It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Diodorus Siculus, Library 1-7 §2.11.1 after the Nile and Ganges, have their sources in the mountains of Armenia and are two thousand five hundred stades apart at their origin, 2 -1000
Diodorus Siculus, Library 1-7 §2.11.4 Semiramis quarried out a stone from the mountains of Armenia which was one hundred and thirty feet long and twenty-five feet wide -1000
Ovid, Art of Love §1.220 reeds: that’ll be Tigris with the long green hair. I make those Armenians, that’s Persia’s Danaan crown: that was a town in the hills -1000
Ovid, Metamorphoses §8.119 not be your mother! Spawn of cruel Syrtis! Savage cub of fierce Armenian tigress; — or Charybdis, tossed by the wild South-wind begot you! Can -1000
Ovid, Metamorphoses §15.75 cattle live on grass. But all the savage animals — the fierce Armenian tigers and ferocious lions, and bears, together with the roving wolves — -1000
Philostratus, Imagines §2.5.1 commemorating the victory over them. Rhodogoune and the Persians are conquering the Armenians who broke the treaty, on the occasion when Rhodogoune is said to -1000
Philostratus, Imagines §2.5.2 so listen. Rhodogoune is pouring a libation for her victory over the Armenians, and the artist's conception is of a woman praying. She prays -1000
Justin, History of the World §42.3 of men, who, after the death of Jason were wandering about, founded Armenia, from the mountains of which the river Tigris issues, at first -1000
Eusebius, Chronography §5 gods. As regards Belus, which translates into Greek as Dios and into Armenian as Aramazd, he split the darkness in two, separating heaven and earth -1000
Eusebius, Chronography §7 where they emerged [from the ship], it was the land of the Armenians . Now when [the people] heard all this, they offered sacrifices to [4 hits] -1000
Eusebius, Chronography §10 humankind. The ship continued on and stopped in the land of the Armenians . The inhabitants of that land were rewarded with a useful medicine [3 hits] -1000
References to Armenia in the Loeb Classical LibraryAbout the Library
The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. The digital Loeb Classical Library extends this mission into the twenty-first century. Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb's vision of accessibility and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
The Successors of Genghis Khan by John A. Boyle (Translator)Translation of v. 2 of the first section (commonly known as Tārīkh-i Ghāzānī) of the author's Jāmiʻ al-tavārīkh.
Brginning of the history of Ögetei Qaʼan, the son of Chingiz-Khan : history of Ögetei Qaʼan, which is in three parts -- History of Jochi Khan, which is in three parts -- History of Chaghatai Khan, the son of Chingiz-Khan, which is in three parts -- Beginning of the history of Tolui Khan, the son of Chingiz-Khan : history of Tolui Khan, which is in three parts -- History of Güyük Qaʼan, the son of Chingis-Khan -- Beginning of the history of Möngke Qaʼan, the son of Tolui Khan, the son of Chingiz-Khan : history of Möngke Qaʼan, which is in three parts -- Beginning of the history of Qubilai Qaʼan, the son of Tolui Khan, the son of Chingis-Khan : history of Qubilai Qaʼan -- Beginning of the history of Temür Qaʼan, the son of Jim-Gim, the son of Qubilai Qaʼan, the son of Tolui Khan, the son of Chingiz-Khan : history of Temür Qaʼan, which is in three parts.
Empires were established in India, Russia, China from the Mongolian Khans.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)This link opens in a new windowPart of Web of Knowledge that indexes over 1,000 leading arts and humanities journals, and allows searching of citations as well as subsequent articles that cite an article. (Web of Science) [1975 - present]
Brill's New PaulyThis link opens in a new windowScholarly online encyclopedia of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). In English and German. (New Pauly Online - Encyclopedia of the Ancient World - Der neue Pauly)
Over 27,000 articles which provide comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). The New Pauly Online combines English versions of 1) the Realencyclopadie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, published in German in 68 volumes and 15 supplementary volumes between 1839 and 1980; 2) the abridged version of the Pauly, Der kleine Pauly, published in five volumes between 1964 and 1975; 3) Der neue Pauly, which was published in German in 15 volumes between 1996 and 2003.
DYABOLAThis link opens in a new windowA catalog of one of the world's largest and oldest collections of books, journals, and research material on Classical, Egyptian, and Near Eastern archaeology, Byzantine art, epigraphy, numismatics and ancient history. [dates vary]
The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an image database of ancient works of art known during the Renaissance, along with information about them: authorship; conventional title; provenance; current and former locations; Renaissance texts discussing them; and some modern scholarship. It includes 10,000 ancient monuments, 20,000 references to Renaissance texts, and 30,000 photographs.
