Skip to main content

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library Visual Tour: Home

Visual Tour

Welcome to the Marian Koshland Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library!

Bioscience Library Floor Plan

To take a visual tour of the library, scroll down or choose from one of the following links:

Introduction

Circulation Desk

Reference Area

Research Computers

New Books and Journals Area

Group Study Rooms and Mediascape Carrel

Folios, Cookbooks, Unbound Journals

Journal Covers

Scanning and Printing Room

Study Areas

Atrium

Compact Shelving

 

Introduction

Entrance to Bioscience LibraryThis is the entrance to the Marian Koshland Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library located in the Valley Life Sciences Building (VLSB). Pictured above is our lobby featuring a genuine, 65 million year-old Triceratops skull and a cast of a baby Triceratops skull.

We are one of the largest subject specialty libraries on the Berkeley campus with over 600,000 volumes. Our major collection areas are:

  • Molecular and Cell Biology, biochemistry, immunology, neurobiology, developmental biology, and genetics;
  • Integrative Biology, anatomy, physiology, botany, zoology, paleontology, ecology, and human biodynamics;
  • Plant and Microbial Biology, cell biology, genetics, biochemistry, molecular biology, and interactions of plants and microbes;
  • Environmental Science, Policy and Management (ESPM), forestry, entomology, soil science, plant pathology, conservation of natural resources, ecology, pest management, and agriculture;
  • Nutritional Science and Toxicology, nutrition, food science, food policy, and molecular toxicology;
  • Agricultural and Resource Economics, Agricultural and environmental economics and policy.
  • Public Health

Circulation Desk

Borrow or return books, find course reserves, pick up holds, or place searches on missing materials. Your CalNet ID is your library card. Our student circulation staff can help you with most non-research questions.

Please visit our Borrow page for borrowing policies and other circulation information.

Bioscience Library Circulation Desk

Reference Area

The reference area is to your left as you walk into the library. It includes the Reference Desk and the Reference Collection.

The Reference Desk: Come to the reference desk to ask questions about how to find books and journal articles, and get help searching appropriate databases. Reference librarians can also help you get started on a research project.

The Reference Collection, located behind the Reference Desk, includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and other reference sources.

Reference Area

Research Computers

The library has over 40 PCs that can be used with your CalNet login. These computers are loaded with software including the Adobe and Microsoft suites and ArcGIS.

There are also nine internet-only workstations in front of the reference desk on the east wall that are available without a CalNet login. Research access on these computers allows you to use databases, ebooks, and ejournals. Downloading to a USB drive is free. 

All computers are networked to a printing station, and color and black and white printing is available using a Cal 1 Card or Guest Card. 

Research Computers

New Book and Journal Area

New books and journal issues are put here on display each Monday. New books and journals are non-circulating during the week when they are on display. You may place a hold on a book by taking it to the circulation desk.

In addition to print journal subscriptions, there are over 10,000 journal subscriptions available electronically.

New Books and Journals

Group Study Rooms and Mediascape Carrel

There are two group study rooms on the lower mezzanine. There are also three group study areas on the main floor in the corner by the new books and journals area. One of these study areas is a mediascape carrel that has a monitor that can be connected to a laptop. There are no advanced signups for these group study spaces, but groups of 4 or more have priority.

mediascape carrel

Folios, Cookbooks, Unbound Journals

The folios (oversized books) and the cookbook collection are on the shelves behind the research computers. Beyond the cookbooks are the Soil Surveys (focused on California and other western states), the Regnum Vegetabile series, the unbound journals, and the print indexes.

Unbound journals are kept in alphabetical order usually for about six months to a year. Once bound, journals are shelved by call number in the stacks. The call number is indicated on each issue of the current journals.

Folios and Cookbooks

Journal Covers

Reproductions of journal covers that depict articles published by Berkeley researchers are displayed in several locations in the library. There are also prints of photographs taken by Mark Moffett, and a small collection of Irving Geis prints.

Journal Covers

Scanning and Printing Room

In the printing and scanning room there is a color printer, a black and white printer, and several scanners. Scanning to a USB drive or to email is free of charge. For more information, please see Printing and Scanning in the Libraries.

Scanning and Printing Room

Study Areas

There are many pleasant places to study in the library. Please see information on Wi-Fi in Libraries.

Study Areas

Atrium

Atrium

The Atrium is an open space at the back of the library. It leads to the stairs and mezzanines, where call numbers from RC601 through Z are shelved. The two catwalks connect the mezzanines and the elevator. There are sorting areas next to the elevator on each floor

 

Compact Shelving

At the back of the library on the main floor are several aisles of compact shelving. Please check to make sure that the aisles are clear before moving the stacks. Behind the compact shelving are several quiet study carrels.

Compact Shelving

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.