Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Services and Research Help
The reference services for the Marian Koshland Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library are mainly being offered online. In-person reference appointments may be available upon request by emailing a librarian.
Contact a Librarian:
Use email@example.com for general questions, special collections inquiries, or if you are not sure which librarian is best suited to help you.
Otherwise, email one of us directly, or use our 'schedule a meeting' links below to request a reference appointment.
- Becky Miller (firstname.lastname@example.org; schedule an online meeting), Librarian for Rausser College of Natural Resources
- Elliott Smith (email@example.com; schedule an online meeting), Librarian for Molecular & Cell Biology, Integrative Biology
- Michael Sholinbeck (firstname.lastname@example.org; schedule an online meeting, or email for more options). Librarian for Public Health, Optometry & Health Sciences, Vision Science. Michael also has office hours at the SPH DREAM Office: Tues 4:00-5:30PM; Thurs 1:30-3PM; Zoom option also available; email for link.
Online guides and tutorials:
Connecting from off campus:
To access UC Berkeley Library e-journals, e-books, databases, and other subscription resources from off-campus or on wifi networks other than eduroam, UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff can use the following:
Library proxy server
Enables off-campus access to UC Berkeley Library e-journals and e-books with one click.
VPN (Virtual Private Network)
Instructions for installing and using the VPN (Virtual Private Network).
Be sure to connect using the Library Access and Full Tunnel gateway option.
Finding full text and journals:
- Use Journal Search to find online or print access to a particular journal.
- To find full text when searching in a database, look for links:
- To find full text from a citation, paste the citation into the search box in UC Library Search.
Can't find the full text?: If a desired article, book, chapter, etc. is not available as a full-text version online, Berkeley students, faculty, and staff can place an interlibrary borrowing request:
Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) enables UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff (including retired faculty and staff) to borrow materials not available through the UC Berkeley Library.
If there's a book, journal, or database you think the library should acquire, you can reach out directly to a librarian, or use this form:
Ask a Librarian 24/7 Chat