Library Guides: Inclusive Excellence Collection at the Engineering Library: Home

Welcome to the Inclusive Excellence Collection established in partnership by the Kresge Engineering Library and Berkeley Engineering. The Inclusive Excellence Collection is a special collection of key resources that should enable one to identify books, articles, and electronic sources on the subject of diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging. Resources for particular topics of interest - race, gender, and sexual orientation - can be found under the individual tabs. It is our intent that this dynamic collection will be a tool to increase one's knowledge, understanding, and literacy on DEI to foster an inclusive climate and support the advancement of this effort in the College and beyond.

Tsu-Jae King Liu, Dean, College of Engineering
Rebecca Abergel, Associate Dean of Inclusive Excellence, College of Engineering
Chaniqua Butscher, Inclusive Excellence Programs Manager, College of Engineering

Inclusive Excellence Collection Steering Committee: Brian Quigley, Head Librarian; Lisa Ngo, Engineering Librarian; Rebecca Abergel; Chaniqua Butscher

Collection Highlights

Blindspot : Hidden Biases of Good People by Mahzarin R. Banaji; Anthony G. Greenwald
Call Number: BF575.P9 B25 2013
Writing with simplicity and verve, Banaji and Greenwald question the extent to which our perceptions of social groups--without our awareness or conscious control--shape our likes and dislikes and our judgments about people's character, abilities, and potential.
The Boldly Inclusive Leader by Minette Norman (Contribution by)
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 N67 2023
To create cultures where diverse teams flourish, we need boldly inclusive leaders. Organizations have made public commitments to diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging, yet their leaders rarely have the skills to lead inclusively. Leadership consultant and former Silicon Valley executive Minette Norman is committed to changing that by sharing some of the most important things she's discovered over the decades she spent in the corporate world.
Changing the Face of Engineering : The African American Experience by John Brooks Slaughter; Yu Tao; Willie Pearson (Editors)
Call Number: TA157 .C474 2015
Ebook: Changing the Face of Engineering
In Changing the Face of Engineering, twenty-four eminent scholars address the underrepresentation of African Americans in engineering from a wide variety of disciplinary and professional perspectives while proposing workable classroom solutions and public policy initiatives.
Culturally Responsive Teaching and the Brain : Promoting Authentic Engagement and Rigor Among Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Students by Zaretta L. Hammond (Author); Yvette Jackson (Forward)
Call Number: LC1099.3 .H335 2015
Ebook: Culturally Responsive Teaching and the Brain
The achievement gap remains a stubborn problem for educators of culturally and linguistically diverse students. In this book, Zaretta Hammond draws on cutting-edge neuroscience research to offer an innovative approach for designing and implementing brain-compatible culturally responsive instruction.
The Diversity Bonus : How Great Teams Pay off in the Knowledge Economy by Scott E. Page; Nancy Cantor; Earl Lewis (Editors, Introduction); Glenn C. Loury and Katherine Phillips (Commentaries)
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 P35 2019
Ebook: The Diversity Bonus
What if workforce diversity is more than simply the right thing to do in order to make society more integrated and just? What if diversity can also improve the bottom line of businesses and other organizations facing complex challenges in the knowledge economy? It can. And The Diversity Bonus shows how and why.
Grading for Equity : What it is, Why it Matters, and How it Can Transform Schools and Classrooms by Joe Feldman
Call Number: LB3051 .F44 2019
Ebook: Grading for Equity
With Grading for Equity, Joe Feldman cuts to the core of the conversation, revealing how grading practices that are accurate, bias-resistant, and motivational will improve learning, and minimize grade inflation, reduce failure rates, and become a lever for creating stronger teacher-student relationships and more caring classrooms.
Navigating Academia : A Guide for Women and Minority STEM Faculty by Pauline Mosley; S. Keith Hargrove (Editors)
Call Number: LB2331.7 .N38 2015
Ebook: Navigating Academia
Navigating Academia: A Guide for Women and Minority STEM Faculty explores the infrastructure of the academy and provides a systematic account of where and why women and minorities fall behind men in the preparation for and development of their academic careers. This book offers useful strategies for recruiting, retaining, and advancing women and minorities.
A Pocket Guide to Mentoring Higher Education Faculty : Making the Time, Finding the Resources by Tammy Stone
Call Number: LB2331.72 .S76 2018
This book is written for senior faculty and administrators at resource-strapped institutions who are not trained in Higher Education Administration who are concerned with mentoring. It is written in accessible, nontechnical language but references the more scholarly and statistically based journals and books for those who wish to dig deeper.
Teaching Race : How to Help Students Unmask and Challenge Racism by Stephen D. Brookfield
Call Number: LC212.42 .B76 2019
Ebook: Teaching Race
In Teaching Race the authors offer practical tools and techniques for teaching and discussing racial issues at predominately White institutions of higher education. As current events highlight the dynamics surrounding race and racism on campus and the world beyond, this book provides teachers with essential training to facilitate productive discussion and raise racial awareness in the classroom.

Secondary menu

Inclusive Excellence Collection at the Engineering Library

Collection Notes

Collection Highlights