Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.

EndNote: Citation Management: Start

Use this guide to select software, download pdfs, format bibliographies and manage citations and research,

What is a Citation Management Program?

Citation management programs are personal content managers. These programs allow you to collect and cite sources, create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles, add your own notes and keywords to your citations, save images and pdfs. Citation managers work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share citations, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.

EndNote 20 (current version)

EndNote Components

EndNote 20

For assistance with EndNote 20, consult the Clarivate webpages:

Widely used citation managers:

  • Free to UC Berkeley users, create an account using the RefWorks New User
  • Web-based: use with internet access
  • Works with Google Docs
  • Format bibliographies in Word
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within RefWorks
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing
  • RefWorks guide

  • Mendeley Guide
  • Free (up to 2 GB web storage) software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references
  • From Elsevier

Zotero

  • Zotero guide
  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage) browser extension
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references
  • Open source software from the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University

The TeX logo

  • a typesetting language for scientific document preparation.
  • LaTeX is a program that converts plain text files into TeX.
  • BibTeX is a tool used with LaTeX to create documents and bibliographies. http://www.latex-project.org.
  • The TeX Users Group (TUG) includes an FAQ, links to software.
  • Endnote has a BibTeX output style that will format your citations into TeX