Encyclopedia of Ancient HistoryThis link opens in a new windowA reference work for the study of the ancient world, spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE.
Covers the entire ancient Mediterranean world, including the Near East and Egypt. Extensively illustrated with photographs, figures, and maps.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
L'Annee PhilologiqueThis link opens in a new windowIndex of thousands of publications covering all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, including literature, language, history and archaeology. [1949 - 2004]
Indexes over 2000 books, journals, dissertations, conference papers, and collections covering all aspects of greco-roman antiquity including literature, language, history, and archaeology. Corresponds to volumes 20 (1949) to 75 (2004), covering the journal and monographic literature of Classics: over 375,000 bibliographic records, plus brief abstracts. (annee philologique)
Loeb Classical LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe only existing series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.
Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture -- in short, our entire classical heritage is represented here in convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)This link opens in a new windowIndex and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California. (Dissertations & Theses - Proquest Digital Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) - Dissertation Abstracts - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global) [1861 - present]
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
The Caro Minasian Collection (UCLA)The Caro Minasian Collection was acquired by the UCLA University Research Library in 1968. The late Professor Gustave von Grunebaum, director at the time of the Center for Near Eastern Studies, heard of the availability of Minasian Collection in 1966 and urged Narekatsi Chair of Armenian Studies, the late Dr. Avedis K. Sanjian, to contact Dr. Minasian and investigate the possibility of securing the collection. At a private meeting in London in 1967 between Dr. Avedis Sanjian and Dr. Minasian, Minasian was persuaded that the ideal repository for his collection would be the UCLA Research library. The majority of the funds for the collection were allocated by Chancellor Franklin D. Murphy, who was both convinced of the uniqueness of the collection and the importance of expanding the research resources of the university.Կարօ Մինասեան Հաւաքածոն ձեռք է բերուել Քալիֆորնիայի Լոս Անջելըս մասնաճիւղի համալսարանի Գրադարանը 1968 թուականին: 1966-ին, Պրոֆ. Գուստաւ ֆոն Գրունեբաումը, այն ժամանակուայ Միջին Արեւելքի բաժնի կենտրոնի ղեկավարն էր: Նա լսել էր, որ Մինասեան Հաւաքածոն ծախու է եւ քաջալերել էր Նարեկացի հայկական բաժնի ղեկավարին, Դոկ. Աւետիս Ք. Սանճեանին, որպէսզի Դոկ. Մինասեանի հետ կապուէր եւ տեղեկանար եթէ հաւաքածոն կարելի է ձեռք բերուել: 1967 թւականին առանձին հանդիպման ժամանակ Լոնդոնում Դոկ. Սանճեանը, Դոկ. Մինասեանին համոզեց որ ամենից յարմար տեղը հաւաքածոյի համար UCLA-ի հետազօտական գրադարանն է: Դրամական Ֆոնդի մեծ մասը յատկացուել է Դոկ. Ֆրանքլին Մըրֆի կողմից, որը հաւատացած էր, որ այս հաւաքածոն չափազանց իւրայատուկ է եւ կարեւոր է համալսարանի հետազօտական աղբիւրները ընդարձակելու համար:
The Chronicle of Matthew of Edessa/ Ժամանակագրութիւն Մատթէոսի ՈւռհայեցւոյMatthew of Edessa, whose chronicle covers the period from 951 to 1129; although the early part of his work is often derivative, he was a witness to many of the events he describes in the later part of the work, a period covering the establishment of the Frankish county of Edessa. Given its obvious relevance to crusade studies,
