Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.

South/Southeast Asia Library 2020 Exhibit

1954

The University of California at Berkeley becomes a participant of the Library of Congress’ Public Law 480 Program and begins to acquire books from South Asia.

1959

Dr. Richard J. Kozicki is hired as South Asia bibliographer. 

1963

The Public Law 480 Program is extended to Southeast Asia.

1964

The combined collection of South and Southeast Asia materials is added to a joint Reading Room serving the Center for South Asia Studies and the Center for Southeast Asia Studies. 

1968

Peter Ananda is hired as Southeast Asia bibliographer.

1970

The U.S. invasion of Cambodia in May prompts student and faculty protests, partly due to information about a Berkeley faculty member accepting grants from the Pentagon for counter-insurgency research.

On July 1st, a pipe bomb explodes in the Reading Room, causing a fire and expediting plans to move the Reading Room’s collection to the main campus. In September, the collection is moved to 438 Doe Library and the new Reading Room is named the South/Southeast Asia Library. 

Dr. Richard J. Kozicki leaves for a position at the University of San Francisco.

Kenneth R. Logan is hired as South Asia bibliographer. 

1988

Vanessa Tait is hired to serve as a curatorial assistant for the South Asia collection.  

1989

Rebecca Darby-Williams is hired to provide curatorial support for the Southeast Asia collection and operational management for the South/Southeast Asia Library.

1991

Peter Ananda retires. 

1992

Kenneth R. Logan retires.

1994

Suzanne McMahon is hired as South Asia Librarian.

Virginia Shih is hired as Southeast Asia Librarian.

1998

The South/Southeast Asia Library is moved to its current location at 120 Doe Library.

2004

Suzanne McMahon retires.

2005

Adnan Malik is hired as South Asia Librarian.

2009

Rebecca Darby-Williams is transferred to head the Newspapers & Microforms Library.

2015

Vanessa Tait retires.

Vaughn Egge is hired to provide web and operational support.