Library Guides: Psychology 194: Honors Seminar: Finding Articles

Article Databases

The Library subscribes to hundreds of databases. Consult the A-Z Databases list to see them. Search for or browse online resources by subject (broad academic disciplines) or by database type (article databases, book and film reviews, statistics and numeric data, etc.)

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. (Psychological Abstracts, Psychinfo) [1806 - current]
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
PsychiatryOnline (including DSM-5) This link opens in a new window
Features The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of this collection of psychiatric reference books and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing.
Contains the American Psychiatric Association's DSM-5 Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world, as well as several full-text psychiatry journals, textbooks, and practice guidelines.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform.
An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Cited by search

If an article is relevant to your topic, it can be very helpful to see who has cited it. There are several different ways to do this, and the results will overlap -- no single method is comprehensive.

Google Scholar: click on the Cited by link

PsycINFO: click on Cited by link.

Web of Science: click on Citations link

Secondary menu

Psychology 194: Honors Seminar: Finding Articles

Article Databases

Cited by search