Skip to main content

¡Viva la Fiesta! Mexican Traditions of Celebration: Additional Resources

Bancroft Gallery Exhibit Oct. 2017 - Feb. 2018

Additional Resources

The Bancroft Library holds a large amount of collection material related to the exhibit that, due to space constraints, did not make it into the gallery. The material consulted for the exhibit, as well as those items that could not fit in the gallery, are listed below. These sections are divided into collections, manuscript, and single-item (monographs, pamphlets, etc.) resources to provide Bancroft's patrons an entry into the different materials consulted for the exhibit that form the Latin Americana Collection. In addition, this page will feature new additions to Bancroft's collection as part of its continuing effort to acquire new materials related to Latin America.

Enrique Florescano and Bárbara Santana, eds.

La fiesta mexicana, 2016

[The Mexican Fiesta]

GT4814.A2 F524 2016 (2 vols.)

 

Rafael Castañeda García and Rosa Alicia Pérez Luque, eds.

Entre la solemnidad y el regocijo. Fiestas, devociones y religiosidad en Nueva España y el mundo hispánico, 2015

[Between Solemnity and Rejoicing: Feasts, Devotions, and Religiosity in New Spain and the Hispanic World]

BL2530.M6 E58 2015

Manuscripts Consulted

Virreyes de México, 1529-1804

[Viceroys of Mexico]

BANC MSS M-M 249-250 (2 vols.)

Sermones en mexicano

[Nahuatl Sermons]

BANC MSS M-M 459

Solórzano Family Genealogy, 1393-1604

[Genealogía de la familia Solórzano]

BANC MSS M-M 424

Cristóbal de Zuleta

Fundación de la capilla de Nuestra Señora de la Concepción, 1628

[Founding of the Chapel of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception]

BANC MSS M-M 1802

Diego de Suaso y Coscojales

Oracion evangelica, y panegyrica de la purificacion de Maria Santisima, 1703

[Evangelical Prayer and Laudatory (Sermon) on the Purification of Most Blessed Mary]

BANC MSS M-M 255

Manuscripts in the Nahuatl and Otomi Languages, 1714-1866

[Manuscritos en lengua náhuatl y otomí]

BANC MSS M-M 474

Partial Item List

Hipólito Villarroel

Enfermedades politicas que padece la capital de esta Nueva España […] y remedios, que se la deben aplicar, 1785-1787.

[The Political Malaise of this Capital of New Spain and the Remedies that Ought be Applied]

BANC MSS M-M 245-248 (4 vols.)

Respuesta â las preguntas hechas sobre los indios, s. XVIII

[Responses to the Questionnaires Regarding the Indians]

BANC MSS M-M 316

Pedro Pablo Patio

Sinopsis de varios decretos de la Sagrada Congregación de Ritos, 1810

[Summary of Various Decrees from the Holy Congregation of Rites]

BANC MSS M-M 63

José Nicolás Maniau y Torquemada

Panegírico de San Juan Nepomuceno, patrón de los estudios, 1832

Laudatory (Sermon) to Saint John Nepomuk, Patron of Education]

BANC MSS M-M 137

Juan Cayetano Portugal

Pastoral Letter, 1850

[Carta pastoral]

BANC MSS M-M 200

Francisco Javier Conde y Oquendo

Disertación histórica sobre la aparición de la portentosa imagen de María Santísima de Guadalupe de México, [1852]

[Historical Dissertation on the Apparition of the Miraculous Image of Most Blessed Mary of Guadalupe of Mexico]

BANC MSS M-M 71-72 [2 vols.]

Los pastores

[The Shepherds (A Christmas Play)]

BANC MSS M-M 1761

Collections Consulted

Pictorial Material Relating to Bullfighters from George Elmendorf's Mexican Miscellany

[Material pictográfico sobre toreros de la miscelánea mexicana de George Elmendorf]

BANC PIC 1987.080

Collection of Corridos from the Mexican Revolution

[Colección de corridos de la Revolución mexicana]

pf PQ7260.C6

Partial Item List

Colección de decretos. Estado de Durango, s. XIX

[Collection of Decrees: State of Durango]

pf F1203.C594

Partial Item List

Pedro Espejo Family Papers, 1856-1898

[Papeles de la familia de Pedro Espejo]

BANC MSS M-B 11

Pinart Prints: A Collection of Mexican Documents Showing the History and Development of the Northern Mexican States, 1824-1878

[Impresos de Alphonse L. Pinart. Colección de documentos mexicanos sobre la historia y el desarrollo de los estados mexicanos del norte]

ff F1203.P5

Partial Item List

Collection of Works Published by Antonio Vanegas Arroyo, Chiefly Illustrated by José Guadalupe Posada

