Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library is open, and other libraries have updated services and hours. Here’s what you need to know.

Comparative Study of Genocide: Intro

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

See also:

Purchase Recommendation

studying in the main stacksUse the Purchase Recommendation form to suggest items that the Library should consider for our collections. 

Catalogs and Search Engines

UC Library Search. Books, e-books, journal articles and other content in one integrated library platform for the entire UC System. Does not include content from some databases, numeric data, and other content. For more information on getting started please see this guide.

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. On campus it automatically connects to licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Google Books. Search the text of the books, view previews from books still in copyright, and read the full text of out-of-copyright books. 

Online Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity.  Traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators, and explains international laws aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.

Holocaust Encyclopedia. Comprehensive single-volume work of reference providing an overview of the subject and detail concerning major events, policy, decisions, and individuals. 

International Crimes and Ad-Hoc Tribunals.  Provides comprehensive analysis of the law of international crimes as applied by the ad hoc tribunals for the former Yugoslavia and Rwanda.

Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence. Electronic database focusing on massacres and genocides of the 20th century.

Oxford Bibliographies. Lists of books in the multiple areas of academic inquiry, including sources on Genocide and 20th Century Genocides

Oxford Handbook of Genocide Studies. Studies genocide through the ages by taking regional, thematic, and disciplinary-specific approaches. Features the work of historians, anthropologists, lawyers, political scientists, sociologists, and philosophers.