Medieval Armenian Authors (Matendaran) = Մատենագիրք ՀայոցՄատենագիտության և առհասարակ հայագիտության համար բացառիկ նշանակություն ունեցող «Մատենագիրք Հայոց» բազմահատոր ձեռնարկը լույս է տեսնում 2003 թվականից։ «Գալուստ Գյուլբենկյան» հիմնարկության հայկական բաժանմունքի երկարամյա ղեկավար Զավեն Եկավյանի և Մեծի Տանն Կիլիկիո կաթողիկոսության այս նախաձեռնության շնորհիվ առաջին անգամ մեկ մատենաշարում համախմբվում է 5-18 դդ. ստեղծված հայ ողջ մատենագրական ժառանգությունը: Արդեն հրատարակվել են 100-ից ավելի հեղինակներ, մի քանի հարյուր բնագրեր, որոնց մեծ մասը (մոտ՝ 80%) առաջին անգամ է տպագրվում: Հայագիտական ուսումնասիրություններին օժանդակելու համար համարակալվել են տեքստերի բոլոր նախադասությունները։ Շտկվել են նախորդ հրատարակություններին կից տպված վրիպակները։ Բոլոր բնագրերին նախորդում են առաջաբաններ, մատենագիտական համառոտ ցանկեր և բաղդատված ձեռագրերի համարներ։ Քննական-համեմատական այս հրատարկությունն անփոխարինելի ու եզակի աղբյուր է հայագիտության տարբեր ճյուղերի՝ փիլիսոփայության, պատմագիտության, լեզվաբանության, հին գրականության և բանահյուսության ուսումնասիրությունների համար: «Մատենագիրք Հայոց»-ի գրքային տարբերակին զուգահեռ, հրատարակության որոշ հատորներ արդեն հասանելի են թվային տարբերակով, ինչը մեծապես հեշտացնում է հայ և օտարազգի հայագետների հետազոտությունները՝ հնարավորություններ ստեղծելով նոր ուսումնասիրությունների համար:
Մասնագետների կանխատեսումների համաձայն՝ ողջ հայ մատենագրության հրատարակման դեպքում կունենանք մոտ 100 հատորից բաղկացած հսկայածավալ մատենաշար: Այս կարգի ծավալուն և կարևոր մատենաշարերից են՝ Patrologia Greaca, Patrologia Latina, LOEB։
Miniature of Jean Hayton, in his Premonstratensian robes, offering his book to Clement V, [f. 1r]An Armenian source in terms of the nationality of its author if not its language is the work of Count Het‘um of Gorigos (Korikos), dictated in French as La Flor des estoires de la Terre d’Orient and then translated into Latin by its scribe in 1307. This highly tendentious work describes the lands of the “Orient” and then the history of the Mongols for the benefit of Pope Clement V. (Source: https://erenow.net/postclassical/crusades/81.php)
Smbat Sparapet's Chronicle (Translation)The late 13th century Chronicle translated below is a major source for the history of the Cilician Armenian kingdom. Roughly three fourths of the work consists of a summary of another medieval Armenian history by Matthew of Edessa which describes the period from 951 to 1136 and its continuation by Gregory the Priest, covering 1136-1162. Since Matthew's work has survived, by far the most important part of the Chronicle is its original portion, devoted to the period from 1163 to 1272. For unknown reasons, our text terminates abruptly in mid-sentence while describing the events of 1272.
Փավստոս Բուզանդ Պատմություն Հայոց = Faustus Buzand History of ArmeniaFrom wikipedia: "Faustus of Byzantium (also Faustus the Byzantine, Armenian: Փաւստոս Բուզանդ, P’avstos Buzand) was an Armenian historian of the 5th century. Faustus' History of the Armenians (also known as Buzandaran Patmut'iwnk') exists in four "books", beginning with Book 3 ("Beginning") and ending with Book 6 ("Ending"), which appears to be due to the work of a later editor of the surviving manuscript. The History describes events from the military, socio-cultural and political life of 4th-century Armenia. Pavstos describes in detail the reigns of Arsaces (Arshak) II and his son Papas (Pap), and portrays the Mamikonians as defenders par excellence of Armenia.
The identity of Pavstos and the referent of Buzand remain unsolved. Buzand is either interpreted as meaning "the Byzantine" or, alternatively, "composer of epics". If the latter interpretation is true, then Buzandaran could be translated as "Epic Histories." Faustus' ostensible Byzantine origin was placed under doubt by another early Armenian historian, Ghazar Parpetsi, who believed that the history attributed to Faustus was of too low quality to have been produced by someone educated in Byzantium. This view was shared by most later Armenian historians. Scholars have long speculated about Faustus' ethnic background (whether he was Armenian, Greek or of another ethnicity) and the original language of his History. "
Primary Sources: Byzantine/ Sassanian Period
Eznik of KołbԵզնիկ Կողբացի, Վասն Աստուծոյ
"One of the pupils and collaborators of Sahak and Mesrob wrote c. 430 four books Against the False Doctrines (against the pagans, Persians, Greek philosophers and Marcionites). The work is distinguished by a particularly elegant style."
