Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Public Policy: Grants & Funding

This guide is intended to be a starting point for public policy research.

Grants.gov

The United States provides millions of dollars in grants.  Grants.gov is their portal to learn about and apply for grants.  Below is their news feed.

Loading ...

Grantwriting Resources

The Library collection includes a number of books and handbooks on grant writing. Click on these subject links below or consult the selected books listed below.

Foundation Directory & Pivot

Resources -- Campus and Beyond

UC Berkeley's Scholarship Connection provides a search engine to non Berkeley awards and grants, including some for graduate students. This search engine also has a filter for underrepresented students.

The Data Acquisition and Access Program provides funding for UC Berkeley faculty, students and staff who need data (numeric or textual) that requires purchase, licensing or is otherwise restricted.

The Berkeley Research Impact Initiative (BRII) provides funding to Berkeley authors (current faculty members, post-docs, graduate students, researchers) and publishers (Centers, Organized Research Units, and Departments) to make their publications free to all readers immediately upon publication

UC Berkeley's Sponsored Projects Office provides an array of services, including a list of funding resources and subscriptions to Pivot(See the Pivot tab for more information on searching.)

Charlene Liebau Library Prize for Undergraduate Research: $750 lower division, $1,000 upper division -- up to six awards. Applications due Dec-April.

UC Berkeley's Graduate Fellowships and Awards Office handles over 600 fellowship funds, each with unique criteria and terms for awarding.

Kids First—David L. Kirp Prize rewards students engaged in new or ongoing work that demonstrates a commitment, whether in education or other domains, to creating a better future for children and youth. The award of $2,500 is given to one UC Berkeley undergraduate student each year.  

Latinx Center of Excellence, UCB -  Includes funding to support Latinx students’ education and training in social work practice with Latinx communities.

Federal Student Aid - Resources from the U.S. Department of Education.