Library Guides: A Year on Angel Island (2022-23): Other Research Directions

About UC Library Search

Access UC Library Search directly or from the Library homepage to find most (what isn't included?) books, articles, media, archival collections, and more from:

UC Berkeley
Other UC Libraries
WorldCat (select Advanced Search, then WorldCat)

Sign in to view all results and to manage your:

Saved records and searches.
Requested and borrowed items.
Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

For more information visit the UC Library Search Libguide!

Off campus? Use the proxy or the VPN for full access. (You may be prompted to sign in again.)

Finding more with UC Library Search

Sample searches:

asian american* history
"angel island"
"chinese exclusion act"
chinese immigration
chinese american* history
indian american* history
immigration detention

Some Tips:

Quotes keep two or more words together
asterisk (*) = truncation/wildcard (child* = child, childs, children childhood...)
In the search results page, pull down the "Resource type" menu to limit to maps, archival materials, images, etc.

Databases

UC Library Search includes many, but not all, of the databases that UC Berkeley subscribes to. In order to see a full list of databases, visit A-Z Databases. Select from the Subject or Type dropdown menus to see recommendations. Below are some specialized databases that can further your research!

America: History and Life
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 6/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Index of journals on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
Plays by Asian American playwrights from the late 19th century to the present.
Includes the complete text of more than 250 plays, from the late 19th century to the present, representing the various ethnicities within the Asian American community including works by writers of Japanese, Filipino, Vietnamese, Chinese, Hawaiian, Indian, Thai, Korean, Persian and Malaysian ancestry. Also includes biographical, production and theatrical information.
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; and others.
Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH) This link opens in a new window
Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).

Secondary menu

A Year on Angel Island (2022-23)

About UC Library Search

About UC Library Search

Finding more with UC Library Search

Databases