Agathangelos' history of the Christianization of Armenia.AGATHANGELOS (Greek for “messenger of good news”), the supposed author of a History of the Armenians, which describes the conversion of King Trdat of Armenia to Christianity at the beginning of the 4th century A.D. The Armenian version (Aa) of this History dates from the second half of the 5th century. The first mention of a history by Agathangelos in other Armenian sources is found in Lazar of P’arp (ca. A.D. 500). A Greek version of Aa (Ag) was made soon after the Armenian received its present form. On Ag depend an Arabic version and numerous secondary versions in Greek, Latin, and Ethiopic. (Source: https://www.iranicaonline.org/articles/agathangelos)
G. Garitte (1946) Documents pour l'étude du livre d'Agathange. Rome.
A.J. Hacikyan, G. Basmajian, E.S. Franchuk, N. Ouzounian (2000) (eds.) The heritage of Armenian literature. Volume One: From the oral tradition to the golden age. Detroit: 117-148.
G. Lafontaine (1973) La version grecque ancienne du livre arménien d'Agathange: Édition critique (Publications de l'Institut Orientaliste de Louvain, 7). Louvain-la-Neuve: 13-33, 166-169.
R.W. Thomson (1995) A bibliography of classical Armenian literature to 1500 A.D. Turnhout: 90-95.
R.W. Thomson (2007) 'Supplement to a bibliography of classical Armenian literature to 1500 A.D.: Publications 1993-2005'. Le muséon 120: 179-180.
R.W. Thomson (2011) 'Agathangelos'. In: Encyclopædia Iranica I/6: 607-608.
N. Tommaseo (1843) Storia dell'Armenia. Venice.
M. van Esbroeck (1971) 'Un nouveau témoin du livre d'Agathange'. Revue des études arméniennes 8: 13-167.
M. van Esbroeck (1985) 'Agathangelos'. In: Reallexikon für Antike und Christentum, Supplement 1/2: 239-248.
M. van Esbroeck (1989) 'Saint Grégoire d'Arménie et sa Didascalie'. Le muséon 102: 131-145.
Library of Books on Armenian ArtHosted by Armenian Art. The website's self-description is as follows, "his website aims to disseminate Armenian culture and arts information, and research materials, as well as promote awareness to conservation of cultural monuments."
The copyright of the books belong to their creators. This link is for educational purposes only.
Books from Catalog
The Armenian Kingdom and the Mamluks by Angus Donal StewartThis volume gives an in-depth account of the relations between the Mamluk Sultanate of Egypt and Syria and the Armenian Kingdom, centred on Cilicia in southern Asia Minor, in the period after the collapse of the Crusader States. As well as diplomatic encounters, the work describes in detail, for example, the course of the Mamluk invasions of Cilicia, and the Armenian involvement with the Mongol invasions of Mamluk Syria.The work is substantially based on sources written in Arabic in the Mamluk Sultanate. Using them in conjuction with more pro-Armenian sources, it demonstrates the value of these Arabic histories, which provide many new insights and details. Both in its subject, and in its use of sources, this work demonstrates an important new direction for scholars of the Middle East.
Publication Date: 2001-09-28
Armenia and the Crusades by Ara E. DostourianThis is a translation of the Chronicle of 12th-century Armenian historian, Matthew of Edessa. The Chronicle, which covers the period from 925 AD to 1162 AD, deals with events in Armenia and upper Mesopotamia. It also refers to events in the Byzantine Empire and those conquered by the Crusaders. The introduction to the book discusses the historian's life, work and attitudes.
Publication Date: 1993-08-05
The Mongols and the Armenians (1220-1335) by Bayarsaikhan DashdondogCovering more than one century, this book describes the complex issues of Mongol-Armenian political relations that involved many different ethnic groups in a vast geographical area stretching from China to the Mediterranean coast in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries.
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Women, Too, Were Blessed by David ZakarianIn Women, Too, Were Blessed David Zakarian examines the representation of women in the fifth-century Armenian literature and historiography revealing the church's vision of the role of women in society as well as some aspects of women's lived experience.
