Adamson, Danette Cook and Mimi Tashiro. "Servants, Scholars, and Sleuths: Early Leaders in California Music Librarianship," Notes: Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association 48/3 (March 1992): 806-35. Includes a decription of accomplishments and contributions of Vincent Duckles at the Berkeley Music Library.
Basart, Ann. "Criteria for Weeding Books in a University Music Library," Notes: Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association 36/4 (June 1980): 819-36. Bibliography and report on a study done at the UCB Music Library which indicated that subject area and past circulation activity of an item are most important in forecasting its future use.
Bates, Jonathan and Stewart McCoy. "Mercury's Tetrachord," Early Music 10/2 (April 1982): 213-15. Asserts that a diagram in the 14th-c. Berkeley manuscript MS 774, which describes the tetrachord of Mercury, was typical of early music theory.
Beeks, Graydon. "Alessandro Scarlatti's Lisbon 'Miserere': A Question of Authenticity," Handel-Jahrbuch 46 (2000): 179-190. On a MS bound with printed items in the Music Library collection, M2038.A66 Case X.
Blazekovic, Zdravko. "Elementi za zivotopis Josipa Mihovila Stratica Radovi Zavoda za Povijesne," Znanosti u Zadru 32 (1990): 109-38. Biography and list of about 300 compositions by Giuseppe Michele Stratico (1728-c1783), most of which are presently held by the UCB Music Library.
Charter, Vernon John. Violin Sonatas of Domenico Dall'Oglio. MM thesis, Musicology, U. of Alberta, 1988. Discusses 22 violin sonatas contained in the MS collection of 18th-c. Italian string music at the UCB Music Library.
Curtis, Alan. "Musique classique française à Berkeley," Revue de musicologie 56 (1970): 123-64. Inventory and discussion of an 11-volume manuscript collection copied by De La Barre, including the Parville Manuscript and the Menetou Manuscript.
Crocker, Richard Lincoln. "A New Source for Medieval Music Theory," Acta Musicologica 39/34 (July-December 1967): 161-71. The music library of the U. of California at Berkeley has acquired a MS containing a 14th-c. compilation of theory treatises dealing with the hexachord, tones, discant, mensuration, conjuncta, and other topics. The MS was formerly in the Phillipps Collection. It includes drawings of musical instruments, and two compositions: "Souviengne vous destrine" (roudeau a 3) and "En la maison Dedalus" (circular canonic ballade).
Duckles, Vincent, Minnie Elmer and Pierluigi Petrobelli. Thematic Catalog of a Manuscript of Eighteenth-century Italian Instrumental Music in the University of California, Berkeley, Music Library, (Berkeley and Los Angeles: U. of California, 1963)
Duckles, Vincent. "The University of California (Berkeley) Music Library." Notes: Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association 36/1 (September 1979): 7-22. Survey of the first thirty years of Duckles' tenure at Berkeley.
Duggan, Mary Kay. Early Music Printing in the Music Library: An Exhibition in Honor of the 12th Congress of the International Musicological Society. Catalog of the Exhibition, (Berkeley: The General Library, 1977). Annotated examples from the UCB Music Library illustrate the history of music printing from the 15th to the 18th c. through the processes of woodcut, metal type in double and single impression, and engravings.
Ellsworth, Oliver Bryant. The Berkeley Manuscript: University of California Music Library, MS 744, Greek and Latin Music Theory, vol. 2, (Lincoln: Univ. of Nebraska, 1984). Critical edition of the Berkeley manuscript (US-BE MS 744; olim Philipps 4450). The manuscript, which was completed in Paris in 1375, combines several music treatises, and includes discussions of counterpoint, notation, tuning, chant, and speculative matters, as well as thorough coverage of the doctrine of the coniuncta.
REVIEWS: Bower, Calvin M. Journal of Music Theory 31/2 (Fall 1987) 318-24; Curtis, Gareth. Early Music 13/2 (May 1985) 283-84; Harran, Don. Notes: Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association 44/1 (September 1987) 48-50; Meyer, Christian. Revue de musicologie 73/1 (1987) 125-26; and Staehlin, Martin. Musikforschung 40/2 (1987) 187.
Elswick, Beth Loeber. The Organ Works of Catherine Urner, (DMA doc.: U. of Missouri, Kansas City, 1998). The prodigious compositional work of Catherine Urner lies in storage in the archives of the University of California, Berkeley. Largely unpublished and unperformed, these MSS include solo vocal and choral works, instrumental pieces, and keyboard works. The collection contains biographical materials, press clippings, her original research into Native American song, poetry, and personal correspondence. Provides a biography of Urner and renders a historical perspective of her relationship with the French composer Charles Koechlin.
Emerson, John. Catalog of Pre-1900 Vocal Manuscripts in the Music Library, University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley: U. of California, 1988. REVIEWS: Gollner, Marie Louise. Notes: Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association 50/2 (December 1993) 588-589; Neighbour, Oliver Wray. Music & letters 70/3 (August 1989): 395-96.
Emerson, John and S.M. Fry, Catalog of the Opera Collections in the Music Libraries—University of California, Berkeley, and University of California, Los Angeles, (Boston: G.K. Hall, 1983).
