Library Guides: Videos & Images in Public Health: Find Videos &amp; Images

Galleries, Databases, Image Collections: Health & Medicine

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine Images: Tens of thousands of photos and illustrations to aid in visual diagnosis are available to save and download to presentations for educational purposes. You can view, favorite, and download images without losing your place in the text. Full AMA citations for the images are included.

AIDS Posters (UCLA)
The AIDS Poster Collection consists of posters from dozens of countries. The posters were issued by a variety of institutions and organizations to educate and warn people about AIDS and to offer advice and information in visual form.
AIDS posters (Wellcome Library)
Over 3000 digitised public health posters relating to AIDS, from 99 countries, are freely available to view and download. All AIDS posters are freely available under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial license.
Duke University Libraries Digital Collections
Includes image collections on many topics including Medicine and Madison Avenue, and other advertising from the early 20th century.
FoodPhoto
Low cost stock photos of various foods. Fee-based.
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
A digital library of freely available teaching materials for health sciences education. It is designed to facilitate the sharing of a wide variety of high-quality, freely available multimedia resources.
Images from the History of Medicine
From the National Library of Medicine. The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
Images from the History of the Public Health Service
"This exhibit is an online version of Images from the History of the Public Health Service; A Photographic Exhibit by Ramunas Kondratas, Ph.D. printed in 1994 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Public Health Service."
Johns Hopkins School of Public Health Images
Statistical charts, diagrams, and more of public health topics.
MedPix
A free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
Microbial Mugshots (EPA Microbiological and Chemical Exposure Assessment Research Division)
An image gallery of microorganisms produced by staff scientists using electron microscopy and confocal microscopy for microbe visualization.
National Center for HIV, STD and TB Prevention Divisions of HIV/AIDS Prevention Slide Sets (CDC)
Contains several slide sets on topics such as AIDS surveillance, epidemiology, testing, and mortality.
National Eye Institute NEI Media Library
Contains numerous images on eye disease simulations, eye anatomy, professional/patient interaction, eye charts, and so forth.
National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Still and moving images from the history of medicine and public health.
NIH Photo Galleries
The NIH provides links here to photo collections from its institutes including the National Institute of Cancer, National Human Genome Research Institute, and the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, among others.
PAHO Gallery
Public health posters and infographics.
Public Health Image Library (CDC)
An extensive collection of still images, image sets, and multimedia files related to public health. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.
Real Health Photos
Stock photos of underrepresented groups engaged in health activities. Fee-based.
UCSF Japanese Woodblock Print Collection
This collection of Japanese woodblock prints "provide a window into traditional Japanese attitudes toward illness, the human body, women, religion, and the West."
USDA Agricultural Research Service Image Gallery
Images of insects, crops, animals, food, plants, and more.
Visible Human Project
From the National Library of Medicine. This project is "the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers has been completed. The male was sectioned at one millimeter intervals, the female at one-third of a millimeter intervals."
Wellcome Images
Images range from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
WIC Image Gallery
Categories of pictures here include Breastfeeding and Breastfeeding Peer Counseling; Clinic Environment; Food Packages, Farmer's Market, and Grocery Store; Physical Activity.
World Health Organization Multimedia Centre
Includes audio, photo, and video downloads of recent WHO events, including supporting material.

Galleries, Databases, Image Collections: General/Other Subjects

AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Historical Associated Press photos. Also includes tens of thousands of graphics, audio files, and news stories and headlines. (Associated Press Photo Archive - AccuNet - AP Multimedia Archive - AP Photo Archive) [1826 - present]
4.6 million photographs from the Associated Press dating back to 1826 to the present. Historical photos date from 1996 to 1826. Also includes tens of thousands of graphics, over 4,500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines dating from 1997. Search by keyword to search all the images in the photo collection or do an advanced search to limit results.

Europeana
Europeana links to millions digital images, videos, texts and sounds from over 50 of Europe's museums, galleries, archives and libraries. Search results can be limited by language, country, date, provider, and type.
Forestry Communication Toolkit: Photos
From the Food and Agriculture Organization. Searchable by country or subject.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Includes historical prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Openverse
Search across over 300 million images and audio files in openly-licensed collections. Filter by use case, license type, or several other filters.
Pixabay
Free images and videos you can use anywhere. All images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0. You may download, modify, distribute, and use them royalty-free for anything you like, even in commercial applications. Attribution is not required.
Smithsonian Open Access
Download, share, and reuse millions of 2D and 3D digital items from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Unsplash
Free ("do whatever you want") high-resolution photos submitted by photographers worldwide.
Wikimedia Commons
A database of millions of freely usable media files: images, sound, video.

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

When you search Google images, you can limit your search to noncommercial reuse, meaning that you should be able to use the images for noncommercial purposes.

How to limit your search:

Search for your image. If you have searched in Google, then click on the "Images" link above the search results.
Click on "Tools" to the right of where you clicked on "Images."
Click on "Usage Rights." Select the appropriate reuse filter based on your plan for the image.

Infographic Collections in Public Health

Visible Body

Highly-accurate, visual databases that include thousands of models you can rotate, zoom, and dissect, and physiology and pathology animations that quickly communicate complex biology.

Visible Body This link opens in a new window
3D interactive anatomical models, images and videos.

Visible Body includes Human Anatomy Atlas, Anatomy & Physiology, Visible Biology, Muscle Premium, and Physiology Animations, as well as review guides, flashcards, and other resources.

To access Visible Body, UCB users must sign in with their @berkeley.edu Google account, or sign up using another email, while logged into the campus network. Once they have created an account they can log in from any computer for six months.

Film & Video

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service which provides access to more than 26,000 films, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Docuseek2 is a streaming video service featuring social issue and documentary films from independent distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, National Film Board of Canada, and Fanlight.
Note: When browsing the platform, you will see film icons next to each title. Grayed out icons indicate Berkeley does not have access to these titles. To view a list limited to titles owned by Berkeley, click the "My Movies" link at the top of the page.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
JoVE publishes scientific research in a visual format to help researchers learn new experimental techniques and help make research more transparent and reproducible.
Henry Stewart Talks: Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Video lectures by leading experts on subjects including biochemistry, cancer, cell biology, genetics & epigenetics, infectious diseases, metabolism & nutrition, microbiology, neuroscience and more.
Additional topics include agriculture & environmental sciences, clinical medicine, immunology, methods, omics & systems biology, pharmaceutical sciences, and reproduction & development. Lecture slides and full text transcripts are available.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 70,000 videos covering a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Medicine on Screen
Medicine on Screen is a portal to the National Library of Medicine historical audiovisual collections. This site showcases unique, rare, and important medical films enriched with contextual information, scholarly essays, and related resources. Includes clinical, historical, research, and animated films.

Find online streaming video in UC Library Search by clicking on "Advanced Search", entering your search terms, and limiting to "Online" and "Videos" (under "Resource Type"). CalNet authentication or UCB IP address often required for library-hosted materials.

Secondary menu

Videos & Images in Public Health: Find Videos & Images