Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Public Policy: Find Books

This guide is intended to be a starting point for public policy research.

The Library is Here for You!

The library can still help you during the campus closure! Here are some of the ways we're providing research assistance during this time:

Library Catalogs

OskiCat: a catalog for most of the UC Berkeley libraries. 

  • Find books and other items in the Berkeley Libraries (also films, maps, archival materials, Berkeley dissertations, and more)
  • Search keywords (including author names, titles, subjects, etc.)
  • Limit by library location, date, language, publication format, etc.
  • See item availability
  • Find course reserve material (by course or instructor)
  • Save and email search results
  • View items checked up and renew items online
  • Request items checked out

Melvyl: locate materials at Berkeley and other campuses in the UC system.

  • Search for materials at all the UC libraries
    • Click REQUEST in the detailed view of a catalog record prompt you to fill out a form to request the item through our Interlibrary Loan office.
  • Automatically format citations for your bibliography
  • Export citations to EndNote or RefWorks
Interlibrary Borrowing: Berkeley students are eligible to use books and articles from other libraries around the United States.Check OskiCat  to make sure UC Berkeley does not own the material you want.Provide a full and accurate bibliographic citation, including author, title, place and date of publication, and series.  More on interlibrary borrowing

eBook collections

The Library offers over 100 e-book and e-text collections in specific subject areas.  For more, consult the Finding eBooks at Berkeley guide.

Find Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) Full Text: indexes dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

UC Berkeley dissertations: Search OskiCat  by author. Also helpful to see dissertations written in your department which you can do by doing a subject or keyword search:

  • subject: university of california berkeley school of education dissertations
  • keyword: berkeley dissertations education

Recent UC Berkeley dissertations are freely available online to anyone, anywhere with access to the internet.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources.