Library Guides: Political Science Guide by Subfield: International Relations

Article Databases for International Relations

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to comparative politics, developing nations, history and theory of political science, political psychology, political economy, public administration, and public policy. [1975 - present]
International in scope.
PAIS International
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
EconLit
Indexing and abstracting for international economic journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. [1969 - present]
The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). Most citations include a searchable abstract.
World Development Indicators (WDI)
An extensive collection of data about global development
Provides time series development indicators data (1960-present) for 210 countries. Includes tables for population, labor and employment, education, health, energy, urbanization, national accounts, purchasing power, trade, government finance, monetary, balance of payments, external debt, investment risk, taxes, prices and exchange rates, transport and communication, and information and technology. To access, click "Online Tables" under Formats Available.
AccessUN: The Readex Index to United Nations Documents
Access to this resource was discontinued effective 02/29/24 due to library budget cuts. (Try instead: UN Digital Library)
Indexes United Nations (UN) documents and publications including Official Records, UN journals, reports, treaties, conferences, draft resolutions, declarations, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and UN Treaty Series. Contains the full text of several thousand UN documents.
PRS Group Country Data
Data on political risk and macroeconomics at a country level.
Includes international country risk group (ICRG) political risk data for 140 countries, monthly from 1980, as well as macroeconomic data and Political Risk Services (PRS) forecasting. The ICRG risk data include measures of bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, and other metrics. The political risk forecasting section (PRS) provides country ratings on debt, investment risk, exchange controls, tariff barriers, trade restrictions, domestic economic problems and other risk factors. Information on the methodology used for calculating ratings and forecasts is available.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Indexes declassified documents spanning fifty years of US national security policy. [1945 - present]
Also includes a chronology, glossary of names, events, special terms, and a bibliography for each collection developed around a specific event, controversy, or policy decision.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
A full-text collection of declassified U. S. government documents.
Documents declassified via the Freedom of Information Act and regular declassification requests, make broad-based and highly targeted investigation of government documents possible. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered. Includes correspondence and memoranda, minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies, national security policy statements and intelligence reports.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Access to this resource has been discontinued effective 06/30/24 due to library budget cuts. Please use Worldwide Political Science Abstracts or PAIS International as alternative resources. Indexes policy briefs, working papers, maps, course packs, journals, books, videos, internet sources, and conference proceedings from research institutes worldwide related to international affairs theory, analysis, and advocacy. [1991 - present]
Also includes links to international affairs Internet sources.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Access to this resource has been discontinued effective 6/30/24 due to library budget cuts.

Index of publications in the fields of economics, political science, sociology and anthropology from over 100 countries. [1981 - present]
More than 70 languages are represented, with 30% percent of records published in languages other than English.

Major Journals in International Relations

American Journal of International Law : 1907 - present

Current History : 1941 - present

Foreign Affairs : 1922 - present

Foreign Policy : 1970 - present

Human Rights Quarterly : 1981 - present

International Interactions : 1974 - present

International Organization : 1947 - present

International Security : 1976 - present

International Studies Quarterly : 1967 - present

Journal of Common Market Studies : 1962 - present

Journal of Conflict Resolution : 1957 - present

Orbis : 1957 - present

Washington Quarterly : 1978 - present

Geographic Area Guides

The following are additional library guides on different geographic areas of the world. Each guide also provides the contact information for the library specialist for that area.

African Studies
by Michele McKenzie Last Updated Mar 3, 2025 362 views this year
Canadian Studies
by Claude Potts Last Updated Mar 7, 2025 172 views this year
Dutch Studies
by Jeremy Ott Last Updated Dec 31, 2024 618 views this year
FRENCH STUDIES
by Claude Potts Last Updated Mar 7, 2025 339 views this year
ITALIAN STUDIES
by Claude Potts Last Updated Mar 7, 2025 355 views this year
Japanese Studies
by Toshie Marra Last Updated Feb 19, 2025 1169 views this year
Korean Studies
by Jaeyong Chang Last Updated Jun 26, 2019 355 views this year
Scandinavian
by Jeremy Ott Last Updated May 15, 2024 275 views this year
Slavic & East European Studies
by Liladhar R. Pendse Last Updated Mar 3, 2025 434 views this year
Jeffrey Alan Hadler
by Virginia Shih Last Updated Jul 27, 2021 41 views this year
SPANISH and PORTUGUESE
by Claude Potts Last Updated Mar 7, 2025 368 views this year

Related Guides

U.S. Foreign Relations and the Department of State
by Jesse Silva Last Updated Mar 3, 2025 289 views this year
United Nations
by Jim Church Last Updated Apr 30, 2024 748 views this year
Human Rights Resources
by Sarah Rosenkrantz Last Updated Jan 6, 2025 1162 views this year

Secondary menu

Political Science Guide by Subfield: International Relations

Article Databases for International Relations

Major Journals in International Relations

Geographic Area Guides

Related Guides