[Colección de trabajos publicados por Antonio Vanegas Arroyo, ilustrados principalmente por José Guadalupe Posada]

BANC PIC 2010.025

Online Archive of California Finding Aid

Alphonse Louis Pinart

Reports Concerning Parishes and Towns: San Luis Potosí, México 1865-1870

[Reportes sobre parroquias y pueblos de San Luis Potosí]

BANC MSS M-M 274

Providencias diocesanas de México, 1648-1831

[Mexican Diocesan Decisions]

BANC MSS M-M 153

Disposiciones varias, 1756-1848

[Various Regulations]

ff F1203.D5

Partial Item List

Informe del estado de Tabasco

[Report from the State of Tabasco]

F1351.F58

Partial Item List

Papeles varios, 1653-1873

[Various Publications]

F1203.P16

Item List

Elsa Searing McGinn

Elsa S. McGinn Photograph Collection, 1870-1940

[Colección fotográfica de Elsa S. McGinn]

BANC PIC 1998.069

Photographs Relating to John Steinbeck

[Fotografías relacionadas a John Steinbeck]

BANC PIC 1971.030

Miguel A. Gandert

Miguel Gandert Photograph Collection

[Colección fotográfica de Miguel Gandert]

BANC PIC 2015.056

Artes de México

[Art from Mexico]

f F1219.7 A6

Online Access (UCB only) / Accesso en línea (UCB solamente)

Online Catalog / Catálago en línea

Sermones varios, 1607-1860

[Various Sermons]

F1207.S42 (64 vols.)

Partial Item List

[Imperial Decrees, 1821-1823]

[Decretos del imperio]

pf F1222.1 M36

Partial Item List

Taller Gráfica Popular Collection

[Colección del Taller Gráfica Popular]

BANC PIC 1999.039

Online Archive of California Finding Aid

Sergio Sánchez Santamaría Art Collection

[Colección de arte de Sergio Sánchez Santamaría]

BANC PIC 2015.071

Acknowledgments

We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of the Friends of The Bancroft Library and the many individual donors whose gifts to The Bancroft Library have made ¡Viva la Fiesta! possible.


The Bancroft Library Curators and Director:
Jack von Euw, Curator, Pictorial Collections
David Faulds, Curator, Rare Books & Literary Manuscripts Collection
Kathryn Neal, Associate University Archivist, University Archives
Theresa Salazar, Curator, Western Americana Collection
Elaine Tennant, James D. Hart Director, The Bancroft Library

 

Design:
Gordon and Suzanne Chun

Gordon Chun Design
 

Special Thanks:
William B. Taylor, Professor Emeritus, Department of History, University of California, Berkeley
Pablo Mijangos y González, Professor of History, CIDE, Mexico City
Randal Brandt, Principal Cataloger
Christian H. McDonald, Pictorial Archivist
Christine Hult-Lewis, Reva and David Logan Curatorial Assistant
Angélica Peña, Western Americana Curatorial Assistant
Lorna Kirwan, Collections Manager
Alison Wannamaker, Graphic Designer
Michael M. Lange, Permissions and Access Officer
Jennie Hinchcliff, Assistant Registrar
Monica Alarcon, Head, Administrative Services
Diana Vergil, Administrative Assistant

Single-Item Materials (Pre-1940)

Francisco Ganancia, et. al.

Tristes ayes de la aguila mexicana: reales exequias de la serenissima señora doña Maria Magdalena Barbara de Portugal, 1760

[The Sad Groans of the Mexican Eagle: Royal Funeral Rites of Her Serene Highness María Magdalena Barbara de Portugal]

F1207.T73 1760

Miscelanea de romances mexicanos de la colonia, 1771-1803

[Miscellany of Colonial Mexican Narratives]

PQ7260.M52

Claudio Linati

Costumes civils, militaires et réligieux du Mexique, 1828

[Civil, Military, and Religious Dress of Mexico / Trajes civiles, militares y religiosos de México]

f F1213.L73

Edward B. Penny

A Sketch of the Customs and Society of Mexico, 1828

[Un bosquejo de las costumbres y sociedad mexicana]

F1213 .S55

J. M. de Lara, ed.

Lecturas devotas y entretenidas para jueves y viernes santo, 1846

[Devout and Entertaining Readings for Maundy Thursday and Good Friday]

F1207.L4

Ignacio Cumplido, ed.

El álbum mexicano, 1849

[The Mexican Album]

F1201.A42 (2 vols.)

