Library Guides: Getting Started with the U.S. Census: Social/Economic Census Sources

Census Aggregated Data Sources

The following databases and websites allow researchers to access Census population and household economic statistics. Some provide census data for the most recent few years, others go back to 1790. These contain aggregated statistics (statistics that have been processed into easy to use, pre-made tables).

Social Explorer
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Data.census.gov
Data.census.gov is the official repository for U.S. Census data on population and housing. This site replaces American FactFinder at the end of March 2020. See more link for additional information.
"Data.census.gov contains U.S. Census information such as the American Community Survey going back to 2011 and will house the 2020 Decennial Census data. Click on "advanced search" to search by table number, browse by filters, search by keyword, or scroll down the page to view additional access points. Users can download tables into excel or other formats. The site also provides access to census microdata, APIs, etc.

This site is still being developed. Users experiencing problems or site malfunctions should report these issues directly via email to cedsci.feedback@census.gov

Current and historical census and mapping data is also available in an easy-to-use format via the commercial database Social Explorer

For information on transitioning from American FactFinder to Data.Census.gov, please see What is Data.census.gov
QuickFacts
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Quick, easy access to facts about people, business and geography.
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Quick, easy access to facts about people, business and geography.

Decennial Census of Population and Housing Volumes
via usa.ipums.org. Selected volumes of the decennial census have been digitized and made available. All print volumes are available in the Doe Reference collection, HA 201.
Census Library
Find current publications, infographics, videos and working papers. Also includes some historic content.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, 1878 to present.
The United States Statistical Abstract (aka Stat Ab) is useful both as a convenient source for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information, in print and on the Web (when available). Sources include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. Prior to 2012, the Stat Ab was provided free of charge. In 2012, Congress cancelled funding and ProQuest has continued producing the Stat Ab.
Statista
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
SimplyAnalytics
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to eart-library@berkeley.edu a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.

Census Numeric Data Sources

The following provide Census numeric data and may require a statistical software package (Stata, R, SPSS, SAS, etc) to access and process the data.

iPUMS USA
Provides access to Public Use Microdata Samples (PUMS). PUMS data is available for geographic areas over 100K in population. Does not allow for smaller geographies. 1790-present. Sign up for a free account to access and use the data.
Census Data at ICPSR
ICPSR houses a great deal of U.S. Census data.
National Historic GIS
Find census data going back to 1790, and combine it with GIS shape files.
Berkeley SDA
SDA (Survey Documentation and Analysis) allows for basic data analysis within several data sets including the General Social Survey, U.S. Census microdata, and other surveys. Also links to SDA ready datasets in iPUMS.
U.S. Census FTP Site
The Census Bureau makes much of its raw datafiles available via an FTP server. This is for experienced data users familiar with statistical software packages such as SAS, SPSS, Stata. Codebooks are provided for each dataset.
CensusCD's (GeoLytics)
Covering decennial census' from 1960-2000, provides access to data, maps, etc.
Neighborhood Change Database (GeoLytics)
Allows users to track changes from 1970-2010 down to the Census tract (using normalized data). UCB ONLY
U.S. Census API's
The Census makes available a number of datasets via their API. This is for experienced data users. Documentation is available.

Secondary menu

Getting Started with the U.S. Census: Social/Economic Census Sources

Census Aggregated Data Sources

Census Numeric Data Sources