Skip to main content

UC Berkeley History: Basic Sources: Campus History/About

An introduction to the Library's collections relating to the history of UC Berkeley

Where to Find the Resources Listed on this Guide

The largest concentration of basic sources for the history of the University is the UC Archives reference collection, which includes the Catalog of classes, Blue and Gold yearbook, student directories, Centennial RecordThe Chronicle of the University of California, among other titles.

OskiCat is the UC Berkeley library catalog, which lists holdings of most campus libraries.  
 
If the OskiCat  record for an item lists "UC Archives reference" as the location, then you may use the material on-site during Bancroft open hours.  You will have to check your bags and coats at the Bancroft security desk  but you will not have to register.  Tell the Bancroft staff that you are here to use materials in the reference collection.  You  may take photos of library materials with a digital camera or cellphone.
 
If the OskiCat record lists "Bancroft" or UC Archives as the location, make sure you plan your visit, register in advance, and understand the Bancroft Library's Conditions of Use.
 
If the Oskicat record lists "Bancroft NRLF" or UC Archives (NLRF) as the location, make sure to request materials at least three days in advance.
 
If the Oskicat record lists another library location, click on the name of the library for more information, or go to the Library hours page..  

Campus History - online sources

Faculty, Administrators, Alumni

See "Campus Publications" tab for yearbook and student and alumni directories

Campus Budget and Salaries

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.