Andrew Jackson Grayson

Views of Mexico from the Andrew Jackson Grayson Papers, 1853-1870

[Vistas de México sacadas de los papeles de Andrew Jackson Grayson]

BANC PIC 19xx.118--A

Gabriel Ferry

Scènes de la vie mexicaine, 1856

[Views of Mexican Life / Escenas de la vida mexicana]

F1213.B43

Lucien Biart

La terre chaude : scènes de mœurs mexicaines, 1862

[The Tierra Caliente (Region): Scenes of Mexican Customs / La tierra caliente: escenas de costumbres mexicanos]

F1213 .B57

Lucien Biart

La terre tempérée : scènes de la vie mexicaine, 1866

[The Tierra Templada (Region): Scenes of Mexican Life / La tierra templada. Escenas de la vida Mexicana]

F1213.B58

 

Ceremonial para la Semana Santa de 1866

[Ceremonial Agenda for Holy Week, 1866]

f F1222.9 M36

Ignacio Manuel Altamirano

Paisajes y leyendas. Tradiciones y costumbres de México, 1884

[Landscapes and Legends: Traditions and Customs of Mexico]

F1227.A46

Reglamento para corridas de toros, 1888

[Regulation on Bullfights]

F1222.889.M61.1888

Views of Maguey Ranch and Vicinity

[Vistas del Rancho del maguey y sus alrededores]

BANC PIC 1971.123--ALB

Album of Snapshots of Mexico, ca. 1900-1910

[Álbum de fotos de México]

BANC PIC 1998.027--ALB

Antonio García Cubas

El libro de mis recuerdos, 1904

[My Book of Remembrances]

F1386.G3

Reglamento sobre alimentos, 1908

[Regulations Regarding Foodstuffs]

p F1306.M643.1908a

Reseña de las ceremonias efectuadas en México con motivo de la Fiesta de la raza y organizadas por La Universidad Nacional, 1919

[Outline of the Ceremonies performed in Mexico to celebrate the Feast of La Raza (October 12) and Organized by the National University]

F1203.T4M44

Carlos Trejo Lerdo de Tejada

Dos discursos del Ministro de México, 1922

[Two Addresses from the Minister of Mexico]

p F1227.T8

Anita Brenner

Idols Behind Altars, 1929

[Ídolos tras los altares]

N6550.B7 1929

Higinio Vázquez Santa Ana

El carnaval, 1931

[Carnival]

F1222.9 V29

Anita Brenner

Your Mexican Holiday: A Modern Guide, 1932

[Tus vacaciones mexicanas: una guía moderna]

F1209.B82

Gene Nicholson

Costumes of Mexico, 1938

[Trajes de México]

F1222.9.N5.1939

Single-Item Materials (1940-1990)

Higinio Vázquez Santa Ana

Fiestas y costumbres mexicanas, 1940

[Mexican Celebrations and Customs]

F1222.9 V3

José Álvarez del Villar

Historia de la charrería, 1941

[The History of Charrería]

F1222.88 A5

Melitón Salazar Monroy

La verdadera China poblana, 1942

[The True China poblana]

F1207.C32 S3

Frances Gillmor

The Dance Dramas of Mexican Villages, 1943

[Las danzas dramáticas de los pueblos mexicanos]

F1210.3.G48

José Fernando Ramírez

Peregrinación mexicana, 1945

[Mexican Pilgrimage]

F1219.R26

Luis Alvarez y Alvarez de la Cadena

México. Leyendas y costumbres, trajes y danzas, 1945

[Mexico: Legends and Customs, Dress and Dance]

f F1203.A6

Anton Bruehl and Sally Lee Woodall

Photographs of Mexico, 1945

[Fotografías de México]

f F1215.B78

Carlos Rincón Gallardo y Romero de Terreros, Duque de Regla

El libro del charro mexicano, 1946

[The Book of the Mexican Charro]

F1222.88 R5 1946

José Guadalupe Posada

100 Original Woodcuts, 1947

[Cien grabados sobre madera originales]

NE1217.P67 C5 1947

Publicaciones del Museo Nacional de Artes y Culturas Populares, 1951-1954

[Publications from the National Museum of Popular Arts and Cultures]

F1219.7 M347

José Farías Galindo

Folklore mexicano: Miccailhuitl en Tianquistenco, 1953

[Mexican Folklore: The Celebrations of the Dead in Tianquistenco]

F1219.3 R38 F3

Julio Sánchez García

Calendario folklórico de fiestas en la República Mexicana, 1956

[Folkloric Calendar of Fiestas in the Mexican Republic]

F1222.9 S22

Pedro Gualdi

Monumentos arquitectónicos y perspectivas de la Ciudad de México, 1966

[Architectural Monuments and Perspectives of Mexico City]

ff F1386.64 G8

Alfredo López Austin and Josefina García Quintana, eds.

