Skip to main content

Bioengineering: Writing + Citing

A guide to research sources for bioengineering topics.

Writing Help

The campus offers writing support for students through the College Writing Programs office.

The Student Learning Center also offers both appointments and drop-in help.

Citation Management Tools

Citation management software helps you manage your papers, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.

Popular citation management software in the sciences and engineering include:

  • EndNote (Mac, PC) is bibliographic management software that you install on your computer. It offers sophisticated, flexible tools for organizing references & creating bibliographies. EndNote works with word processing software to format citations, and create bibliographies in a comprehensive array of styles. Get the student price by purchasing online with proof of student status.
  • RefWorks (Online) is a web-based bibliographic management service licensed by the library for use by current UCB faculty, staff and students. It can be used to organize references, format citations, and create bibliographies. To use RefWorks, create an account using the RefWorks New User form.
  • TeX: is a typesetting language used for scientific document preparation. LaTeX is a program that converts a plain text file into TeX. BibTeX is a tool that can be used with LaTeX to create documents and bibliographies. http://www.latex-project.org. Tools are free to download. The TeX Users Group (TUG) includes an FAQ, links to software. Endnote has a BibTeX output style that will format your citations into TeX.
  • Mendeley is a free web-based reference manager & can be used as a social network to organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover current developments.
  • Papers (Mac) is low-cost software that allows you to search, retrieve, organize, and annotate article PDFs. You can also easily export references into citation management tools like EndNote so that you can use their citation and bibliography formatting features.
  • Zotero is a free Firefox extension that manages citations found online through your browser. You can capture citation information from some web pages and databases, and store citations, PDFs & images for easy retrieval. Zotero can create bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice in a limited number of styles.

Style Guides

Publishers' style guides provide instructions for writing an article for one of its publications.  They typically specify the layout and length of the paper, rules for units, graphs and tables, copyright terms, and how to submit the paper. 

English as a Second Language

Are you looking to improve your technical and scientific communication skills in English? These resources may help:

Collaborative LaTeX Writing

Collaborative writing tools for LaTeX have become popular in recent years. They make it easier to write and compile scientific and mathematical content using LaTeX whether writing by yourself or with a group. Try one of these tools that are free for basic use:

Overleaf
Online collaborative LaTeX editor. Free account includes unlimited collaborators, up to 60 files per project, up to 1GB storage, and integration with Mendeley, Git, and Plot.ly. As part of our institutional license, sign up with your Berkeley email address to access a pro account with up to 10GB storage space, 500 files per project, full project history, and the ability to save to Dropbox.

ShareLaTeX
Online collaborative LaTeX editor. Free account allows unlimited projects but only 1 collaborator. As part of our university license, sign up with your Berkeley email address to access a premium account with unlimited collaborators, document history, track changes, integration with Dropbox, Github & Mendeley, and increased project size limits.

Authorea
Online collaborative editor for writing in Markdown, LaTeX, and Richtext. Free account includes 1 private article, unlimited public articles, and up to 100MB data storage. Premium plans start at $10/month and include unlimited private articles, DOI minting, and up to 1GB data storage.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.