Publication Date: 2021-01-15
The Missing Pages by Heghnar Zeitlian WatenpaughIn 2010, the world's wealthiest art institution, the J. Paul Getty Museum, found itself confronted by a century-old genocide. The Armenian Church was suing for the return of eight pages from the Zeytun Gospels, a manuscript illuminated by the greatest medieval Armenian artist, Toros Roslin. Protected for centuries in a remote church, the holy manuscript had followed the waves of displaced people exterminated during the Armenian genocide. Passed from hand to hand, caught in the confusion and brutality of the First World War, it was cleaved in two. Decades later, the manuscript found its way to the Republic of Armenia, while its missing eight pages came to the Getty. The Missing Pages is the biography of a manuscript that is at once art, sacred object, and cultural heritage. Its tale mirrors the story of its scattered community as Armenians have struggled to redefine themselves after genocide and in the absence of a homeland. Heghnar Zeitlian Watenpaugh follows in the manuscript's footsteps through seven centuries, from medieval Armenia to the killing fields of 1915 Anatolia, the refugee camps of Aleppo, Ellis Island, and Soviet Armenia, and ultimately to a Los Angeles courtroom. Reconstructing the path of the pages, Watenpaugh uncovers the rich tapestry of an extraordinary artwork and the people touched by it. At once a story of genocide and survival, of unimaginable loss and resilience, The Missing Pages captures the human costs of war and persuasively makes the case for a human right to art.
Kindred Voices by Michael PiferMichael Pifer explores how Muslim and Christian poets of Anatolia grappled with the stunning cultural diversity of their region, home not only to Armenians and Greeks, but also to Persians, Turks, Arabs, Mongols, Jews, and others. This convergence produced fresh poetic styles and sensibilities, native to no single people, enabling the period's literature to speak to new and wider audiences. It is the first book to study the era's major poets against the canvas of this broader literary ecosystem.
Publication Date: 2021-06-29
Mongols and Global History by Morris RossabiAn accessible, documents-based introduction to the history of the Mongols. The volume opens with a brief original essay by Morris Rossabi, one of the world's foremost scholars on the Mongols. Rossabi's essay gives a historical and interpretive overview of the Mongols and charts their invasions and subsequent rule over the largest contiguous land empire in world history. Following is a rich collection of primary sources translated into English from Armenian, Arabic, Chinese, Franco-Italian, Italian, Korean, Latin, Persian, Russian, Syriac, and Tibetan that will give students a clear sense of the extraordinary geographic and linguistic range of the Mongol Empire as well as insight into the empire's rise, how it governed, and how it fell. Each primary source includes a headnote and study questions. The volume ends with a list of further readings. About the series: The Norton Casebooks in History provide students with everything they need for in-depth study of select topics in major periods studied in American and world history. Each volume consists of an introductory essay by the editor on the topic, primary sources, and recent essays by historians that explore different interpretations. Each volume combines the most authoritative text available with contextual and critical materials that bring the topic to life for students
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
The Epic Histories (Buzandaran Patmut'iwnk') by Nina G. GarsoïanThe late fifth-century anonymous Epic Histories, formerly known as the History of Armenia attributed to another unknown P'awstos (Faustos) Buzand, form the earliest historical work written in Armenian. They are the main source for our knowledge of social structure, beliefs and customs of early Christian Armenia, and especially of the profound and lasting influence of Zoroastrian Persia on the recently converted country. This influence is evident in the very composition of the work, which owes as much to the lost oral tradition of the Iranian epic as to more familiar Classical and early Christian models. Hence, it is unmatched for the reconstruction of the ambivalent world of the Near East in Late Antiquity at the cross roads between Classical and Iranian civilizations. Since no scholarly translation of this work into any Western language has been attempted for more than a century, much of its contribution has remained beyond the reach of most scholars. The aim of the present publication is to fill this lacuna by complementing the translation of the original Armenian text with a Commentary and Appendices that are intended to serve not only Armenian scholars but Classicists and Iranians alike.
Publication Date: 1989-09-25
Religion and Culture in Medieval Islam by Richard G. Hovannisian (Editor); Georges Sabagh (Editor)George Makdisi has brought together six of the most distinguished scholars in the field to explore the religion and culture of medieval Islam. This is an original and stimulating exchange. Makdisi's introductory essay focuses on the interaction between religion and culture in classical Islam and Christendom, Merlin Swartz analyses the homilies of Ibn al-Jawazi, Irfan Shahid considers the implications of the Arabic character of the Koran, George Saliba assesses Ash'arite thought in astrology and astronomy, Roger Arnaldez reflects on the religious cultures of medieval Islam, and Mahmoud Ayoub draws together the common historic threads of Muslim-Jewish and Muslim-Christian popular worship. W. Montgomery Watt concludes the volume by addressing the question of the future of Islam, posing a parallel with the Judaic reaction to Hellenistic culture.