Skip to main content

About the Music Library & Collections: Home

Hargrove Music Library & Collections

Founded in 1947 as a branch of the University Library, the Music Library was located on the second floor of Morrison Hall from 1957 until July 6, 2004, when the Jean Gray Hargrove Music Library opened to the public. Its collections today contain some 200,000 volumes of books and printed music, 50,000 sound and video recordings, and 30,000 microforms in addition to extensive special holdings of manuscripts, rare materials, and archives. The collection serves the diverse teaching and research needs of the UC Berkeley Department of Music, which offers a general undergraduate major and graduate programs in musicology, ethnomusicology, and composition, as well as embracing a variety of performance activities. 

Morrison Hall, UC Berkeley       Hargrove Music Library, UC Berkeley
Morrison Hall, 2003      Hargrove Music Library, 2004


The 44th California International Antiquarian Book Fair, which took place in San Francisco on February 11-13, 2011, had the theme of music and featured a special exhibit of rare musical books and manuscripts from the Jean Gray Hargrove Music Library of the University of California, Berkeley. Images from the exhibit (Treasures tab above) help illustrate the wealth of special materials available. For further information on Music Library collections please consult the select bibliography concerning UCB Music Library collections and special holdings (Bibliography tab above), as well as the informal discussion of the first fifty years of collection building at the Berkeley Music Library, 1947-1997 (History tab above)

Submit a Purchase Recommendation.

Use

The majority of materials in the Hargrove Music Library—with the notable exception of sound and video recordings, periodicals, microforms, and special collections—circulate for use outside the library. Borrowing materials requires a current UC Berkeley Library card. For UCB students a valid UCB photo ID acts as a library card. Other borrowers must have a current library card issued by the Privileges Desk at Doe Library. Visitors are welcome to use collections on site.

The catalog of the Music Library's holdings, excluding certain special collections, can be consulted online using either Melvyl, the union catalog of University of California Libraries, or UC Berkeley's local catalog, OskiCat. Archival Finding Aids provide greater description of the Music Library's more than 85 archival collections focusing on the history of music in the San Francisco Bay Area. Manuscript holdings are partially described in RISM A/II and in two printed catalogs available in the Reference Room.

Catalog of pre-1900 vocal manuscripts in the Music Library, University of California at Berkeley / John A. Emerson. Berkeley : University of California Press, c1988.  ML136.B47 E63 1988

Thematic catalog of a manuscript collection of eighteenth-century Italian instrumental music in the University of California, Berkeley, Music Library / by Vincent Duckles and Minnie Elmer, with the assistance of Pierluigi Petrobelli ; foreword by David D. Boyden. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1963. ML136.C3 B4D8

Let Us Know!

Thought you would find something on this page and it turns out it wasn't here?  Let us know what you expected to find but didn't!  

Locations

Material in open stacks (upper and lower floors) is arranged according to the Library of Congress classification. Detailed lists of the Music classifications, summary tables  for M, ML and MT, are posted at the ends of bookstacks throughout the building. The location of materials within the building is indicated on individual floor plans of the ground level, entry (first) level, and upper (second) levels. Special materials are obtained at the locations indicated in the following table.

 

For... ...Go To Availability
Archives Reference Desk allow two workdays
M-F, 9am - 4:45pm
restricted use
Manuscripts Reference Desk M-F, 9am - 4:45pm
restricted use
Case X Circulation Desk M-F, 9am - 4:45pm
restricted use
Case M/Mb Circulation Desk restricted use
Multiple Copies Circulation Desk Music Library hours
NRLF OskiCat Catalog allow two workdays
Reserves Circulation Desk Music Library hours
Sather Tower Circulation Desk allow two workdays
Sound/Video Recordings Circulation Desk Music Library hours
Sound/Video Equipment Listening Room,
Entry Level
Music Library hours
Unbound Periodicals Display Shelves,
Upper Level
Music Library hours

Borrowing Periods for Music Materials

General borrowing information is found at the Doe Library site on Using the Libraries | Borrow. Borrowiing periods for music materials are listed below.

Item Loan Period
Faculty Graduate Students Undergraduates, Staff /
Other Borrowing Cards
Reference Card Patrons
Books/Scores Six Months Three Months One Month Library Use Only
Journals/Serials Library Use Only Library Use Only Library Use Only Library Use Only
CD Sound Recordings / Audio Cassettes One Month One Week Library Use Only Library Use Only
LPs / Vinyl One Week One Week Library Use Only Library Use Only
CD ROMs One Week One Week One Week Library Use Only
Video Discs / Video Tapes Two Days Two Days Library Use Only Library Use Only
Multiple Copies Six Months Three Months One Month Library Use Only
Microforms Library Use Only Library Use Only Library Use Only Library Use Only
Case X/Case M Library Use Only Library Use Only Library Use Only Library Use Only
Reserves
(Books/Scores)
2 Hours 2 Hours 2 Hours Library Use Only
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.