Skip to main content

Landscape Architecture 170: Resources

History and Literature of Landscape Architecture

About Basic Resources

This page is a bibliography of key encyclopedias, dictionaries, and miscellaneous landscape architecture reference materials. Use these to define an unfamiliar word or landscape type, to learn about a particular landscape site or designer, or even to find a specific bibliography on a topic.

Bibliographies

See the bibliographic guide Biographical Information on Landscape Architects (UC Berkeley, Library) for a comprehensive listing of biographical resources.

Dictionaries and Glossaries

Use dictionaries and glossaries to verify concepts, terminology, definitions and spelling. Specialized dictionaries give the history and illustrations of building elements.

For basic landscape architecture dictionaries see Landscape Architecture Reference Sources.

Encyclopedias and Atlases

Landscape Architects

See the bibliographic guide Biographical Information on Landscape Architects (UC Berkeley, Library) for a comprehensive listing of biographical resources.

General Histories and Surveys

General Histories and Surveys provide an overview and the context of a topic, with dates, locations, special sites, and the names of architects or designers. They usually include bibliographies. Use the subject headings in the Searching Tips tab to locate additional titles. 

To find information about specific places, look at the journals or yearbooks of the local landscape architecture societies.
 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.