access: May 30, 2020

How do I access: via any of the Library's already subscribed to History Vault databases.  Once in the database, choose from the list below the search box.

Additional Information if any: The Library already subscribed to 15 History Vault databases and PQ turned on access to all the ones we haven't yet subscribed to until May 30, 2020. 

 

ProQuest Recent Newspapers

What is it: Access to two recent newspapers: Barron's and the Guardian.  Previous 3 months are embargoed.  

How long do we have access: July 31, 2020

How do I access:

Barrons: https://libproxy.berkeley.edu/login?qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fsearch.proquest.com%2Fpdnbarrons%2Fadvanced%3Faccountid%3D14496

Guardian: https://libproxy.berkeley.edu/login?qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fsearch.proquest.com%2Fpdnguardian%2Fadvanced%3Faccountid%3D14496

Additional Information if any: Barron's coverage is 2008-most recent 3 months.  Guardian's coverage is 2010-most recent 3 months.

RetroNews (French)

What is it: Collection of 600 newspapers, journals, magazines and reviews, published in France between 1631 and 1950.

How long do we have access: Access began April 15 and lasts 60 days.

How do I access: https://libproxy.berkeley.edu/login?qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.retronews.fr%2Frn-api%2Fproxy-login%3Ftoken%3DMTU3OTY4Mzc5NXJuX2dyYW5kY29tcHRlX3NpbXBsZV9sb2dpbjQwNzY5NA%3D%3D

Additional information: 

 

RILM Music Encyclopedia

What is it: 57 full text music encyclopedias covering the subject from 1775 to present .

How long do we have access: May 31, 2020

How do I access: https://libproxy.berkeley.edu/login?qurl=https://rme.rilm.org/

Additional Information if any: 

 

Royal Society Publishing 

What is it: Science journal publisher making all COVID-19 related content open access

How long do we have access: TBD

How do I access: https://royalsocietypublishing.org/topic/special-collections/novel-coronavirus-outbreak

Additional Information if any: Special collection of resources https://t.co/V8bxO3M9tu?amp=1

 

Sage

What is it: A variety of videos and text related to research methods.  

How long do we have access: June, 15, 2020

How do I access: 

Additional Information if any:

 

Smithsonian

What is it:  2.8 million high-resolution two- and three-dimensional images from across the Smithsonian's collections

How long do we have access: TBD

How do I access: https://www.si.edu/openaccess

Additional Information if any: For the first time in its 174-year history, the Smithsonian has released 2.8 million high-resolution two- and three-dimensional images from across its collections onto an open access online platform for patrons to peruse and download free of charge. Featuring data and material from all 19 Smithsonian museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives and the National Zoo, the new digital depot encourages the public to not just view its contents, but use, reuse and transform them into just about anything they choose..."

Source: Katherine J.  Wu, Smithsonian Magazine, February 25, 2020, https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/smithsonian-releases-28-million-ima...

 

University of California Press

What is it: Free access to UC Press Journals

How long do we have access: June 30, 2020

How do I access: all UC press online journals content

Additional Information if any: See UC Press’s full list of journals.

 

Wiley

What is it: Wiley has made a number of resources available.  

How long do we have access: May 30, 2020

How do I access:

  • Free online access to a collection of more than 5,000 relevant journal articles, book chapters and entries in our major reference works  

  • Access to a free, real-time feed of the latest research and news on COVID-19, powered by Scitrus, Atypon's AI-driven personalized discovery application.  

  • Wiley's partners Cochrane Library have created two free Special Collections on COVID 19 

  • Free resources from Wiley for those interested in exploring historical perspectives on epidemics, methods used to control their spread, and associated health policies, see: Europe, 1817 or UK, 1854 or Hastings, 1873 or Sydney, 1895 

Additional Information if any:


World Scientific
What is it: Access to all of their journals
How long do we have access: June 30, 2020
How do I access: https://libproxy.berkeley.edu/login?qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.worldscientific.com%2Fpage%2Fwsjournals
Additional information: UCB already subscribes to many World Scientific journals. This expands our access to include all of their journals.