Skip to main content

Bioscience Journal Abbreviations: Abbreviations A - B

Title abbreviations for journals in the areas of biology and chemistry.

Other journal title abbreviation lists

For other journal title abbreviation lists, see:

Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI) search tool

National Library of Medicine Catalog: Journals referenced in the NCBI Databases

Web of Science journal titles (searchable using the asterik wildcard).

Note: One word titles are not abbreviated. Publication locations are included if journals of the same name are published in more than one city.

Bioscience journal title abbreviations A

Journal title Journal title abbreviation
Accounts of Chemical Research Acc. Chem. Res.
ACI Materials Journal ACI Mater. J.
ACS Symposium Series ACS Symp. Ser.
Acta Biochimica Polonica Acta Biochim. Pol.
Acta Chemica Scandinavica Acta Chem. Scand.
Acta Chimica Hungarica Acta Chim. Hung.
Acta Chimica Slovenica Acta Chim. Slov.
Acta Crystallographica, Section A: Foundations of Crystallography Acta Crystallogr., Sect. A: Found. Crystallogr.
Acta Crystallographica, Section B: Structural Science Acta Crystallogr., Sect. B: Struct. Sci.
Acta Crystallographica, Section C: Crystal Structure Communications Acta Crystallogr., Sect. C: Cryst. Struct. Commun.
Acta Crystallographica, Section D: Biological Crystallography Acta Crystallogr., Sect. D: Biol. Crystallogr.
Acta Crystallographica, Section E: Structure Reports Online Acta Crystallogr., Sect. E: Struct. Rep. Online
Acta Endocrinologica Acta Endocrinol.
Acta Hydrochimica et Hydrobiologica Acta Hydrochim. Hydrobiol.
Acta Materialia Acta Mater.
Acta Metallurgica et Materialia Acta Metall. Mater.
Acta Pharmaceutica (Zagreb, Croatia) Acta Pharm. (Zagreb, Croatia)
Acta Pharmacologica Sinica Acta Pharmacol. Sin.
Acta Physica Polonica, A Acta Phys. Pol., A
Acta Physica Polonica, B Acta Phys. Pol., B
Acta Physiologica Scandinavica Acta Physiol. Scand.
Acta Polymerica Acta Polym.
Adsorption Adsorption
Adsorption Science & Technology Adsorpt. Sci. Technol.
Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews Adv. Drug Delivery Rev.
Advanced Functional Materials Adv. Funct. Mater.
Advanced Materials (Weinheim, Germany) Adv. Mater. (Weinheim, Ger.)
Advanced Synthesis & Catalysis Adv. Synth. Catal.
Advances in Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics Adv. At., Mol., Opt. Phys.
Advances in Behavioral Biology Adv. Behav. Biol.
Advances in Carbohydrate Chemistry and Biochemistry Adv. Carbohydr. Chem. Biochem.
Advances in Catalysis Adv. Catal.
Advances in Chemical Physics Adv. Chem. Phys.
Advances in Chromatography (New York) Adv. Chromatogr. (N.Y.)
Advances in Colloid and Interface Science Adv. Colloid Interface Sci.
Advances in Cryogenic Engineering Adv. Cryog. Eng.
Advances in Electrochemical Science and Engineering Adv. Electrochem. Sci. Eng.
Advances in Enzymology and Related Areas of Molecular Biology Adv. Enzymol. Relat. Areas Mol. Biol.
Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology Adv. Exp. Med. Biol.