Emerson, John. "Madame Inez Fabbri, Prima Donna Assoluta, and the Performance of Opera in San Francisco During the 1870s," Music in Performance and Society: Essays in Honor of Roland Jackson, (Warren, MI: Harmonie Park, 1997), 325-354. Recounts the career of the opera diva Madame Inez Fabbri (b. Vienna, 1831-d. San Francisco, 1909) based on memorabilia acquired by the Music Library, University of California at Berkeley.
Emerson, John, ed. "Hugo Mansfeldt Collection at the University of California, Berkeley, Music Library." Inter-American Music Review 7/2 (Spring-Summer 1986): 85-87. Describes the newly-acquired Mansfeldt collection of biographical materials, concert programs, reviews of performances, musical compositions, and pedagogical publications.
Gustafson, Bruce. "A Performer's Guide to the Music of Louis Couperin," Diapason 66/7 (June 1975): 7-8. Compares modern editions of the harpsichord works of Louis Couperin (ca. 1626-61), and describes the two most important manuscripts: "Bauyn" (Bibliotheque nationale) and "Parville" (UCB Music Library: MS 778).
Heartz, Daniel. "Ein Fund in Berkeleys Einstein-Nachlass." Mozart-Jahrbuch (1968-70): 257-64. Several bars of music for string quartet survive as a photograph in the collection of Alfred Einstein's papers in the UCB Music Library. Although the fragment bears corrections in Mozart's hand, the main hand is that of his student Thomas Attwood.
Heartz, Daniel. "Errant Thoughts on Some Rare Items in the Jean Gray Hargrove Music Library," Notes 62, 1 (September 2005): 11-17.
Higbee, Dale. "Review of a Thematic Catalog of a Manuscript of Eighteenth-century Italian Instrumental Music in the University of California, Berkeley, Music Library," American Recorder 11/3 (Summer 1970): 105.
Johansson, Cari. "From Pergolesi to Gallo by the Numericode System," Svensk Tidskrift for Musikforskning 57/2 (1975): 67-68. Describes a new thematic catalogue of Pergolesi based on Bengtsson's Numericode system. Some of the sonatas have previously been found (by C. Cudworth in 1965) to be ascribed to Gallo in manuscripts at Berkeley.
Johnson, Douglas. "Beethoven's Sketches for the Scherzo of the Quartet op. 18, no. 6," Journal of the American Musicological Society 13/3 (Fall 1970): 385-404. Sketches for the scherzo occur on both sides of a folio in the UCB Music Library, and show Beethoven's attempts to achieve a final draft.
Katz, Daniel Seth, The Earliest Sources for the Libellus cantus mensurabilis secundum Johannem de Muris, (PhD diss.: Duke U., 1989). The dating, provenance, music, and filiation of three of the earliest sources of Jehan des Murs's notation treatise, Libellus cantus mensurabilis, all from the late 14th c., are considered: UCB MS 744; I-Rvat Reginensis Latinus 1146, and the missing Roquefort Codex. Transcriptions of a song and an excerpt from the Libellus made by Fetis before the Roquefort Codex disappeared show that this manuscript was related to Berkeley 744. A comparison of the Berkeley manuscript and Fetis's transcriptions reveals the only known Italian contrafactum of a French ars nova composition.
Mann, Francis Fitch. Michele Stratico: The Opus 1, Sei Sonate, and an Edition of Sonatas No. 2 and No. 6, (DMA doc., Music: U. of Nebraska, 1992). Stratico (1728-after 1782) was almost unknown until 1958-61 when the University of California at Berkeley acquired a collection that included over 280 of his MSS and a copy of his six violin sonatas, op. 1. His life and works are investigated, focusing on the op. 1 sonatas, the only works published (ca. 1763) during Stratico's lifetime and printed by Walcker in London. Five of these sonatas survive in MS versions as well. These two sources provide an opportunity to compare MSS, probably intended for members of the Tartini school, with printed versions more thoroughly edited for publication, especially with regard to ornamentation.
Móricz, Klára. "Sealed Documents and Open Lives: Ernest Bloch's Private Correspondence," Notes 62, 1 (September 2005): 74-86.
Moroney, Davitt. "The Borel Manuscript: A New Source of Seventeenth-Century French Harpsichord Music at Berkeley," Notes 62, 1 (September 2005): 18-47.
Orledge, Robert. "Charles Koechlin, Catherine Urner, and the Shatto-Urner Manuscript Collection at the University of California, Berkeley," Notes 62, 1 (September 2005): 48-73.
Pagano, Roberto. "Libretti Siciliani a Berkeley," Ceciliana, per Nino Pirrotta (Palermo: Flaccovio, 1994), 229-81. Annotated list of the UCB Music Library collection of librettos of stage works presented in Sicily in the 17th through the 19th c.
Page, Christopher. "Fourteenth-century Instruments and Tunings: A Treatise by Jean Vaillaut?" Galpin Society Journal 33 (March 1980): 17-35. MS 744 of the UCB Music Library, provides virtually the only evidence for the tuning of stringed instruments during the 14th c. An acrostic at the head of the treatise spells IOHHAN VAIANT, suggesting that the composer Jean Vaillant (d. probably 1361) was the author.
