It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
A platform dedicated to searching Chinese academic materials in book, journal article, conference paper and dissertation formats. Full-text materials can be obtained through a online document delivery service.
Searches over three millions of academic books, journal articles, conference proceedings, newspapers and videos in Chinese. It provides bibliographic information for all materials contained and online document delivery service for full-text book chapters and journal articles. In Chinese.
An Annotated Bibliography for Chinese Film Studies by Jim Cheng
Publication Date: 2004-11-09
It is the first and only multilingual bibliography for Chinese film studies, which covers monographic materials--including monographs, conference proceedings, and theses--that relate to film studies in and about Mainland China published between 1920-2003.
A Research Guide to Central Party and Government Meetings in China, 1949-1975 by Kenneth Lieberthal; Bruce Dickson
Publication Date: 1989-03-31
Updated and expanded version of the 1976 work. Meeting smmaries are arranged chronologically. Focus is on the relative roles of, and the relationship between, military power and socio-economic conditions, and the Communist movement. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or.
Call Number: DS778.A1 C47
Publication Date: 1979-
China's Provincial Leaders, 1949-1985 by David S. Goodman
Publication Date: 1986-12-01
Directory of Officials and Organizations in China by Malcolm L. Lamb
Publication Date: 2002-08-31
This exhaustive cumulative guide covers the changes in key personnel and administrative institutions from 1968 to the present. It traces the career paths of the many high officials within the numerous governmental, military, educational, and economic organizations in China. The directory also provides information on major institutions in China by following the restructuring, division, and mergers of organizations. This new edition includes new sections on trade organizations; special administrative regions; museums, libraries, and galleries; banks and insurance companies; and social and community mass organizations.
Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution by Guo Jian; Yongyi Song; Yuan Zhou
Publication Date: 2006-07-17
"There has never been anything quite like the Cultural Revolution, which disrupted life in the People's Republic of China from 1966 to 1976. It wreaked havoc in the world's most populous country, often turning life upside down and undermining the party, government, and army, weakening the economy, society, and culture. Tens of millions were hurt or killed during this period, and relatively few benefited, aside from Mao Zedong and (temporarily) the Gang of Four." "Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution provides an extensive chronology that traces the events of the revolution and the introduction puts those events in context and explains them. The bulk of the information is provided in numerous dictionary entries on important persons, places, institutions, and movements. The bibliography points to further resources, and the glossary helps those researching in Chinese."--BOOK JACKET.
Modern China; a bibliographical guide to Chinese works, 1898-1937 by John King Fairbank and Kwang-ching Liu
Call Number: DS706.A12 F352
Publication Date: 1950
Modern China, 1840-1972 : an introduction to sources and research aids by Andrew J. Nathan
Call Number: DS706.A12 M546
Publication Date: 1973
Modern Chinese society; an analytical bibliography. by G. William Skinner (Editor)
Publication Date: 1973-12-01
Twentieth Century China: an annotated bibliography of reference works in Chinese, Japanese, and western languages by James H. Cole
Publication Date: 2003-06-30
This bibliography of reference works from Chinese, Japanese and Western language sources covers: the 1911 Revolution; the Republic of China (1912-1949); the People's Republic of China (1949 onwards); post-1911 Hong Kong and Macau; and post-1911 overseas Chinese.
Writing of Mao Zedong, 1949-1976 by Michael Y. M. Kau (Editor); John K. Leung (Editor); Laifong Leung; Zedong Mao
Publication Date: 1987-01-31
This critical, multi-volume edition of Mao's writings is an indispensable guide to post-1949 Chinese politics and an invaluable research tool for anyone seeking to understand Communist rule in China
Republican China, 1912-1949 by John K. Fairbank (Editor, Contribution by); Denis C. Twitchett (Editor, Contribution by)
Publication Date: 1983-09-30
This is the first of two volumes of this authoritative Cambridge history which review the Republican period, between the demise of imperial China and the establishment of the People's Republic. These years from 1912 to 1949 were marked by civil war, revolution and invasion; but also by change and growth in the economic, social, intellectual and cultural spheres.
The People's Republic. Part 1. The emergence of Revolutionary China, 1949-1965 by Roderick MacFarquhar (Editor); John K. Fairbank (Editor, Contribution by); Denis C. Twitchett (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 1987-06-26
This is the first of the two final volumes of The Cambridge History of China, which describe the efforts of the People's Republic of China to grapple with the problems of adaptation to modern times. Volume 14 deals with the achievements of the economic and human disasters of the new regime's first sixteen years (1949–65).
The People's Republic. Part 2. Revolutions within the Chinese Revolution, 1966-1982 by Roderick MacFarquhar (Editor); John K. Fairbank (Editor, Contribution by); Denis C. Twitchett (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 1991-11-29
Volume 15 of The Cambridge History of China is the second of two volumes dealing with the People's Republic of China since its birth in 1949. The harbingers of the Cultural Revolution were analyzed in Volume 14 and Volume 15 traces a course of events still only partially understood by most Chinese.