Library Guides: Finding Chemical Prices: Top Resources

Top Resources for Finding Chemical Suppliers

These resources provide current price information from chemical suppliers. For more information about these resources and additional recommendations, visit the Chemical Suppliers page.

SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. Search for a substance then click on the Get Commercial Sources link to see a list of suppliers.
Indexes over 9,000 journals, patents, conferences, books, technical reports and dissertations related to chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and the biomedical sciences. Relates to the print equivalent Chemical Abstracts.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Find property, reaction, synthesis, and bibliographic information for chemicals. Search for a substance then click on the shopping cart in a record to view substance availability from commercial sources.
A web-based interface for three chemical information databases, Beilstein, Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry Database (PCD). Structure, reaction and citation searching are possible. Reaxys is a key resource for locating information on how to synthesis organic, inorganic and organometallic compounds. It is also a good source for critically evaluated data on on physical, chemical, spectral, bioactivity, or toxicological properties of chemical compounds.

eMolecules
eMolecules is is a free tool for searching, finding, and purchasing chemicals.
Fisher Scientific Chemical Center
The Fisher Scientific Chemical Center is one source for research chemicals and production chemicals for analytical sciences, organic synthesis, etc.
Millipore Sigma Chemistry
Organic and inorganic chemicals including chemical synthesis, materials science, biochemistry, custom chemistry services, and solvents and inorganics. (Formerly EMD Millipore and Sigma-Aldrich)

Top Resources for Finding Chemical Industry Information

These resources provide access to trade publications, business journal articles, and industry reports. For more information about these resources and additional recommendations, visit the Chemical Industry Information page.

ICIS Chemical Business
Search this journal for weekly profiles of various chemicals (US, Asia, Europe, Latin America). Each Chemical Profile includes uses, supply/demand, prices, technology and outlook. [2007-present]
Chemical Week
The Chemical Week journal follows developments in industries such as chemicals and petrochemicals, drugs and cosmetics, fertilizer and agricultural chemicals, petroleum refining and coal, plastics, metallurgical and metal products and rubber products, among others. [1987-2012]

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting. [1965-present]
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
This database provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.

Top Resources for Historical Chemical Pricing

These resources provide access to historical pricing information. For more information about these resources, visit the Historical Chemical Pricing page.

Try these predecessors to ICIS Chemical Business:

Chemical Market Reporter [1996-2006]
Chemical Marketing Reporter [1972-1996]
Oil, Paint and Drug Reporter [1871-1971]

Our print volumes of Chemical Week include older issues:

Chemical Week [1980-2015]

Encyclopedias:

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
This encyclopedia presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
This encyclopedia covers inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and much more.

Secondary menu

Finding Chemical Prices: Top Resources

Overview of Chemical Pricing Information

Top Resources for Finding Chemical Suppliers

Top Resources for Finding Chemical Industry Information

Top Resources for Historical Chemical Pricing