Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fashion Reference Books
The Complete Fashion Sourcebook by
The renowned costume drawings of John Peacock, charting the development of women's and men's clothing from the 1920s onward, now brought together in one volume.This beautifully illustrated, easy-reference volume, with its year-by-year format, allows changes in fashion to be shown in fascinating detail: from the boyish silhouette of the 1920s and the sophisticated outlines of the 1930s through the plain utilitarian 1940s and the new femininity of the 1950s, to the radical styles of the 1960s, the vintage and ethnic trends of the 1970s, and the structured "power dressing" of the 1980s. Day wear, evening wear, sports and leisure wear, accessories, underwear, and wedding wear are all included, and complete descriptions of each garment accompany the drawings, itemizing color, cut, necklines, lapels, sleeves, pockets, fastenings, buttons, and belts.The reference section includes a chart that summarizes the evolution of fashion and garment shapes through the decades, as well as biographies of outstanding designers of each era and a full bibliography. It will become an indispensable part of the library of fashion enthusiasts, historians, and collectors, and is sure to provide inspiration to any designer or student working in the performing arts.
Call Number: GT596 .P393 2005
Publication Date: 2006-02-17
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by
Publishing in summer 2010 in print and online, the 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion is the first comprehensive reference work to explore all aspects of dress and fashion globally - from pre-history to the present day. Arranged geographically and written by an international team of experts, the Encyclopedia will serve as the go-to source for all issues relating the art and anthropology of costume, dress, and fashion the world over for students, scholars, members of the design and fashion industries, and fashion aficionados for years to come. The Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion brings together for the first time the work of over 600 renowned scholars from every part of the globe. All articles have been specially commissioned and particular effort has been made to commission articles by indigenous scholars with in-depth local knowledge.
Call Number: GT507 .E54 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Fashion Design, Referenced by
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Fashion Design, Referenced is a comprehensive guide through the art and industry of fashion design, richly illustrated with over 1,000 photographs and drawings.
Historical Dictionary of the Fashion Industry by
The history of clothing begins with the origin of man, and fashionable dress can be traced as far back as 25,000 years ago. Recent scientific explorations have uncovered graves in northern Russia with skeletons covered in beads made of mammoth ivory that once adorned clothing made of animal skin. The Ancient Egyptians, Greeks, and Romans each made major contributions to fashion's legacy from their textile innovations, unique clothing designs and their early use of accessories, cosmetics, and jewelry. During the Middle Ages, "fashion trends" emerged as trade and commerce thrived allowing the merchant class to afford to emulate the fashions worn by royals. However, it is widely believed that fashion didn't became an industry until the industrial and commercial revolution during the latter part of the 18th century. Since then, the industry has grown exponentially. Today, fashion is one of the biggest businesses in the world, with hundreds of billions of dollars in turnover and employing tens of millions of workers. It is both a profession, an industry, and in the eyes of many, an art. The Historical Dictionary of the Fashion Industry examines the origins and history of this billion-dollar industry. This is done through a list of acronyms and abbreviations, a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced entries on designers, models, couture houses, significant articles of apparel and fabrics, trade unions, and the international trade organizations.
Call Number: TT494 .S84 2008
Publication Date: 2007-11-19
World Clothing and Fashion by
Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this work explores the diverse and colourful history of human attire. From prehistoric times to the age of globalization, articles cover the evolution of clothing utility, style, production, and commerce, including accessories (shoes, hats, gloves, handbags, and jewellery) for men, women, and children. Dress for different climates, occupations, recreational activities, religious observances, rites of passages, and other human needs and purposes - from hunting and warfare to sports and space exploration - are examined in depth and detail. Fashion and design trends in diverse historical periods, regions and countries, and social and ethnic groups constitute a major area of coverage, as does the evolution of materials (from animal fur to textiles to synthetic fabrics) and production methods (from sewing and weaving to industrial manufacturing and computer-aided design). Dress as a reflection of social status, intellectual and artistic trends, economic conditions, cultural exchange, and modern media marketing are recurring themes. Influential figures and institutions in fashion design, industry and manufacturing, retail sales, production technologies, and related fields are also covered.