Historia general de las cosas de la Nueva España de Bernardino de Sahagún, 1982

[General History of the Things of New Spain by Bernardino de Sahagún]

f F1219 .S1318 1982

Guías Panorama

Fiestas de México, 1982

[Mexican Fiestas]

F1222.88 .F4 1982

Single-Item Materials (1990-Present)

Yolanda Ramos Galicia

Calendario de ferias y fiestas tradicionales del estado de Tlaxcala, 1992

[Calendar of Traditional Fairs and Fiestas of the State of Tlaxcala]

GT4814.T53 .R35 1992

Secretaría de Educación, Cultura y Deporte

Los pastores de Belem. Pastorela tradicional de Santa Clara, Durango, 1994

[The Shepherds of Bethlehem: A Traditional Shepherds Play from Santa Clara, Durango]

p PN3215.M4 P3 1994

Instituto Veracruzano de Cultura

Fiestas de La Candelaria, Tlacotalpan, Veracruz, 1995

[Candlemas Celebrations [in] Tlacotalpan, Veracruz]

pf GT4814.T53 F54 1995

Virginia B. de Barrios

The Cross in Mexico, 1997

[La cruz en México]

pf N7914.A1 D4 1997

Guadalupe Ríos, Edelmira Ramírez, and Marcela Suárez

Día de muertos. La celebración de la fiesta del 2 de noviembre en la segunda mitad del siglo XIX, 1997

[Day of the Dead: The Celebration of the Feast of November 2nd in the Second Half of the Nineteenth Century]

p BV50.A4 R56 1997

Vania Salles and José Manuel Valenzuela

En muchos lugares y todos los días. Vírgenes, santos y niños Dios. Mística y religiosidad popular en Xochimilco, 1997

[In Many Places and Every Day: Virgins, Saints, and the Holy Child. Mysticism and Popular Religiosity in Xochimilco]

p BX1429.X63 S25 1997

Francisco de Icaza Dufour

El altar de Dolores. Una tradición mexicana, 1998

[The Altar of (Our Lady of) Sorrows: A Mexican Tradition]

p BT652.M6 I43 1998

Moisés Guzmán Pérez

Nuestra Señora de los Remedios de San Juan Zitácuro. Historia y tradición de un culto mariano, 1999

[Our Lady of Remedios of San Juan Zitácuaro: History and Tradition of a Marian Devotion]

p BT660.R3 G89 1999

Guadalupe Pérez San Vicente (ed.)

Gastronomía mexicana del siglo XVIII. Manuscrito Avila Blancas, 1999

[Eighteenth Century Mexican Gastronomy: The Ávila Blancas Manuscript]

t TX716.M4 G38 1999

Anamaría Ashwell and John O’Leary

Cholula. La Ciudad Sagrada / The Sacred City, 1999

f F1391.C46 A7451 1999

Enrique Cárdenas de León

México, fiesta y tradición, 2005

Mexico, Celebrations and Traditions

GT4814.A2 C283 2005

Armando González Escoto

El Santuario de Zapopan. Nuestra Virgen, nuestra historia, 2007

[The Sanctuary at Zapopan: Our Virgin, Our History]

f BT660.Z3 S26 2007

Marisol Sandoval Ibarra and María Isabel Carlín Castelán

Fiestas patronales en Cerro de San Pedro, 2008

[Patron Fiestas in Cerro de San Pedro]

p GT4814.C47 S36 2008

Yolanda Lastra de Suárez

Adoring the Saints: Fiestas in Central Mexico, 2009

[Adorando a los santos. Las fiestas en el centro de México]

BX1428.3 .L37 2009

María Águeda Méndez, ed.

Fiesta y celebración. Discurso y espacio novohispano, 2009

[Festivals and Celebrations: Discourse and Space in Colonial Mexico]

GT4814.A2 F527 2009

Chloë Sayer

Fiesta: Days of the Dead & Other Mexican Festivals, 2009

[Fiesta. Día de muertos y otros festivales mexicanos]

f GT4995.A4 S29 2009

Efraín Rangel Guzmán

Imágenes e imaginarios. Construcción de la región cultural de Nuestra Señora de Huajicori, 2012

[Images and Imaginaries: The Construction of the Cultural Region of Our Lady of Huajicori]

BT660.H79 R364 2012

Judith Farré Vidal

Espacio y tiempo de fiesta en Nueva España (1665-1760), 2013

[Space and Time of Fiesta in New Spain, 1665-1760]

GT4814.A2 F37 2013

Francisco Javier Pérez Suárez

Asunción. La gloria del cielo en la tierra, 2014

[Assumption: The Glory of Heaven on Earth]

pf BV50.A7 P474 2014

José Luis Vera Cortés, ed.

Agua de las verdes matas. Tequila y mezcal, 2015

[Water from the Green Plants: Tequila and Mezcal]

TP607.T46 A74 2015

Claudia Itzkowich

Fundaciones virreinales que dieron forma a la Ciudad de México, 2015

[Viceregal Foundations that Shaped Mexico City]

f F1386.1F86 2015

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.