Advances in Heterocyclic Chemistry Adv. Heterocycl. Chem.
Advances in Hydrogen Energy Adv. Hydrogen Energy
Advances in Inorganic Chemistry Adv. Inorg. Chem.
Advances in Instrumentation and Control Adv. Instrum. Control
Advances in Lipid Research Adv. Lipid Res.
Advances in Molten Salt Chemistry Adv. Molten Salt Chem.
Advances in Organometallic Chemistry Adv. Organomet. Chem.
Advances in Photochemistry Adv. Photochem.
Advances in Physical Organic Chemistry Adv. Phys. Org. Chem.
Advances in Polymer Science Adv. Polym. Sci.
Advances in Polymer Technology Adv. Polym. Technol.
Advances in Powder Metallurgy Adv. Powder Metall.
Advances in Prostaglandin, Thromboxane, and Leukotriene Research Adv. Prostaglandin, Thromboxane, Leukotriene Res.
Advances in Protein Chemistry Adv. Protein Chem.
Advances in Quantum Chemistry Adv. Quantum Chem.
Advances in Space Research Adv. Space Res.
Advances in X-Ray Analysis Adv. X-Ray Anal.
Aerosol Science and Technology Aerosol Sci. Technol.
Afinidad Afinidad
Agents and Actions Agents Actions
Agents and Actions Supplements Agents Actions Suppl.
Aging Cell Aging Cell
Agrokemia es Talajtan Agrokem. Talajtan
Agrokhimiya Agrokhimiya
AIChE Journal AIChE J.
AIChE Symposium Series AIChE Symp. Ser.
AIP Conference Proceedings AIP Conf. Proc.
Alcohol (New York) Alcohol (N.Y.)
Alcohol and Alcoholism Alcohol Alcohol.
Aluminium (Duesseldorf) Aluminium (Duesseldorf)
Aluminum Transactions Alum. Trans.
Ambix Ambix
American Ceramic Society Bulletin Am. Ceram. Soc. Bull.
American Concrete Institute, SP Am. Concr. Inst., SP
American Industrial Hygiene Association Journal Am. Ind. Hyg. Assoc. J.
American Journal of Clinical Nutrition Am. J. Clin. Nutr.
American Journal of Human Genetics Am. J. Hum. Genet.
American Journal of Hypertension Am. J. Hypertens.
American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology Am. J. Obstet. Gynecol.
American Journal of Pathology Am. J. Pathol.
American Journal of Physiology Am. J. Physiol.
American Journal of Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology Am. J. Respir. Cell Mol. Biol.
American Journal of Science Am. J. Sci.
American Journal of Veterinary Research Am. J. Vet. Res.
American Mineralogist Am. Mineral.
American Review of Respiratory Disease Am. Rev. Respir. Dis.
Amino Acids Amino Acids
Anais da Academia Brasileira de Ciencias An. Acad. Bras. Cienc.
Anales de Bromatologia An. Bromatol
Anales de Quimica An. Quim.
Analusis Analusis
Analyst (Cambridge, United Kingdom) Analyst (Cambridge, U. K.)
Analytica Chimica Acta Anal. Chim. Acta
Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry Anal. Bioanal. Chem.
Analytical Biochemistry Anal. Biochem.
Analytical Chemistry Anal. Chem.
Analytical Chemistry Symposia Series Anal. Chem. Symp. Ser.
Analytical Letters Anal. Lett.
Analytical Proceedings Anal. Proc. (London)
Analytical Sciences Anal. Sci.
Anesthesiology Anesthesiology
Angewandte Chemie Angew. Chem.
Angewandte Chemie, International Edition Angew. Chem., Int. Ed.
Angewandte Chemie, International Edition in English Angew. Chem., Int. Ed. Engl.
