Skip to main content

Sports Medicine: IB 128: Best Articles

Start with

Use the best databases for articles, reports, papers, government documents. Start with databases listed below, use this link for many more, http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/bioscience-databases

Core Article Databases

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles, journals and other publications in multi-languages; full-text is available.

BIOSIS Previews
Articles, conference papers, and books on biological and biomedical topics. Includes literature reviews and peer review.
Coverage:1926 - present

CAB Abstracts and Global Health
Covers biomedicine, nutrition and food safety, public health, and toxicology.
Coverage:1910 - present.

Cochrane Library
Evidence-based effects, economic evaluations, systematic reviews and technology assessment for health care. (Guide: Cochrane Library Search Manual). Most content peer reviewed.
Coverage: 1946 - present.

Embase
Use Advanced Search to limit to systematic reviews. Primary biomedical resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. (Guide: Embase). Includes peer review.
Coverage: 1946 - present.

Natural Medicines (fomerly Natural Standard)
A research synthesizes data on complimentary and alternative medical therapies. Monographs are evidence based, consensus-based, peer-reviewed full-text summaries of current research and contain additional references.
Coverage: dates vary.

PubMed
Articles in biology and biomedicine. Includes Systematic Reviews search limit, and peer review. (Guide: HTML | PDF).
Covers: 1946 - present

PubMed Central (PMC)
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Covers: dates vary | Full text

Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.


Web of Science*
Multidisciplinary. Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, search footnotes and  citations. Coverage:1900 - present

Best for Articles

Selected Journals: for more search keywords: sports medicine and limit to journals. 
OskiCat list:

Selected Journals:
American Journal of Sports Medicine.
British Journal of Sports Medicine
International Journal of sports medicine
Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise

Search for Literature & Systematic Reviews

Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews critically reviews significant primary research literature. Each article provides a gateway to the essential primary research literature referenced within each topic.

BIOSIS Previews: enter your search, use limit to "Literature Types" and Review (if available).
Coverage: 1926 - present

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews: enter your search, limit to review.
Coverage:  date varies | Some full text |

Embase: enter your search, left menu, use limit to "Literature types"  and select reivew / apply.
Embase is a key resource for systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. Coverage: dates vary

PubMed: enter your search, select filter - 'review'. Includes Systematic Reviews search limit, and peer review. (Guide: HTML | PDF).
Covers: 1946 - present

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.