Call Number: GT507 .S6 2014
Publication Date: 2013-11-30
Browsing Library of Congress Call Numbers
Browsing Call Numbers
Use the call numbers below to browse through the stacks for your specific subject:
“Fashion” - GT 500-2370
“Fashion” - TT 500 - TT645
“Fashion and art” - GT 529.A7
“Fashion design” - TT 507
“Fashion drawing” - TT 509
“Fashion in film” - PN 1995.9 C56-C58
“Fashion merchandising” - HD 9940
“Fashion photography” - TR 679
“Fashion shows” - TT 502
“Fashion writing” - TT 503.5
Helpful Fashion Books
Alexander McQueen by
Arguably the most influential, imaginative, and provocative designer of his generation, Alexander McQueen both challenged and expanded fashion conventions to express ideas about race, class, sexuality, religion, and the environment. Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty examines the full breadth of the designer’s career, from the start of his fledgling label to the triumphs of his own world-renowned London house. It features his most iconic and radical designs, revealing how McQueen adapted and combined the fundamentals of Savile Row tailoring, the specialized techniques of haute couture, and technological innovation to achieve his distinctive aesthetic. It also focuses on the highly sophisticated narrative structures underpinning his collections and extravagant runway presentations, with their echoes of avant-garde installation and performance art. Published to coincide with an exhibition at The Metropolitan Museum of Art organized by The Costume Institute, this stunning book includes a preface by Andrew Bolton; an introduction by Susannah Frankel; an interview by Tim Blanks with Sarah Burton, creative director of the house of Alexander McQueen; illuminating quotes from the designer himself; provocative and captivating new photography by renowned photographer Sølve Sundsbø; and a lenticular cover by Gary James McQueen. Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty celebrates the astounding creativity and originality of a designer who relentlessly questioned and confronted the requisites of fashion.
Call Number: TT505.M37 B65 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-31
Fashion Ethics by
Publication Date: 2017-09-13
Fashion Ethics provides a comprehensive overview of the ethical issues in the fashion industry, from collection design concept to upcycling and closed loop production.
The Fashion Resource Book by
Publication Date: 2012-09-07
This book shows students and professional designers how to use visual research to develop a personal aesthetic as a fashion designer in a global industry.
Fashion Visionaries by
Featuring 75 of the world's most legendary designers, this book presents the story of fashion through the fascinating personal lives and innovative collections that have shaped the field over the past century. Arranged in a broadly chronological order, this compelling book outlines the impact that inventive individuals have had on the development of fashion. Using boxed features to display key dates in the designers' careers, the text - written by an expert fashion journalist andhistorian - delves into the visions behind their most creative and inspirational work. Combining stunning visuals of both exciting and rare designs with insightful text, this is an inspiring guide to the designers whose vision has forged new pathways in fashion design development and forever changed the way we dress today.
Call Number: TT505.A1 W385 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier by
Dubbed the enfant terrible of fashion ever since his prêt-à-porter collections were first shown in 1976, Jean Paul Gaultier, whose avant-garde and bold fashions very early on reflected the issues facing contemporary society, is one of the leading designers in recent decades. Published by the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and Abrams in conjunction with the first-ever retrospective on Gaultier, this stunning hardcover book in a slipcase explores the ties between the designer and the pop/rock music scene, film, and dance, and sheds light on his sources of inspiration, which are as eclectic as they are impertinent. The first major monograph on Gaultier brings together archival documents and over fifty interviews with Gaultier’s muses and colleagues, as well as the artists he has created costumes for: Pedro Almodóvar, Catherine Deneuve, Madonna, Helen Mirren, Carla Bruni-Sarkozy, Martin Margiela, Pierre Cardin, Dita Von Teese, Marion Cotillard, Kylie Minogue, Polly Mellen, and Tom Ford, to name just a few. It features many previously unpublished illustrations thanks to the collaboration of renowned fashion photographers and the Maison Jean Paul Gaultier. The publication also includes two interviews with Gaultier, one by Florence Müller, art historian, and the other by Thierry-Maxime Loriot, as well as an interview with Valerie Steele, fashion historian and director of New York’s Museum at Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT). An essay written by Suzy Menkes looks at Gaultier’s fashion shows and examines their visionary reflection of society’s evolution over the past thirty-five years.
Call Number: f TT505.G38 F4713 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Rodarte, Catherine Opie, Alec Soth by
California Condors, Boris Karloff as Frankenstein, Japanese horror films, and Gordon Matta-Clark have served as some of the various influences that make up the daring world of Rodarte.In only five years, Rodarte has upended the fashion scene, bringing Kate and Laura Mulleavy, the designers behind Rodarte, to the forefront of the discussion about contemporary design and visual culture.This is the first publication to examine the fashion design work and conceptual world of Rodarte and is created in collaboration with two of the art world's most sought-after and highly acclaimed photographers, Catherine Opie and Alec Soth.Each photographer, in collaboration with Kate and Laura Mulleavy, has developed an entirely new body of work specifically for the book, examining various facets of Rodarte's creative spectrum.Kate and Laura, who live and work between downtown Los Angeles and Pasadena, California, have consistently brought their love of nature, film, art, and science to bear in their unconventional and exquisitely crafted collections for Rodarte.An additional 16-pages inlay with John Kelsey's essay is inserted in the book. Designed by Patrick Li of Li Inc.
Call Number: TR655 .M8479 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-30