Angewandte Makromolekulare Chemie Angew. Makromol. Chem.
Animal Science and Technology Anim. Sci. Technol.
Animal Welfare Anim. Welfare
Animal Welfare Information Center Bulletin Anim. Welfare Inf. Cent. Bull.
Annales de Chimie (Paris, France) Ann. Chim. (Paris, Fr.)
Annales Pharmaceutiques Francaises Ann. Pharm. Fr.
Annali di Chimica (Rome, Italy) Ann. Chim. (Rome, Italy)
Annals of Internal Medicine Ann. Intern. Med.
Annals of Nuclear Energy Ann. Nucl. Energy
Annals of Nutrition & Metabolism Ann. Nutr. Metab.
Annals of Physics (San Diego, CA, United States) Ann. Phys. (San Diego, CA, U. S.)
Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences Ann. N. Y. Acad. Sci.
Annual Reports in Medicinal Chemistry Annu. Rep. Med. Chem.
Annual Reports on NMR Spectroscopy Annu. Rep. NMR Spectrosc.
Annual Reports on the Progress of Chemistry, Section A: Inorganic Chemistry Annu. Rep. Prog. Chem., Sect. A: Inorg. Chem.
Annual Reports on the Progress of Chemistry, Section B: Organic Chemistry Annu. Rep. Prog. Chem., Sect. B: Org. Chem.
Annual Reports on the Progress of Chemistry, Section C: Physical Chemistry Annu. Rep. Prog. Chem., Sect. C: Phys. Chem.
Annual Review of Biochemistry Annu. Rev. Biochem.
Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering Annu. Rev. Biomed. Eng.
Annual Review of Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure Annu. Rev. Biophys. Biomol. Struct.
Annual Review of Cell and Developmental Biology Annu. Rev. Cell Dev. Biol.
Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences Annu. Rev. Earth Planet. Sci.
Annual Review of Entomology Annu. Rev. Entomol.
Annual Review of Genetics Annu. Rev. Genet.
Annual Review of Genomics and Human Genetics Annu. Rev. Genomics Hum. Genet.
Annual Review of Immunology Annu. Rev. Immunol.
Annual Review of Materials Research Annu. Rev. Mater. Res.
Annual Review of Medicine Annu. Rev. Med.
Annual Review of Microbiology Annu. Rev. Microbiol.
Annual Review of Neuroscience Annu. Rev. Neurosci.
Annual Review of Nuclear and Particle Science Annu. Rev. Nucl. Part. Sci.
Annual Review of Nutrition Annu. Rev. Nutr.
Annual Review of Pharmacology and Toxicology Annu. Rev. Pharmacol. Toxicol.
Annual Review of Physical Chemistry Annu. Rev. Phys. Chem.
Annual Review of Physiology Annu. Rev. Physiol.
Annual Review of Phytopathology Annu. Rev. Phytopathol.
Annual Review of Plant Biology Annu. Rev. Plant Biol.
Anti-Cancer Drugs Anti-Cancer Drugs
Antibiotiki i Khimioterapiya Antibiot. Khimioter.
Anticancer Research Anticancer Res.
Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy Antimicrob. Agents Chemother.
Antioxidants & Redox Signaling Antioxid. Redox Signaling
Antiviral Chemistry & Chemotherapy Antiviral Chem. Chemother.
Antiviral Research Antiviral Res.
Applied and Environmental Microbiology Appl. Environ. Microbiol.
Applied Biochemistry and Microbiology (Translation of Prikladnaya Biokhimiya i Mikrobiologiya) Appl. Biochem. Microbiol.
Applied Catalysis, A: General Appl. Catal., A
Applied Catalysis, B: Environmental Appl. Catal., B
Applied Clay Science Appl. Clay Sci.
