Skip to main content

Special Collections - Bioscience & Natural Resources Library: Fritz-Metcalf

Bioscience & Natural Resources Library, Special Collections

About the Fritz-Metcalf Photograph Collection

Emanuel Fritz Redwood 4H Club Trestle Woodbridge Metcalf

The Fritz-Metcalf Photograph Collection is a group of about 9000 photographs relating primarily to forestry, conservation, and the lumber industry in California and the United States. Subjects include logging operations, logging equipment, reforestation, forest research, fire protection, lumber mills, and the activities of the University of California's School of Forestry. The photographs were taken from 1906 to 1984 by Emanuel Fritz, Woodbridge Metcalf and others.  Use the Fritz-Metcalf Guide.

Emanuel Fritz & Woodbridge Metcalf

Emanuel Fritz and Woodbridge Metcalf were faculty members of the School of Forestry at the University of California, Berkeley, and collaborators in the development of this collection of approximately 9000 photographs.  The photographs were taken by Emanuel Fritz, Woodbridge Metcalf and others, from 1906 to 1984, with the bulk of the collection dating between 1910 and 1960.

The collection is a record of forestry, conservation, the lumber industry, and related topics, primarily in California and the Western United States, but including other areas as well. The subject matter comprises logging operations, logging equipment, reforestation, forest research, fire protection, lumber mills, and the activities of the University of California's School of Forestry.

Emanuel Fritz
Emanuel Fritz (1886-1988) taught forestry at the University of California from 1919 to 1954. During this time and for many years afterwards, Professor Fritz was a consultant to the lumber industry, to government, and to conservation organizations. Among other positions, he was forester for the California Redwood Association, consultant to the California Legislative Interim Committee (1943-45), editor-in-chief of the Journal of Forestry (1930-32), founder of the Redwood Region Logging Conference, and councilor of the Save-the-Redwoods League. He was the author of many works on forestry, the lumber industry, and wood technology, including an extensive bibliography of the Coast redwood. In 1955 he received the Western Forestry and Conservation Association award for distinguished achievement in forestry.

Woodbridge Metcalf
Woodbridge Metcalf (1888-1972) was on the faculty of the School of Forestry from 1914 until 1956. He was Extension Forester from 1926 to 1957. During these 43 years, Professor Metcalf not only taught forestry but was involved in numerous projects throughout California, including 4-H Clubs, cork oak utilization, and Christmas tree and eucalyptus plantations. During World War I, he organized 300 rural volunteer fire-fighting companies, out of which later emerged the state-wide fire protection programs of the California Division of Forestry. He served as president of the California Conservation Council, and in 1954 received the Nash Merit Award Certificate for his work in conservation.

Use of images

Use of Images:
Most photographs in this collection were taken by members of the University’s Department of Forestry. The University encourages the use of these images under the fair use clause of the 1976 Copyright Act. University of California Fair Use information. All images in this collection may be used for educational and scholarly purposes, but please include the following credit line with each image used:

Credit: Courtesy of the Marian Koshland Bioscience and Natural Resources Library, University of California, Berkeley: http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/libraries/bioscience-library

The University has provided all known information regarding the photographer or other persons associated with each photograph in the catalog records for these materials. This information is provided as a service to aid patrons in determining the appropriate use of an item, but that determination ultimately rests with the patron.

For permission to copy or use materials for commercial purposes, please use our Comment Form. The nature of historical archival photograph collections means that copyright or other information about restrictions may be difficult or even impossible to determine. In those cases where copyright resides elsewhere, permission for publication can only be given on behalf of The Library as owner of the physical images and is not intended to include or imply permission of the copyright holder, which must also be obtained by the publisher. The University would like to hear from anyone who may have additional information regarding the images found in this collection.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.