Indexes declassified documents spanning fifty years of US national security policy. [1945 - present]
Also includes a chronology, glossary of names, events, special terms, and a bibliography for each collection developed around a specific event, controversy, or policy decision.
All British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980, covering important historical events in modern Chinese history.
These formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history. Historical events covered include the Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis, Japanese war, the seeds of communist victory, the Communist revolution, the Great Leap Forward, and the Cultural Revolution.
Covering the 18th to early 20th centuries, this database documents the socioeconomic aspects of transpacific and around-the-world commercial, scientific, and other maritime voyages. The focus is on the China trade.
Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps in this collection have been sourced from international libraries and archives and explore the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. The Documents section is rich in primary source material including ship logs, diaries, correspondence, account books, other shipping and commercial company records, catalogs of trade goods, and other records of prices.
This database comprises a collection of Hong Kong-related historical records, selected from the British Colonial Office, consisting of original correspondence between the governors of Hong Kong and the Colonial Office, as well as letters and telegram
This resource provides detailed and valuable information on the political, military, social, economic, and external development of Hong Kong. It also sheds light on the British Empire in Asia, China’s transformation from empire to republic, mainland China-Hong Kong relations, and the international politics of East Asia. It is full-text searchable, and side-by-side OCR text readers for image based text was built in the database.
Cornell's Wason Pamphlet Collection, digitized in its entirety. Mostly in English and published between c.1750 and 1929, these include a wide variety of writings on the people and cultures of China and foreign involvement there.
Types of material include addresses and speeches, annual reports, catalogues, examinations, guides, lecture notes, letters, magazine articles, and minutes. Themes covered by the collection include the arts, the Chinese diaspora (including the Chinese in California), education, the foreign presence in China, foreign relations and diplomacy, governance, international conflict, language and literature, leisure, missionaries, opium, rebellion and revolution, science and medicine, trade, and travel and exploration.
Incorporating 19 document types including illustrations, diaries, memoirs, and official papers, the database provides varying perspectives from politicians and diplomats to missionaries and tourists, documenting key events during the period.
The collection provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74. It is based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library, with additional sources from other major universities.
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
Citations for journal articles spanning all Social Science disciplines; provides searching of footnoted citations. Specify Social Science Citation Index search only by deselecting other Indexes in "Limits". [1956 - present]
Indexes over 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations. For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Saving your search & setting alerts
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report includes radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, and other sources of unrestricted information such as databases and gray literature from non-English sources around the world. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. [1941 - 1996]
Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including political speeches, television and radio broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, and more, offering an extensive collection of military, political, scientific and technical reports from countries around the world, translated into English. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Coverage is global with the exception of the FBIS Annexes (a supplementary publication created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit analysts and policy makers from April 1974 through September 1996) and Western European regional broadcasts.
The database has a comprehensive coverage of the English and Chinese newspapers of The North-China Herald《北华捷报》, The North-China Daily News《字林西报》, The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser《上海新报》, Hu Bao《沪报》, Han Bao《汉报》, Xiao Xian Bao《消闲报》, and The North-China Desk Hong List《字林西报行名录》published by the company. As an important part of the historical archives, the database not only vividly revealed the history, but also enriches the digital newspaper resources, providing valuable materials for the study of modern China.
This database is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.
Gain insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers.
Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history.