Applied Geochemistry Appl. Geochem.
Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology Appl. Microbiol. Biotechnol.
Applied Occupational and Environmental Hygiene Appl. Occup. Environ. Hyg.
Applied Optics Appl. Opt.
Applied Organometallic Chemistry Appl. Organomet. Chem.
Applied Physics A: Materials Science & Processing Appl. Phys. A: Mater. Sci. Process.
Applied Physics A: Solids and Surfaces Appl. Phys. A
Applied Physics B: Lasers and Optics Appl. Phys. B: Lasers Opt.
Applied Physics B: Photophysics and Laser Chemistry Appl. Phys. B
Applied Physics Letters Appl. Phys. Lett.
Applied Radiation and Isotopes Appl. Radiat. Isot.
Applied Spectroscopy Appl. Spectrosc.
Applied Surface Science Appl. Surf. Sci.
Aquaculture Aquaculture
Aquatic Toxicology Aquat. Toxicol.
Archaea Archaea
Archiv der Pharmazie (Weinheim, Germany) Arch. Pharm. (Weinheim, Ger.)
Archives of Biochemistry and Biophysics Arch. Biochem. Biophys.
Archives of Environmental Contamination and Toxicology Arch. Environ. Contam. Toxicol.
Archives of Insect Biochemistry and Physiology Arch. Insect Biochem. Physiol.
Archives of Microbiology Arch. Microbiol.
Archives of Oral Biology Arch. Oral Biol.
Archives of Pharmacal Research Arch. Pharmacal Res.
Archives of Physiology and Biochemistry Arch. Physiol. Biochem.
Archives of Toxicology Arch. Toxicol.
Archives of Virology Arch. Virol.
Archivum Combustionis Arch. Combust.
Armyanskii Khimicheskii Zhurnal Arm. Khim. Zh.
Arteriosclerosis and Thrombosis Arterioscler. Thromb.
Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis, and Vascular Biology Arterioscler., Thromb., Vasc. Biol.
Arzneimittel Forschung Arzneim. Forsch.
Arzneimittel-Forschung Arzneim.-Forsch.
Asian Journal of Chemistry Asian J. Chem.
Aspects of Homogeneous Catalysis Aspects Homogeneous Catal.
Assay and Drug Development Technologies Assay Drug Dev. Technol.
ASTM Special Technical Publication ASTM Spec. Tech. Publ.
Astrofizika Astrofizika
Astronomical Journal Astron. J.
Astronomicheskii Zhurnal Astron. Zh.
Astronomy & Astrophysics, Supplement Series Astron. Astrophys., Suppl. Ser.
Astronomy and Astrophysics Astron. Astrophys.
Astrophysical Journal Astrophys. J.
Astrophysics and Space Science Astrophys. Space Sci.
Astrophysics and Space Science Library Astrophys. Space Sci. Libr.
Atherosclerosis (Amsterdam, Netherlands) Atherosclerosis (Amsterdam, Neth.)
Atherosclerosis (Shannon, Ireland) Atherosclerosis (Shannon, Irel.)
ATLA, Alternatives to Laboratory Animals ATLA, Altern. Lab. Anim.
Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics Atmos. Chem. Phys.
Atmospheric Environment Atmos. Environ.
Atmospheric Environment, Part A: General Topics Atmos. Environ., Part A
Atomic Energy (New York) (Translation of Atomnaya Energiya) At. Energy (N.Y.)
Atomic Spectroscopy At. Spectrosc.
Atomnaya Energiya At. Energ.
Australian Journal of Chemistry Aust. J. Chem.
Australian Journal of Physics Aust. J. Phys.
Autonomic & Autacoid Pharmacology Auton. Autacoid Pharmacol.
Avtomaticheskaya Svarka Avtom. Svarka
Azerbaidzhanskii Khimicheskii Zhurnal Azerb. Khim. Zh.

