The databases below can help you find numeric data to create and test your model. Assistance with finding data and analysis can be found via 24/7 chat. Assistance with data analysis for graduate students and faculty can be found in the D-Lab.
ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in countries across the world. ICPSR maintains a data archive of on topics in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
Direct download access to data sets requires the creation of a personal account. In addition, analysis of ICPSR data sets requires the use of specialized software. For more information on this process, please consult the ICPSR Get Help page or schedule an appointment with the Library Data Lab.
US and international polling and public opinion survey data.
Contains domestic and international survey data. The Center's Public Opinion Location Library (iPOLL) gives online access to a database including poll questions asked in US from 1936 to present.
An easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data may be downloaded to csv.
PolicyMap is an easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data about demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, income, jobs and economy, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.
Access to business packages within this resource have been discontinued effective 6/30/24 due to library budget cuts." A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to eart@library.berkeley.edu a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Online collection of over 1000 computer manuals published by O'Reilly. Includes books on programming languages like python, ruby, R, etc.
Includes content from O'Reilly, Addison-Wesley, HarperCollins, Manning, New Riders, Pearson, Prentice Hall, and other technical and business publishers. Includes over 30,000 hours of instructional video content.
Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to comparative politics, developing nations, history and theory of political science, political psychology, political economy, public administration, and public policy. [1975 - present]
Data on political risk and macroeconomics at a country level.
Includes international country risk group (ICRG) political risk data for 140 countries, monthly from 1980, as well as macroeconomic data and Political Risk Services (PRS) forecasting. The ICRG risk data include measures of bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, and other metrics. The political risk forecasting section (PRS) provides country ratings on debt, investment risk, exchange controls, tariff barriers, trade restrictions, domestic economic problems and other risk factors. Information on the methodology used for calculating ratings and forecasts is available.
SAGE Research Methods is the essential online resource for anyone doing research or learning how to do research. With more than 800 books, reference works, and journal articles from SAGE’s world-renowned research methods list, SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings.
SAGE Research Methods’ coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities.
Further Data Sources
The Library has created several other guides for numeric data resources. Here are a few of them.