Page, Christopher. “French Lute Tablature in the 14th century? Early Music 8/4 (October 1980): 488-91. A manuscript (Berkeley, University of California MS 774), which probably dates from the middle of the 14th c., includes on p. 51 a small diagram resembling French lute tablature.
Prevost, Paul. Le prelude non mesure pour clavecin: France 1650-1700. Collection d'etudes musicologiques, vol. 75, (Baden-Baden: Koerner, 1987). A facsimile-illustrated study of the unmeasured prelude including works by Nicolas Lebegue, 'Monsieur de la Barre', the copyist of the Parville Manuscript at the University of California, Berkeley, music library [US-BE 778].
Pruett, James W. "Notes for Notes." Notes: Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association 33/4 (June 1977): 814-16. Report on UCB Music Library acquisitions.
Roberts, John H. , "The Music Library, University of California, Berkeley." The Library Quarterly 64/1 (January 1994): 73-84. Describes the collections housed at the University of California at Berkeley Music Library, which emphasize opera. Specific collections include the Olschki Collection of early Italian music theory, the Tartini Collection of 18th-c. Italian instrumental music, and those of Harris D.H. Connick, Sigmund Romberg, Ernest Bloch, and Alfred Cortot. The Cortot collection contains several hundred early French opera librettos, the Taddei Collection, and librettos published in Sicily from 1650-1900. There are 85 archival collections that focus on the music of the Bay area, including the works of Bloch, Charles Koechlin, and Arthur Bliss, and the papers of David Boyden, Manfred Bukofzer, Alfred Einstein, and Charles Seeger.
Schmidt, Carl B. "Berkeley MS 454: Philidor L'Aine's Enigma Variations," The Journal of Musicology, 10/3 (summer 1992): 362-404. MS 454, the isolated third volume of Vieux Ballets du Roy faits par Mr de Lully, is from the collection of Francois-Andre Danican Philidor (Philidor l'aine). It contains many more variant readings of Lully's ballets de cour than other extant Philidor or Henry Foucault sources, some of which are enigmatically at stylistic odds with Lully's oeuvre. The MS's provenance, dating, and relationship to other Philidor MSS are discussed, and its contents are inventoried and compared to Philidor's summary of the seven volumes of Vieux Ballets du Roy par Mr de Lully.
Seebass, Tilman. “The Illustration of Music Theory in the Late Middle Ages: Some Thoughts on Its Principles and a Few Examples,” Music Theory and its Sources: Antiquity and the Middle Ages, (Notre Dame: U. of Notre Dame), 197-234. Examines cultural and codicological mechanisms leading to the specific iconography of illustrations of music theory, such as the relationship between illustrator and (a) original text, (b) contemporary theory, (c) musical practice, and (d) pictorial models from elsewhere. Connections are established between geometrical, alphabetical, and figurative drawings, elaborating on the importance of the concept of the figura. Examples are taken from illustrations of the Epistle to Dardanus of Pseudo-Jerome and treatises by Boethius, Bartholomaeus Anglicus, and the author of the fourth text in the Berkeley Manuscript (US-BE, Music Library MS 744).
Sills, David L. “Ernest Bloch Manuscripts at the University of California,” Notes: Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association 47/1 (September 1985): 7-21. A catalogue of the Bloch archive at the University of California, Berkeley—38 autograph scores, 16 orchestral drafts, two sets of sketches and drafts, and other materials.
Sirch, Licia and Alberto Zanotelli, “La musica strumentale da camera di Vittorio Trento,” Rassegna veneta di studi musicali 13-14 (1997-1998): 253-298. Provides a brief biography of Trento (b. between 1761 and 1764, d.1833) and analyzes two sets of chamber music that are preserved in MS in the Music Library of the University of California at Berkeley. One is the entitled “Sei duetti” and is for two violins (UCB MS It.959); the other, “Sei quartetti”, is for strings (UCB MS It.960). Comparisons with music by Ferdinando Bertoni and a list of Trento's instrumental works, excluding dance music, are included.
Strava, Robert Edward. A Comprehensive Performance Project in Violin Literature and an Essay on the Concerto in C major for Violin and Strings (MS It. 315, University of California at Berkeley), (DMA diss.: U. of Iowa, 1977).
Summers, William John. "Recently Recovered Manuscript Sources of Sacred Polyphonic Music from Spanish California," Revista de musicologia, 16/5 (1993): 2842-2855. A MS brought to the U.S. from Mallorca by Juan Bautista Sancho in 1804 sheds some light on the music of the Spanish colonial period. The original MS is lost, but photocopies of it are preserved in the Music Library of the University of California at Berkeley.
Tuksar, Stanislav. "Giuseppe Tartini i Josip Mihovil Stratico," Muzikoloski zbornik 28 (1992): 59-62. Giuseppe Michele Stratico was a pupil of Tartini. The UCB Music Library houses most of his 300 - 350 compositions, including violin concertos, symphonies, and chamber music, that are not held by Italian libraries.