Bioscience journal title abbreviations B

Journal title Journal title abbreviation
Bandaoti Xuebao Bandaoti Xuebao
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology Basic Clin. Pharmacol. Toxicol.
Basic Life Sciences Basic Life Sci.
Berichte der Bunsen-Gesellschaft fuer Physikalische Chemie Ber. Bunsen-Ges. Phys. Chem.
Bio/Technology Bio/Technology
Biocatalysis and Biotransformation Biocatal. Biotransform.
Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications Biochem. Biophys. Res. Commun.
Biochemical Education Biochem. Educ.
Biochemical Genetics Biochem. Genet.
Biochemical Journal Biochem. J.
Biochemical Pharmacology Biochem. Pharmacol.
Biochemical Society Transactions Biochem. Soc. Trans.
Biochemical Systematics and Ecology Biochem. Syst. Ecol.
Biochemistry Biochemistry
Biochemistry (Moscow, Russian Federation)(Translation of Biokhimiya (Moscow, Russian Federation)) Biochemistry (Moscow, Russ. Fed.)
Biochemistry and Cell Biology Biochem. Cell Biol.
Biochemistry International Biochem. Int.
Biochimica et Biophysica Acta Biochim. Biophys. Acta
Biochimie Biochimie
Bioconjugate Chemistry Bioconjugate Chem.
Bioelectrochemistry Bioelectrochemistry
BioEssays BioEssays
BioFactors BioFactors
Biofizika Biofizika
Biogenic Amines Biog. Amines
Bioinformatics Bioinformatics
Bioinorganic Chemistry and Applications Bioinorg. Chem. Appl.
Biokhimiya (Moscow) Biokhimiya (Moscow)
Biological & Pharmaceutical Bulletin Biol. Pharm. Bull.
Biological Chemistry Biol. Chem.
Biological Chemistry Hoppe-Seyler Bio. Chem. Hoppe-Seyler
Biological Mass Spectrometry Biol. Mass Spectrom.
Biological Reviews Biol. Rev.
Biological Trace Element Research Biol. Trace Elem. Res.
Biologicheskie Membrany Biol. Membr.
Biologicheskie Nauki (Moscow) Biol. Nauki (Moscow)
Biology of Reproduction Biol. Reprod.
Biomacromolecules Biomacromolecules
Biomarkers Biomarkers
Biomaterials Biomaterials
Biomedica Biochimica Acta Biomed. Biochim. Acta
Biomedical Chromatography Biomed. Chromatogr.
Biomedical Research Biomed. Res.
Biomedical Research on Trace Elements Biomed. Res. Trace Elem.
Biomeditsinskaya Khimiya Biomed. Khim.
BioMetals BioMetals
Biomolecular Engineering Biomol. Eng.
Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry Bioorg. Med. Chem.
Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry Letters Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett.
Bioorganic Chemistry Bioorg. Chem.
Bioorganicheskaya Khimiya Bioorg. Khim.
Biopharmaceutics & Drug Disposition Biopharm. Drug Dispos.
Biophysical Chemistry Biophys. Chem.
Biophysical Journal Biophys. J.
Biopolymers Biopolymers
Bioprocess and Biosystems Engineering Bioprocess Biosyst. Eng.
Bioresource Technology Bioresour. Technol.
Bioscience Reports Biosci. Rep.
Bioscience, Biotechnology, and Biochemistry Biosci., Biotechnol., Biochem.
Biosensors & Bioelectronics Biosens. Bioelectron.
BioTechniques BioTechniques
Biotechnology and Applied Biochemistry Biotechnol. Appl. Biochem.
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Biotechnol. Bioeng.
Biotechnology and Bioprocess Engineering Biotechnol. Bioprocess Eng.
Biotechnology Letters Biotechnol. Lett.
Biotechnology Progress Biotechnol. Prog.
Biotechnology Techniques Biotechnol. Tech.
Biotekhnologiya Biotekhnologiya
Birth Defects Research, Part A: Clinical and Molecular Teratology Birth Defects Res., Part A
Birth Defects Research, Part B: Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Birth Defects Res., Part B
Birth Defects Research, Part C: Embryo Today--Reviews Birth Defects Res., Part C
Bitamin Bitamin
Blood Blood
Boletin de la Sociedad Quimica del Peru Bol. Soc. Quim. Peru
Bollettino - Societa Italiana di Biologia Sperimentale Boll.-Soc. Ital. Biol. Sper.
Bopuxue Zazhi Bopuxue Zazhi
Brain Research Brain Res.
Brain Research Bulletin Brain Res. Bull.
British Ceramic Transactions Br. Ceram. Trans.
British Corrosion Journal Br. Corros. J.
British Journal of Cancer Br. J. Cancer
British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol.
British Journal of Industrial Medicine Br. J. Ind. Med.
British Journal of Nutrition Br. J. Nutr.
British Journal of Pharmacology Br. J. Pharmacol.
Bulgarian Chemical Communications Bulg. Chem. Commun.
Bulletin de la Societe Chimique de France Bull. Soc. Chim. Fr.
Bulletin des Societes Chimiques Belges Bull. Soc. Chim. Belg.
Bulletin of Electrochemistry Bull. Electrochem.
Bulletin of Environmental Contamination and Toxicology Bull. Environ. Contam. Toxicol.
Bulletin of Materials Science Bull. Mater. Sci.
Bulletin of the Chemical Society of Japan Bull. Chem. Soc. Jpn.
Bulletin of the Korean Chemical Society Bull. Korean Chem. Soc.
Bulletin of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Chemistry Bull. Pol. Acad. Sci., Chem.
Bunseki Kagaku Bunseki Kagaku
Byulleten Eksperimental'noi Biologii i Meditsiny Byull. Eksp. Biol. Med.
Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.