Skip to main content

Contemporary Chinese Studies: Start

Libraries for Chinese Studies

Connect from off campus

UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff may access UCB-Only electronic resources via Library Proxy Server or VPN (Virtual Private Network), visit this link for instructions.

Welcome

This guide provides a starting point for your research on contemporary Chinese studies on Berkeley campus. If you have in-depth questions, suggestions for this guide, or would like to schedule a instruction session, set up an appointment for research consultation, please contact me at sxue@berkeley.edu.

Collections

The Library’s collections concentrate on the humanities and social sciences. Materials range from full-text electronic databases, books, periodicals and newspapers, to some special collections. Materials formerly in Berkeley’s Center for Chinese Studies Library and now in the Starr’s general collection provide a rich resource for the study of contemporary China: thousands of  contemporary films; comprehensive provincial and local gazetteers; and, in the series Wen shi zi liao, over 12,000 volumes of first-person accounts of political movements, military actions, and economic conditions that China witnessed between late Qing dynasty and the early decades of the People’s Republic. The Library also has an extensive collection of electronic resources for Chinese studies.
 

UCB Library Catalogs

Other Catalogs and Repositories

Navigate the Collection

The East Asian Library uses two different classification system. Before 1980 the C. V. Starr East Asian Library used the Harvard-Yenching Classification System was used before 1980, Library of Congress Classification System was used after 1980.

 

E-resources Librarian, EAL

Susan  Xue's picture
Susan Xue
Contact:
379A, C. V. Starr East Asian Library
University of California at Berkeley
510-643-6327
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Chinese Studies
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.