Skip to main content

Econ 154: Economics of Discrimination: Minorities

Organizations & Search Engines

Black Studies Center (BSC). Includes The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience; International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP); and the full text backfile of the black newspaper The Chicago Defender (1910-1975).

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA). Indexes books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US government documents covering 17 broad regions comprising 290 ethnic groups of native North America.

Chicano Database. Indexes materials about Mexican-American topics since 1967, and materials about other Latino cultures (Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants) since 1992. 

Contemporary Women's Issues. Indexes a wide range of journals, hard-to-find newsletters, reports, pamphlets, fact sheets, and guides covering a broad array of gender-related issues.

PolicyFile. Index to public policy literature taken from reports from a think tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.

Sociological Abstracts. Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection. Journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Labor Studies, Social Theory and more.

ProQuest Social Sciences. An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. 

Social Services Abstracts. Indexes scholarly and professional journals worldwide related to the fields of social work, social welfare, human services, community development, and social policy.

Women and Minority Interest Economic Societies

Selected Data Sets

American Community Survey.  Began in 2005, annual survey replacing the census long (15%) sample. Consider using  IPUMS.

American Factfinder (U.S. Census Bureau). Database for online source for accessing population, housing, economic and geographic data from the from the U.S. Census, including the Census of Population and Housing and the American Community Survey.

Current Population Survey. Includes many supplemental surveys on various topics such as child support, tobacco, voting, computer use, identity theft.  Consider using IPUMS.

Ethnic Power Relations Dataverse.  The Ethnic Power Relations (EPR) dataset identifies all politically relevant ethnic groups and their access to state power in every country of the world from 1946 to 2005. It includes annual data on over 733 groups and codes the degree to which their representatives held executive-level state power--from total control of the government to overt political discrimination.

Fractionalization Data.  Compiled by Alberto Alesina and associates to measures the degree of ethnic, linguistic and religious heterogeneity in various countries.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS). From the Minnesota Population Center. Micro-data for censuses from the United States back to 1850 as well as other nations. 

PolicyMap. US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels: data on demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate, income, jobs, education, crime, and health.

Social Explorer. Current and historical census data and other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and  demographic and social change

Minorities at Risk.  Tracks 282 politically active ethnic groups on political, economic, and cultural dimensions, Contains variables that describe the status and activity of communal groups including group characteristics and status, discrimination,  group organisation and group collective interests.

Odum Archive Dataverse.  Repository for all Louis Harris public opinion data and Roper Center nonproprietary poll data. Includes studies and series in its data holdings arranged by title, principal investigator, and subject. e,g, the Symbolic Racism Scale.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.