Skip to main content

Technical Reports: Technical Report Databases

Recommended databases

Environmental Protection Agency 
Full text of more than 7,000 archival and current EPA documents.

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)  
NTRL is the gateway to indexes, abstracts, and technical reports of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). The NTIS archives reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and other government agencies. Some full text available.

NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server 
Coverage: 1920–present 
Indexes technical reports, conference papers, journal articles, and other publications sponsored by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and its predecessor, the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA). NACA Reports, Technical Notes, and Technical Memoranda are full text from 1917–1958. Some NASA Reports are full text.

SciTech Connect
Coverage: 1948–present 
Energy-related research sponsored by the Department of Energy. Consolidates content from Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.

Other databases

CiteSeerX 
Captures full-text computer science articles, papers, and technical reports freely available on the Web. Search the full-text documents or their citations.

Computing Research Repository (CoRR)

DOE Data Explorer (Department of Energy)
Scientific research data from DOE-sponsored research. Many datasets have specialized search interfaces and software tools to help analyze data.

DTIC Technical Report Collection 
MultiSearch portal for the Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified/unlimited technical reports, Department of Energy (DoE) Energy Citations Database, NASA technical reports, Scitopia.org, and more. Some full text.

Energy Information Administration
Official energy statistics from the U.S. government.

E-print Network 
Provides access to energy-related papers, draft journal articles, and technical reports produced by researchers at 250 sites throughout the country. Hosted by the Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information.

ETDE World Energy Base 
Coverage: 1876–present 
Contains technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, and books on energy related topics including research and development, policy and planning, renewable energy technologies, and more. Also indexes energy information from member countries of the International Energy Agency. Includes some full text.

FIREDOC 
Coverage: 1965–present 
FIREDOC indexes approximately 55,000 reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and audiovisual items. It is published by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and includes materials on building, construction engineering, and fire.

Hewlett-Packard Labs Technical Reports 
Coverage: 1990–present

IBM Research Reports

International Atomic Energy Agency 
Most recent IAEA publications are available in full text. Includes publications from the Technical Reports Series, Safety Standards Series, Safety Reports Series, and Technical Documents (TECDOC) Series.

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) 
Click on "Reports Search" tab to search for full-text LLNL reports.

Microsoft Research Technical Reports

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) 
Coverage: 1977–present 
Indexes NREL technical reports, fact sheets, brochures, videos, books, journal articles, conference papers, patents, and exhibits covering subjects related to sustainable energy technologies. Some full text.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Publications via ADAMS
Coverage: 1999–present

Science.gov 
Search for research and development reports, technical reports, and health, defense, environmental, and science resources from 12 major federal science agencies including the National Science Foundation, the Department of Interior, and the Environmental Protection Agency.

SKB - Swedish Nuclear Fuel and Waste Management 
Includes publications from the Technical Reports (TR) Series, R Reports Series, P Reports Series, and more. Most are full text.

TRAIL - Technical Reports Archive and Image Library
Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by TRAIL.

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

WorldWideEnergy.org
Coverage: 1876–present
Searches across websites and databases from a number of international sources, including the content of the ETDE World Energy Base. Includes some full text.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.