Skip to main content

Fritz-Metcalf Photographs: Special Collection: Use of Images

Use of images

Use of Images:
Most photographs in this collection were taken by members of the University’s Department of Forestry. The University encourages the use of these images under the fair use clause of the 1976 Copyright Act. University of California Fair Use information.

All images in this collection may be used for educational and scholarly purposes, please include the following credit line with each image used:

"Credit: Courtesy of the Marian Koshland Bioscience and Natural Resources Library, University of California, Berkeley.(http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/libraries/bioscience-library)"

The University has provided all known information regarding the photographer or other persons associated with each photograph in the catalog records for these materials. This information is provided as a service to aid patrons in determining the appropriate use of an item, but that determination ultimately rests with the patron.

For permission to copy or use materials for commercial purposes, please contact us: Reference. The nature of historical archival photograph collections means that copyright or other information about restrictions may be difficult or even impossible to determine. In those cases where copyright resides elsewhere, permission for publication can only be given on behalf of The Library as owner of the physical images and is not intended to include or imply permission of the copyright holder, which must also be obtained by the publisher. The University would like to hear from anyone who may have additional information regarding the images found in this collection.

Online Archive of California, record only.

Use and permission

All requests to reproduce, publish, quote from, or otherwise use collection materials must be submitted in writing to the Head of Life & Health Sciences Division, The University Library, University of California, Berkeley 94720-6500, or email:skoskine@berkeley.edu

Consent is given on behalf of The Bioscience & Natural Resources Library as the owner of the physical items and does not constitute permission from the copyright owner. Such permission must be obtained from the copyright owner.

Some materials in these collections may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). In addition, the reproduction of some materials may be restricted by terms of University of California gift or purchase agreements, donor restrictions, privacy and publicity rights, licensing and trademarks. Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of copyright owners. Works not in the public domain cannot be commercially exploited without permission of the copyright owner. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.